Album info



Label: Seattle Symphony Media

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Orchestral

Artist: Seattle Symphony Orchestra & Ludovic Morlot

Composer: Henri Dutilleux (1916-2013)

Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 18.70
  • Henri Dutilleux (1916 - 2013): Symphony No. 1:
  • 1Symphony No. 1: I. Passacaglia06:51
  • 2Symphony No. 1: II. Scherzo molto vivace05:53
  • 3Symphony No. 1: III. Intermezzo06:12
  • 4Symphony No. 1: IV. Finale, con variazioni11:38
  • Tout un monde lointain:
  • 5Cello Concerto Tout un monde lointain: I. Énigme06:26
  • 6Cello Concerto Tout un monde lointain: II. Regard06:20
  • 7Cello Concerto Tout un monde lointain: III. Houles04:18
  • 8Cello Concerto Tout un monde lointain: IV. Miroirs04:57
  • 9Cello Concerto Tout un monde lointain: V. Hymne04:32
  • The Shadows of Time for Children's Voices and Orchestra:
  • 10The Shadows of Time: I. Les heures03:16
  • 11The Shadows of Time: II. Ariel maléfique02:25
  • 12The Shadows of Time: III. Mémoire des ombres04:52
  • 13The Shadows of Time: Interlude02:14
  • 14The Shadows of Time: IV. Vagues de lumière03:05
  • 15The Shadows of Time: V. Dominante bleue?05:21
  • Metaboles:
  • 16Métaboles: I. Incantatoire03:19
  • 17Métaboles: II. Linéaire02:48
  • 18Métaboles: III. Obsessionnel03:30
  • 19Métaboles: IV. Torpide02:47
  • 20Métaboles: V. Flamboyant04:54
  • Violin Concerto, L'arbre des songes:
  • 21Violin Concerto L'arbre des songes: I. Librement - Interlude07:22
  • 22Violin Concerto L'arbre des songes: II. Vif - Interlude 204:03
  • 23Violin Concerto L'arbre des songes: III. Lent - Interlude 308:03
  • 24Violin Concerto L'arbre des songes: IV. Large et animé05:50
  • Symphony No. 2, Le double:
  • 25Symphony No. 2 Le double: I. Animato, ma misterioso08:24
  • 26Symphony No. 2 Le double: II. Andantino sostenuto09:16
  • 27Symphony No. 2 Le double: III. Allegro fuocoso - Calmato12:45
  • Sur le même accord:
  • 28Sur le même accord10:17
  • Les citations, Diptych for Oboe, Harpsichord, Bass and Percussion:
  • 29Les citations: I. For Aldeburgh 8504:29
  • 30Les citations: II. From Janequin to Jehan Alain08:58
  • 31Mystère de l'instant14:57
  • Timbres, espace, mouvement (ou La nuit étoilée):
  • 32Timbres, espace, mouvement La nuit étoilée: I. Nébuleuse09:19
  • 33Timbres, espace, mouvement La nuit étoilée: II. Interlude04:03
  • 34Timbres, espace, mouvement La nuit étoilée: III. Constellations08:14
  • Total Runtime03:31:38

Info for Dutilleux: Orchestral Works

In a special tribute to the centenary of Henri Dutilleux’s birth, the Seattle Symphony releases a commemorative box set of its critically acclaimed survey of all of the composer’s major orchestral works. The three-disc set features Ludovic Morlot and the Seattle Symphony in immaculate and thrilling performances of some of the composer’s greatest works, an essential collector’s item for lovers of 20th century French music — or indeed anyone who loves virtuosic orchestra music performed at the very highest level.

Xavier Phillips, cello
Augustin Hadelich, violin
Mary Lynch, oboe
Mahan Esfahani, harpsichord
Jordan Anderson, bass
Michael A. Werner, percussion
Elisa Barston, violin
Chester Englander, cimbalom
Benjamin Richardson, boy soprano
Keper Swanson, boy soprano
Andrew Torgelson, boy soprano
Seattle Symphony
Ludovic Morlot, conductor

Seattle Symphony Orchestra
under the leadership of Music Director Ludovic Morlot, is a vital part of the Pacific Northwest cultural scene and is recognized for its extraordinary performances, programming, recordings and community engagement. With a dedicated subscriber base of more than 25,000 patrons, the Symphony performs or presents over 200 performances annually to an audience of more than 290,000 people.

Since its first performance on December 29, 1903, the Seattle Symphony has held a unique place in the world of symphonic music. During its formative years, it was the charismatic Sir Thomas Beecham who most developed the Orchestra's skill and reputation. In 1954 Milton Katims began his 22-year tenure as Music Director, greatly expanding the Symphony's education programs. Rainer Miedél, Music Director from 1976 until his death in 1983, led the Orchestra on its first European tour in 1980. Gerard Schwarz was appointed Music Advisor in 1983, and Music Director in 1985. During his 26-year tenure, the Seattle Symphony made more than 140 recordings and garnered 12 Grammy nominations and two Emmy Awards.

The Orchestra is now under the artistic leadership of Ludovic Morlot, one of the leading conductors of his generation. During 2011–2012, Morlot’s inaugural season, the Symphony enjoyed critical acclaim for its blockbuster performances of Stravinsky’s The Rite of Spring, Berlioz’s The Damnation of Faust, and Hols’s The Planets; the inaugural presentation of Sonic Evolution, a commissioning project designed by Morlot to feature new works honoring Seattle’s musical heritage; and a season-long exploration of the music of French composer Henri Dutilleux. Morlot’s second season, 2012–2013, was marked with further critical success, including sell-out performances of Britten’s War Requiem, RachFest, an immensely popular cycle of Rachmaninov’s Piano Concertos, and the Seattle Symphony’s first-ever performance of Messiaen’s Turangalîla.

In 1998 the Seattle Symphony inaugurated its new home, Benaroya Hall, noted for its architectural and acoustical splendor. Three years later, the Orchestra opened Soundbridge Seattle Symphony Music Discovery Center, where people of all ages explore the world of symphonic music through exhibits, classes and live music presentations. The Symphony’s education programs, alongside its nationally recognized community engagement programs, bring classical music to nearly 50,000 people of all ages each year.

Ludovic Morlot
As the Seattle Symphony’s Music Director, Ludovic Morlot has been received with extraordinary enthusiasm by musicians and audiences alike, who have praised him for his deeply musical interpretations, his innovative programming and his focus on community collaboration. Morlot is also Chief Conductor of La Monnaie, one of Europe’s most important opera houses.

In the U.S. Morlot has conducted the Boston Symphony Orchestra, Chicago Symphony Orchestra, Los Angeles Philharmonic, New York Philharmonic, Philadelphia Orchestra and Pittsburgh Symphony. Additionally, he has conducted the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, Czech Philharmonic, Dresden Staatskapelle, Israel Philharmonic, Montreal Symphony Orchestra, Orchestre National de France, Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, Rundfunk- Sinfonieorchester Berlin, Saito-Kinen Festival Orchestra and Tonhalle Orchestra (Zürich).

Trained as a violinist, Morlot studied conducting at the Royal Academy of Music in London and then at the Royal College of Music as recipient of the Norman del Mar Conducting Fellowship. Morlot was elected an Associate of the Royal Academy of Music in 2007 in recognition of his significant contributions to music. He is Chair of Orchestral Conducting Studies at the University of Washington School of Music.

" class="ng-binding ng-scope">Seattle Symphony Orchestra, Ludovic Morlot

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO