Cover Dialogues

Album info



Label: CAvi-music

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Instrumental

Artist: Guelru Ensari and Herbert Schuch

Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791), Claude Debussy (1862-1918), Bernd Alois Zimmermann (1918-1970)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756 - 1791): Sonata in C Major for Piano Four Hands, K. 521:
  • 1I. Allegro08:24
  • 2II. Andante07:03
  • 3III. Allegretto06:49
  • Claude Debussy (1862 - 1918): En Blanc et Noir for two Pianos, L. 134:
  • 4No. 1. Avec emportement04:14
  • 5No. 2. Lent. Sombre06:45
  • 6No. 3. Scherzando04:27
  • Bernd Alois Zimmermann (1918 - 1970): Monologe for two pianos:
  • 7Monolog I01:48
  • 8Monolog II03:04
  • 9Monolog III02:53
  • 10Monolog IV02:08
  • 11Monolog V07:53
  • Total Runtime55:28

Info for Dialogues

"Dialogues" is the second album from the newly formed Piano Duo Gulru Ensari and Herbert Schuch and it centres on the works of Mozart, Debussy and Zimmermann. Bernd Alois Zimmermann (1918-1970) quotes Mozart and Debussy in his Monologues and this album explores the journey Zimmermann took to create his work in a fitting celebration for the anniversary of the composer's 100th birthday.

"As students we had already been allowed to take a peek inside the Monologues, but we only had access to a couple of photocopied pages. When the 100-year-celebration of Zimmermann's birth came around, we remembered the impression they had made upon us. When we finally got to see the entire score, however, we took a deep breath: it demands the most incredible acrobatic feats!

From the very beginning, we were particularly charmed by the way Zimmermann cites other composers: the quoted passages rise up in the midst of an agitated storm, like islands of tranquillity and beauty. The works quoted by Zimmermann are not for piano duo, but we find that they have certain parallels with the other pieces on this recording.

The cocky, unpredictable, whimsical aspect of Mozart's C Major Sonata is also present in Zimmermann. It is fascinating to note how he quotes Debussy's prelude Feux d'artifice (Fireworks) in the 4th and 5th Monologues, thereby transplanting that shimmering French flair into his own musical environment.

Debussy, for Zimmermann, is more than just a source for quotes. The frothy, pastel sonorities in the Monologues are so untypically German, so much more beautifully poetical than anywhere else, except in Debussy." (excerpt from an interview printed in the booklet).

Herbert Schuch, piano
Gülru Ensari, piano

No albums found.

No biography found.

Booklet for Dialogues

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO