In Search of the Rainbow Seekers Mtume

Cover In Search of the Rainbow Seekers

Album info



Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • 1Give It on Up (If You Want to)06:41
  • 2You Can't Wait for Love04:50
  • 3She's a Rainbow Dancer04:55
  • 4We're Gonna Make It This Time04:52
  • 5Dance Around My Navel (Doesn't Have to Make Sense, Just Cents)01:57
  • 6So You Wanna Be a Star05:19
  • 7Spirit of the Dance04:17
  • 8Anticipatin'04:19
  • 9Everything Good to Me04:05
  • 10Mrs. Sippi03:40
  • Total Runtime44:55

Info for In Search of the Rainbow Seekers

Mtume was formed by James Mtume in the late 70’s. In the 80’s he booked major success with co-member producer Reggie Lucas. The two guy’s wrote a lot of great stuff for the biggest artist at that time such as; Lou Rawls, Phyllis Hyman, The Spinners, Marc Sadane, Stephanie Mills, Levert, Roy Ayers and even Madonna.

The album; In search of the Rainbow Seekers is a brilliant tide produced album with great horn sections and nice vocals from the great; Tawatha Agee. Our favourite tracks are; “give it on up, “she’s a rainbow dancer and “so you wanna be a star”

James Mtume, vocals, percussion, keyboards, backing vocals
Tawatha Agee, lead vocals, background vocals, percussion
Ed 'Tree' Moore, guitar
Reggie Lucas, guitar
Basil Fearrington, bass
Howard King, drums
Hubert Eaves, keyboards
Ed Walsh, keyboards
Pete Cannarozzi, keyboards
Danny Coleman, horn
Sinclair Acey, horn

Produced by James Mtume, Reggie Lucas

Digitally remastered

James Mtume
is a former jazz percussionist. From Philadelphia, the group's original line-up included Michael Henderson on bass, who would go on to a successful solo career and worked closely with Norman Connors.

James Mtume moved into Urban Contemporary and funk in the late '70's, and became one of the more successful producers and performers in both styles during the '80's.

The son of the great jazz saxophonist Jimmy Heath, Mtume was a conga player and percussionist who recorded and toured with Miles Davis and was featured on albums by the Heath Brothers, Sonny Rollins, Herbie Hancock, Joe Henderson, and Freddie Hubbard.

He even recorded as a bandleader for Strata-East before turning to funk in the late '70's.

Their first album, of this period, was released in 1977 and was entitled 'Rebirth Cycle', although there were two earlier albums for the Third Street label.

The album featured the vocals of Jean Carn and Dee Dee Bridgewater.

The following year came 'Kiss This World Goodbye' which contained the original version of 'The Closer I Get To You', later a hit for Roberta Flack and Donny Hathaway.

The album also featured 'Love Lock', popular on the U.K. rare groove scene.

Mtume were signed to Epic in 1980 while James was still writing and producing with Reggie Lucas.

Mtume / Lucas wrote and produced the 1980 Mtume album 'In Search Of Rainbow Seekers'.

They had a number one R&B hit with 'Juicy Fruit' for Epic in 1983 and a number two single in 1984 with 'You, Me and He.'

They recorded for Epic until the late '80's before, Tawatha Agee went solo in 1987.

Their final top ten hit was 'Breathless' in 1986.

Mtume also teamed with another ex-jazz musician, Reggie Lucas, who had also been in Miles Davis' '70's band.

They produced and / or wrote for such artists as Stephanie Mills, Roberta Flack and Donny Hathaway, the late Phyllis Hyman, Gary Bartz, Sadane, Lou Rawls, Rena Scott, and Eddie Henderson in the late '70's.

James Mtume worked on his own, as a producer, with several artists, among them Levert, Tyrone Brunson, Roy Ayers, Eddie Henderson, Tease, and Sue Ann Carwell.

Group member Howard King worked as a producer for Smokey Robinson.

Booklet for In Search of the Rainbow Seekers

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO