Islands The Band

Album info



Label: Universal / Capitol

Genre: Rock

Subgenre: Classic Rock

Artist: The Band

Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • 1Right As Rain03:53
  • 2Street Walker03:16
  • 3Let The Night Fall03:10
  • 4Ain't That A Lot Of Love03:07
  • 5Christmas Must Be Tonight03:37
  • 6Islands03:54
  • 7The Saga Of Pepote Rouge04:13
  • 8Georgia On My Mind03:08
  • 9Knockin' Lost John03:48
  • 10Livin' In A Dream02:52
  • Total Runtime34:58

Info for Islands

When The Band announced their retirement from touring, it was with the important addendum that they'd continue to record together. In actuality, the only album that subsequently emerged was „Island“, which also served to finish out the band's contract with Capitol Records. At the time of its release in 1977, it was received with some dismay by fans anxious for a repeat of the powerful „Northern Lights Southern Cross“ of two years previous. With the passing of time having removed the pressures of those expectations, „Island“ can be heard as an album that, while fragmented, includes some fine gems. The musicianship throughout is never less than compelling. Richard Manuel's vocal on "Georgia On My Mind" is alone worth the price of admission--he sings it as if the thousand other classic versions never existed.

Robbie Robertson, vocals, guitar, keyboards
Levon Helm, vocals, guitar, drums
Rick Danko, vocals, violin
Richard Manuel, vocals, keyboards, drums
Larry Packard, violin
Larry Packer, violin
Garth Hudson, saxophone, horns, keyboards
John Simon, horns, keyboards
Jim Gordon, horns
Tom "Bones" Malone, horns

Engineered by Rob Fraboni, Nat Jeffreys, Neil Brody
Produced by Cheryl Pawelski, Andrew Sandoval, The Band

Digitally remastered

THE LAST WALTZ is the document of the Band's 1976 farewell performance, filmed as a documentary by Martin Scorsese, capturing the all-star concert for posterity. Sort of a rock version of "This Is Your Life," THE LAST WALTZ brought together performers from all phases of the group's career, giving them a chance to pay tribute and jam with the Band one last time. Many of the group's classics are reprised, but there are some notable standouts. Legendary Canadian rocker Ronnie Hawkins, who the Band backed in their early days as The Hawks, offers "Who Do You Love." After their tenure with Hawkins, the group went on to accompany Bob Dylan on some of his earliest electric sessions. Dylan returns the favor by performing a strong folk-blues medley beginning and ending with a fiery, rocking version of "Baby Let Me Follow You Down." Muddy Waters gives a lesson in the blues on "Mannish Boy," with the late great Paul Butterfield on harmonica. Eric Clapton offers his own polished version of the blues with a blistering "Further On Up The Road." Emmylou Harris, a highlight in any setting, duets on the gentle waltz "Evangeline." Dr. John's accurate and rousing "Such A Night" brings a bit of Mardi Gras to the proceedings. Joni Mitchell provides another pleasant change of pace, introducing her jazz-inflected sound with "Coyote," and joining in on soulful soaring harmonies with Neil Young on his classic "Helpless." Even Neil Diamond joins in on the fun, on a song he co-wrote with Robbie Robertson (who produced Diamond's BEAUTIFUL NOISE). Although not the last track on the disc, the Dylan-led all-star rendition of the Band/Dylan classic "I Shall Be Released" is the emotional climax of one of the most important performances in contemporary music.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2021 HIGHRESAUDIO