OSM Chamber Soloists

Biography OSM Chamber Soloists

OSM Chamber Soloists
Under the artistic direction of Andrew Wan, principal violist of the OSM, this album highlights the great musical qualities of the musicians of the OSM in reduced formation: Andrew Wan on violin, Neal Gripp on viola, Brian Manker on cello, Ali Yazdanfar on bass, Todd Cope on clarinet, Stéphane Lévesque on bassoon and John Zirbel on horn.

The Septuor in E flat major, op. 20, by Ludwig van Beethoven and Till Eulenspiegel einmal anders !, arrangement by Franz Hasenöhrl of the symphonic poem Till Eulenspiegel, op. 28, by Richard Strauss allows us to appreciate the mix of timbres of three important orchestral groups of the orchestra: strings, woodwinds and brass. After the Septuor, where the musical texture remains finely chiseled thanks to the variety of timbres, we marvel at Hasenöhrl's ingeniousness to suggest an entire orchestra with only five instruments. Together, these two works constitute a program where predominates a certain lightness - embellished with a touch of humor.

Max Horowitz has consulted for SiriusXM & Music Choice, and is an award winning radio producer. Recipient of the ‘George Foster Peabody Award,' Horowitz has also been twice honored with the ‘New York State Broadcaster Award,' and ‘International Radio Festival Award,' working on radio shows with a who's who list of artists that includes: Yo-Yo Ma, Chick Corea, Marcus Roberts, Vladimir Horowitz, Murray Perahia, George Winston & Ray Manzarek.

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO