Beethoven / Strauss OSM Chamber Soloists

Album info



Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 192 $ 15.00
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 - 1827): Septet in E-Flat Major, Op. 20:
  • 1Septet in E-Flat Major, Op. 20: I. Adagio. Allegro con brio10:16
  • 2Septet in E-Flat Major, Op. 20: II. Adagio cantabile08:41
  • 3Septet in E-Flat Major, Op. 20: III. Tempo di menuetto03:09
  • 4Septet in E-Flat Major, Op. 20: IV. Tema con variazioni - Andante07:37
  • 5Septet in E-Flat Major, Op. 20: V. Scherzo - Allegro molto e vivace03:00
  • 6Septet in E-Flat Major, Op. 20: VI. Andante con molto alla Marcia - Presto07:14
  • Richard Strauss (1864 - 1949):
  • 7Till Eulenspiegel einmal anders!08:43
  • Total Runtime48:40

Info for Beethoven / Strauss

Here is the first album of a new series of recordings with the soloists of the Orchestre symphonique de Montreal, under the artistic direction of Andrew Wan, concertmaster of the OSM since 2008. Two major musical works are at the heart of this new album, Ludwig van Beethoven's Septet in E-flat Major, Op. 20, and Richard Strauss' Till Eulenspiegel einmal anders! Together, these two works constitute a program dominated by a certain lightness - tinged with a hint of humor. A flamboyant first album and a promising series! Andrew Wan was named concertmaster of the Orchestre symphonique de Montreal in 2008. As a soloist, he has performed worldwide under respected conductors. His discography includes Grammy-nominated and Juno award-winning releases with the Seattle Chamber Music Society, the Metropolis Ensemble, and the New Orford String Quartet.

Andrew Wan, violin
Neal Gripp, viola
Brian Manker, cello
Ali Yazdanfar, double bass
Todd Cope, clarinet
Stéphane Lévesque, bassoon
John Zirbel, horn

OSM Chamber Soloists
Under the artistic direction of Andrew Wan, principal violist of the OSM, this album highlights the great musical qualities of the musicians of the OSM in reduced formation: Andrew Wan on violin, Neal Gripp on viola, Brian Manker on cello, Ali Yazdanfar on bass, Todd Cope on clarinet, Stéphane Lévesque on bassoon and John Zirbel on horn.

The Septuor in E flat major, op. 20, by Ludwig van Beethoven and Till Eulenspiegel einmal anders !, arrangement by Franz Hasenöhrl of the symphonic poem Till Eulenspiegel, op. 28, by Richard Strauss allows us to appreciate the mix of timbres of three important orchestral groups of the orchestra: strings, woodwinds and brass. After the Septuor, where the musical texture remains finely chiseled thanks to the variety of timbres, we marvel at Hasenöhrl's ingeniousness to suggest an entire orchestra with only five instruments. Together, these two works constitute a program where predominates a certain lightness - embellished with a touch of humor.

Max Horowitz has consulted for SiriusXM & Music Choice, and is an award winning radio producer. Recipient of the ‘George Foster Peabody Award,' Horowitz has also been twice honored with the ‘New York State Broadcaster Award,' and ‘International Radio Festival Award,' working on radio shows with a who's who list of artists that includes: Yo-Yo Ma, Chick Corea, Marcus Roberts, Vladimir Horowitz, Murray Perahia, George Winston & Ray Manzarek.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO