Risen Angel

Album info



Label: Cleopatra Records

Genre: Rock

Subgenre: Hard Rock

Artist: Angel

Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 48 $ 12.00
  • 1Angel Theme (Prelude)00:31
  • 2Under the Gun03:18
  • 3Shot of Your Love03:02
  • 4Slow Down05:42
  • 5Over My Head04:19
  • 6197507:07
  • 7We Were the Wild04:27
  • 8I.O.U.04:51
  • 9(Punky's Couch Blues) Locked, Cocked and Ready to Rock05:16
  • 10Turn Around04:55
  • 11Desire05:18
  • 12Our Revolution04:17
  • 13Tell Me Why03:22
  • 14Don't Want You to Go03:43
  • 15Stand Up04:05
  • 16My Sanctuary03:08
  • 17Tower (Re-Recorded)07:06
  • Total Runtime01:14:27

Info for Risen

Glam metal sensations, Angel, one time label mates of KISS, adorn themselves in white and proudly present this heavenly new album! Founding members Punky Meadows and Frank DiMino roll back the clock to the glory days of melodic metal with 16 brand new compositions and one fantastic re-working of the band’s classic song “Tower!”

The album will have 17 solid tracks featuring 15 brand new songs written by original members Punky Meadows and Frank Dimino along with current member Danny Farrow and a remake of the classic track “Tower”. They describe the songs as very diverse ranging from heavy to very melodic with real strong hooks featuring many elements of the classic Angel sound. This album will appeal to all Angel fans of every era and previous albums.

“I am very proud of this album and Angel fans will LOVE it! It really kicks ass and is very diverse with songs that will satisfy every Angel fan and take you on a musical journey! The band played their asses off! Play it from top to bottom, you will not want to miss a beat.” (Punky Meadows)

“This is an album that will take you on a journey to many different roads, all exciting. Enjoy it and play it loud!!!” (Frank Dimino)

Frank DiMino, vocals
Punky Meadows, guitar
Danny Farrow, guitar
Charlie Calv, keyboards
Steve Ojane, bass
Billy Orrico, drums

Please Note: We offer this album in its native sampling rate of 48kHz, 24-bit. The provided 96 kHz version was up-sampled and offers no audible value!

Formed in Washington, D.C., Angel are perhaps more widely recalled for their outrageous image and stage shows than for their musical prowess. Their self-titled 1975 debut, recorded for the flamboyant Casablanca Records label with a lineup comprising Frank DiMino (vocals), Edwin Lionel "Punky" Meadows (guitar, ex-BUX), Gregg Giuffria (keyboards), Mickie Jones (bass, ex-BUX), and Barry Brandt (drums), was an excellent slab of heavy pomp-rock, with lengthy songs swathed in Giuffria's atmospheric keyboards and featuring the longtime stage favorite, "Tower." Helluva Band continued in a similar vein, although the longest track, "The Fortune," was exceptional, and thus tended to obscure the rest of the material. The band's famous white satin stage clothing made its debut on the album sleeve. On Earth as It Is in Heaven saw a distinct change in musical direction, as the band adopted a pop/rock sound, and introduced a clever logo that read identically when upside down, but poor production let down the album.

White Hot, with Felix Robinson replacing Jones, was helped by Eddie Leonetti's more sympathetic production, and produced minor U.S. hits in "I Ain't Gonna Eat Out My Heart Anymore" and "The Winter Song." Leonetti subsequently produced Sinful and the in-concert set Live Without a Net, which had been recorded on the White Hot tour and suffered from the lack of material drawn from Sinful. Angel's record sales never quite reflected their popularity as a live act, and a legal dispute with PolyGram Records prompted the band's breakup in 1981. Giuffria attempted to revive the band in 1984, but the abortive reunion did lead to the formation of the more successful House of Lords. Robinson, meanwhile, appeared in an early White Lion lineup and played with 707. Brandt and DiMino re-formed Angel in the late '90s to record In the Beginning, with the help of guitarist and songwriter Richard Marcello. They staged an Angel reunion of sorts by persuading former colleagues Robinson and Meadows to play on the track "Set Me Free." (All Music Guide)

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO