Cover Cellopera (Deluxe Edition)

Album info



Label: Aparté

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Artist: Ophélie Gaillard, Morphing Chamber Orchestra & Frédéric Chaslin

Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Vincenzo Bellini, Gioachino Rossini , Giacomo Donizetti, Giuseppe Verdi, Giacomo Puccini, Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, Richard Wagner, Jacques Offenbach, Antonin Dvorak, Moisés Simons

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 13.10
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756 - 1791):
  • 1Don Giovanni, K. 527: Deh, vieni alla finestra (Arr. for Cello & Orchestra)01:56
  • 2Die Zauberflöte, K. 620: Ach, ich fühl's (Arr. for Cello & Orchestra)03:58
  • 3Don Giovanni, K. 527: Dalla sua pace (Arr. for Cello & Orchestra)04:00
  • Vincenzo Bellini (1801 - 1835):
  • 4I Capuleti e i Montecchi: Oh quante volte (Arr. for Cello & Orchestra)04:24
  • Gioachino Rossini (1792 - 1868):
  • 5William Tell: Fantasy on William Tell (Arr. for Cello & Orchestra)07:43
  • Giacomo Donizetti (1797 - 1848):
  • 6L'elisir d'amore: Una furtiva lagrima (Arr. for Cello & Orchestra)04:25
  • Giuseppe Verdi (1813 - 1901):
  • 7Rigoletto: Un di, se ben rammentomi (Arr. for Cello & Orchestra)04:07
  • 8Un Ballo in Maschera: Morrò, ma prima in grazia (Arr. for Cello & Orchestra)04:34
  • 9Don Carlo: Ella giammai m'amò09:13
  • Giacomo Puccini (1858 - 1924):
  • 10Tosca: E lucevan le stelle (Arr. for Cello & Orchestra)04:20
  • 11Madama Butterfly, SC 74: Un bel di vedremo (Arr. for Cello & Orchestra)04:29
  • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840 - 1893):
  • 12Eugene Onegin, Op. 24: Kuda, kuda vï udalilis (Arr. for Cello & Orchestra)06:12
  • Richard Wagner (1813 - 1883):
  • 13Tannhäuser, WWV 70: O! du mein holder Abendstern (Arr. for Cello & Orchestra)03:33
  • Jacques Offenbach (1819 - 1880):
  • 14Les Contes d'Hoffmann: Scintille diamant (Arr. for Cello & Orchestra)02:47
  • 15Les Contes d'Hoffmann: Fantasy on the Barcarolle (Arr. for Cello & Orchestra)03:51
  • 16La Périchole: Air de la Griserie (Arr. for Cello & Orchestra)02:07
  • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky:
  • 17The Queen of Spades, Op. 68: Polina's romance (Arr. for Cello & Orchestra)03:12
  • Antonin Dvorak (1841 - 1904):
  • 18Gypsy Songs, Op. 55: Songs My Mother Taught Me (Arr. for Cello & Orchestra)02:43
  • Moisés Simons (1889 - 1945):
  • 19Toi c'est moi: C'est ça la vie, c'est ça l'amour ! (Arr. for Cello & Orchestra)03:10
  • Total Runtime01:20:44

Info for Cellopera (Deluxe Edition)

From well-loved arias to personal discoveries, this recording journeys through over a century of opera, with transcriptions for cello and orchestra stretching from Mozart to Puccini and including Verdi, Tchaikovsky, and Offenbach. The curtain goes up on some of Ophélie Gaillard's favorite pieces, which explore human passions through the voice of the cello, that most human of instruments ...

Ophelie Gaillard, cello
Morphing Chamber Orchestra
Frederic Chaslin, conductor

Ophélie Gaillard
Her “technical fluency is unimpeachable. Herintonation … is impeccable. She plays with a ripe, absolutely luscious tone. Her use of vibrato iscircumspect and period- appropriate. She isscrupulous about observing repeats and her use of ornamentation is elegant and understated. The fluidity and unself-conscious physicality of Gaillard’s playing keeps the listener aware that, except for the preludes, this is sunny, dance-basedmusic.”

So wrote the critic Stephen Eddins (Allmusic) of her recent Bach recording (2011), while back in 2007 The Times hailed her “wizardfingering, big lyrical heart and kaleidoscope of colours”.

An insatiable curiosity, a taste for risk, an immoderate appetite for the whole of the concertedcello repertoire, complete disregard of limits and petty quarrels: those are no doubt the features thathave always set this brilliant Franco-Swissmusician apart. Her passion? Working from the sources, inquiring into the text, using her virtuosityto bring out the musical discourse and make the music loved by all.

Named “Revelation: Solo Instrumentalist of the Year” at the French Classical Music Awards(Victoires) in 2003, she has since appeared in recital at many prestigious venues: Concertgebouw Bruges and Amsterdam; Bozarand Flagey, Brussels; the theatres of Bordeaux, Avignon, Poissy, Aix-en-Provence; the Théâtre du Châtelet in Paris; Oji Hall, Tokyo; London’sWigmore Hall; and so on.

She also performs works of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries, and has recorded, for instance, Britten’s complete Cello Suites and Piano Sonatas with Vanessa Wagner (Diapason d’Or, Choc du Monde de la Musique) and Pierre Bartholomée’s Oraison for solo cello.

Her solo album Dreams (Aparté) recorded in 2009 at the legendary Abbey Road Studios in London with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, proved to be a great public success.

Versatile artist, Ophelie Gaillard also regularlyperforms as a soloist with orchestras such as the Japan Philharmonic, the Royal Philharmonic, the Polish Radio Orchestra and the National Radio Orchestra of Romania, the Franz Liszt ChamberOrchestra of Budapest, the Moscow ChamberOrchestra, the Toulouse Chamber Orchestra, the Monte-Carlo Philharmonic Orchestra, the SlovakPhilharmonic Orchestra, etc….

Ophélie Gaillard has won several prizes in major international competitions, including, most notably, The third prize of the J. S. Bach International CelloCompetition in Leipzig in 1998. In 2010 she wasinvited to sit on the jury for the ARD International Cello Competition in Munich.

Booklet for Cellopera (Deluxe Edition)

© 2010-2021 HIGHRESAUDIO