It Feels So Good (Expanded Version - Remaster) The Manhattans

Album info



Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • 1I Kinda Miss You05:20
  • 2Up on the Street (Where I Live)03:39
  • 3Let's Start It All Over Again05:15
  • 4It's You04:02
  • 5I'll See You Tomorrow03:10
  • 6It Feels so Good to Be Loved so Bad04:36
  • 7It Just Can't Stay This Way05:17
  • 8We Never Danced to a Love Song04:17
  • 9Mind Your Business03:47
  • 10Too Much for Me to Bear03:41
  • 11I Kinda Miss You03:40
  • 12Let's Start It All Over Again03:50
  • 13Let's Start It All Over Again05:14
  • 14It Feels so Good to Be Loved so Bad04:00
  • 15We Never Danced to a Love Song03:05
  • Total Runtime01:02:53

Info for It Feels So Good (Expanded Version - Remaster)

Originally formed in 1962 in Jersey City, New Jersey, The Manhattans enjoyed some success in the R&B world from 1965- 1972 recording for the Carnival and DeLuxe labels. A move to Columbia Records in 1973 brought greater prominence for the then-quintet when the single “There’s No Me Without You” became a Top 3 R&B and Top 50 pop hit. In 1975, the group topped the US pop and R&B charts (also reaching the UK Top 10) with their now-classic “Kiss And Say Goodbye,” from their first gold album, The Manhattans. With the departure of original member Ricky Taylor, the quartet of Gerald Alston, Blue Lovett, Sonny Bivins and Wally Kelley returned to the recording studios in 1976 with renowned Philadelphia producer/arranger/musician and songwriter Bobby Martin to cut their fourth Columbia album, IT FEELS SO GOOD. The ten-track LP became The Manhattans’ second gold album, buoyed by the success of ‘I Kinda Miss You’ (US R&B #7, Pop #46), the title track (US R&B #6, Pop #66) and ‘We Never Danced To A Love Song,’ another Top 10 R&B hit.

„Another addition to the Manhattans' bulging cache of mellow sounds. Gerald Alston, Winnie Lovett, Ernest Bivens and Kenny Kelly made a career of recording romance, heartache and make-out tunes. The popular 'We Never Danced to a Love Song' fits in well with their other ballads, as does the majestic 'It Just Can't Stay this Way' and 'Let's Start All Over Again.' They hit the charts with the somewhat contrived 'I Kinda Miss You,' and the title track, the eloquent 'It Feels So Good to Be Loved So Bad' is classic -- the harmony is tight and they add a little doo wop for good measure. You can't go wrong with any Manhattan album; they give their fans what they want, and never do they offend or alienate them by recording and releasing something out of character.“ (Andrew Hamilton, AMG)

The Manhattans

Produced by Bobby Martin, Mickey Eichner, The Manhattans

Digitally remastered

The Manhattans
Legend has it that George "Smitty" Smith, Edward "Sonny" Bivins, Winfred "Blue" Lovett, Kenneth Kelly and Richard Taylor came to call themselves the Manhattans because, as teenage singers in Jersey City, New Jersey, they'd dream about the big time while gazing across the Hudson River at the Manhattan skyline. It's a nice story, but unfortunately it is not true. In fact, the quintet took its name from a cocktail known as the Manhattan that's made from whiskey, vermouth, and bitters. Still, the name suggested class, something the Manhattans have epitomized throughout their long career. First tenor Bivins, who characterizes the group's elegant style as "progressive doo wop," first got together with baritone singer Taylor while they were serving with the Air Force in Germany during the late 1950's. After being discharged, Bivins, Lovett and Smith formed the Dulcets in 1960. In 1961, The Dulcets recorded "Pork Chops" on the Sue Label. In 1963, with the addition of Kelly and Taylor, they formed The Manhattans.

Although they began making records in 1963, the Manhattans didn't strike it big until the mid 1970's, when they successfully bucked the disco trend with a series of romantic ballads for Columbia Records. They had eight songs in the R&B Top 10 between 1973 and 1978, with the composition "Kiss And Say Good Bye" going to Number One on both the R&B and Pop Charts in 1976 and placing in the top five in England and Australia. "Shining Star" made it to number five on the Pop Charts, staying on the charts for 14 straight weeks

The Manhattans continue to bring their smooth, classy live sound to their fans, with over 100 shows worldwide last year alone. With Edward "Sonny" Bivins at baritone, Al Pazant at bass, Lee "The Reverend" Williams at lead vocal and Charles "Charming Charlie" Hardy and Harsey "The Candyman" Hemphill sharing 1st and 2nd tenor, The Manhattans continue to be one of the most sought after live R&B units of the day.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO