Bach: The Cello Suites - Recomposed by Peter Gregson Peter Gregson

Album info



Label: Deutsche Grammophon

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Artist: Peter Gregson

Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach (1685–1750)

Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • Peter Gregson (1987 - ):
  • 11.1 Prelude02:01
  • 21.2 Allemande02:02
  • 31.3 Courante02:27
  • 41.4 Sarabande02:14
  • 51.5 Menuetts04:28
  • 61.6 Gigue02:00
  • 72.1 Prelude03:36
  • 82.2 Allemande02:06
  • 92.3 Courante01:40
  • 102.4 Sarabande04:26
  • 112.5 Menuetts04:04
  • 122.6 Gigue03:40
  • 133.1 Prelude03:59
  • 143.2 Allemande03:12
  • 153.3 Courante03:37
  • 163.4 Sarabande03:54
  • 173.5 Bourrées02:00
  • 183.6 Gigue01:56
  • 194.1 Prelude05:13
  • 204.2 Allemande02:39
  • 214.3 Courante02:02
  • 224.4 Sarabande04:49
  • 234.5 Bourrées02:39
  • 244.6 Gigue03:47
  • 255.1 Prelude02:43
  • 265.2 Allemande03:35
  • 275.3 Courante02:42
  • 285.4 Sarabande03:33
  • 295.5 Gavottes03:08
  • 305.6 Gigue02:40
  • 316.1 Prelude02:27
  • 326.2 Allemande03:35
  • 336.3 Courante02:17
  • 346.4 Sarabande06:50
  • 356.5 Gavottes02:10
  • 366.6 Gigue02:49
  • Total Runtime01:53:00

Info for Bach: The Cello Suites - Recomposed by Peter Gregson

Award-winning cellist and composer Peter Gregson is the latest contemporary composer to be invited by Deutsche Grammophon to reinterpret iconic works in the classical canon for their pioneering Recomposed series. Gregson follows in the footsteps of contemporaries Matthew Herbert, Matthias Arfmann, Jimi Tenor and Max Richter, whose Recomposed by Max Richter – Vivaldi: The Four Seasons was the latest, hugely popular release in the series.

For his record, Gregson has ‘recomposed’ perhaps the best-loved of all works for his instrument, the Bach Cello Suites. His approach was to retain the shape and flow of the suites, whilst still allowing his own aesthetic to come through. Gregson’s reinterpretation adds a new instrumental dimension, reimagining them for a five-person cello ensemble, analogue synthesizers and his own solo cello. The recording was made at the infamous AIR Studios in London with complex and high production values that made use of the physical space. The five cellists were widely dispersed throughout the studio galleries and Gregson turned the variety of analogue synthesizers, which he played himself, into acoustic instruments by re-amplifying them. The result is a multilayered sound that brings a new aural dimension to the works.

Peter Gregson, cello
Richard Harwood, cello
Ben Chappell, cello
Reinoud Ford, cello
Katherine Jenkinson, cello
Tim Lowe, cello

Peter Gregson
is a cellist and composer "working at the forefront of the new music scene" (The New Yorker) Recently, he has premiered works by composers including Tod Machover, Daníel Bjarnason, Gabriel Prokofiev, Max Richter, Jóhann Jóhannsson, Steve Reich, and Sally Beamish; he collaborates with many of the world’s leading technologists, including Microsoft Labs, UnitedVisualArtists, Reactify and the MIT Media Lab.

Peter developed and was commissioned to compose ‘The Listening Machine‘, a data sonification of Twitter in collaboration with Daniel Jones and Britten Sinfonia for the BBC/Arts Council’s “The Space”, where it ran continuously between May-January 2013.

His debut solo album, ‘Terminal’, was commissioned by Bowers & Wilkins and launched in April 2010. A limited edition 10′′ vinyl was commissioned by Mute in May 2011, featuring new solo works for Peter written by Max Richter and Jóhann Jóhannsson and was released at the ‘Short Circuit’ Festival at The Roundhouse. In May 2012, Nonclassical released Gabriel Prokofiev’s ‘Cello Multitracks’, a cello suite written for Peter which the two have toured around the world.

'Lights in the Sky', his second studio album, composed for cello, piano, and analogue synthesisers, was released at Imogen Heap's 'Reverb Festival' in August 2014.

His third studio album, TOUCH, will be released on Sono Luminus in August 2015.

In demand for his work across major film and television soundtracks, Spitfire Audio developed a sample library of Peter's extended techniques and sounds from his blue, five-string electric cello, all recorded at Pixel, his studio in London.

The score to his first feature film, 'A Little Chaos' , directed by Alan Rickman and starring Kate Winslet and Matthias Schoenaerts, is available now on Milan Records.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO