Album info



Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 88.2 $ 12.80
  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750): Constellation Vintage Moon:
  • 1Prelude BWV 846 with Excerpt from Adagio BWV 100502:30
  • 2PERLE03:33
  • 3ADA04:31
  • 4Adagio from Sonata in C Major for Solo Violin BWV 100504:06
  • Constellation Electric Rain:
  • 5Largo from Sonata in G Major for Violin and Keyboard BWV 101901:28
  • 6LAGO06:31
  • 7Excerpt from 1st Movement of Sonata in E Major for Violin and Keyboard BWV 101601:04
  • Constellation Hiraeth:
  • 8Adagio from Sonata in B Minor for Violin and Keyboard BWV 101404:11
  • 9VOODOO04:17
  • 10Adagio ma non tanto from Sonata in E Major for Violin and Keyboard BWV 101604:11
  • 11NANNA02:18
  • Constellation 999:
  • 12999 after BWV 999 & BWV 101806:47
  • Total Runtime45:27

Info for BachSpace

What happens when three musicians take the music of Johann Sebastian Bach, and develop it in a bold and skilful way? The result is a number of new constellations. "Vintage Moon", "Electric Rain", "Hiraeth" and "999" are the four hybrid works on the debut album of the BachSpace ensemble, situated at the interface of Baroque music and electronica. They have to date played their boundary-breaking music at various Bach festivals and at the 2017 Montreux Jazz Festival.

Pianist Tamar Halperin, who won the Hesse Arts Prize in 2016 and has accompanied Michael Wollny and Andreas Scholl, celebrated her debut with the Neue Meister label in 2016 with her acclaimed "Satie" album, while violinist Etienne Abelin was for many years a member of the Lucerne Festival Orchestra. For this recording, the pair recorded various works by Bach in the studio. Audio designer Tomek Kolczynski, who has made a name for himself through soundtracks for the theatre and cinema, then extracted characteristic fragments from the piano and violin tracks, and transformed them digitally. He then moulded the multilayered sound chains, loops and ostinato elements into new works with suspense curves.

Together the three musicians have woven the Bach originals with the electronic compositions into new entities – a technique which was referred to as a "pasticcio" in the Renaissance and Baroque eras. These woven fabrics – these constellations – lend the density and emotionality of Bach's music a new dimension. Here is Johann Sebastian Bach, mutated into his own contemporary sound world thanks to skilful dramatic effect and recomposition: BachSpace.

Tamar Halperin, piano
Etienne Abelin, violin
Tomek Kolczynski, electronic

Tamar Halperin
has a PhD form the Juilliard School, New York. She performs extensively as a soloist and as a chamber musician, both on the piano and the harpsichord and has a repertoire that ranges from the early Baroque to contemporary classical compositions.

She won the Eisen-Picard Performing Arts Award (2006-7); the Presser Doctoral Award (2005); the REC Music award (2005); an honorary prize at the International Harpsichord Competition in Bruges (2004), and was the recipient of the C.V. Starr Doctoral Fellowship and the America-Israel Cultural Foundation Scholarship. Tamar Halperin holds a Bachelor's degree with high distinction from Tel-Aviv University, and a Master's degree from the Juilliard School in New York, where she also worked as a teaching assistant.

Currently, she is researching music at the facility of Renaissance and Baroque Musical Practices at the Schola Cantorum Basiliensis in Basel, Switzerland.

Etienne Abelin
is a conductor, violinist and curator with a passion for new directions in classical music. He is the founder of classYcal, a start-up dedicated to innovations in classical music including the Ynight club nights ("Best of 2013" Züritipp, "Exactly what was missing in the Swiss concert landscape" Tagesanzeiger Zurich) and the Apples&Olives Indie Classical Festival Zurich. With the music visualization approach Music:Eyes, he has toured worldwide and held two TEDx talks/performances. With his ensemble bachSpace - Bach & Electronics, he gave his Concertgebouw Amsterdam debut in 2014.

A member of the Lucerne Festival Orchestra and from 2004 - 2011 principal second violin of the Orchestra Mozart Bologna, both founded by Claudio Abbado, he was also an Artist-in-Residence and music curator at the Festspielhaus St.Pölten, Austria and served in the jury of the Classical:NEXT conference and the "Junge Ohren Preis".

As a conductor, he has performed with the Orquestra Sinfonica Portuguesa, the Ensemble Orchestral de Paris, the North Czech Philharmonic Orchestra and numerous other ensembles.

Etienne initiated Superar Suisse, a start-up that brings music to socially disadvantaged children, is helping to build the “Sistema Europe” network inspired by El Sistema Venezuela and is a founding member of the Impact Hub Zurich. He's a co-founder of the Sistema Europe Youth Orchestra (SEYO) which he conducted together with the Youth Orchestra of Caracas at La Scala Milano in summer 2015.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO