Wipe The Windows, Check The Oil, Dollar Gas (Live Remastered) The Allman Brothers Band

Album info



Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • 1Intro/The Allman Brothers Band/Wipe The Windows Check The Oil Gas (Live At Winterland, San Francisco/1973)01:05
  • 2Wasted Words (Live At Winterland, San Francisco/1973)05:13
  • 3Southbound (Live At Winterland/1973)06:05
  • 4Ramblin' Man (Live At Winterland, San Francisco/1973)07:16
  • 5In Memory Of Elizabeth Reed (Live At Winterland/1973)17:27
  • 6Ain't Wastin' Time No More (Live At The Warehouse, New Orleans/1972)05:43
  • 7Come And Go Blues (Live At Watkins Glen, New York, July 28, 1973)05:06
  • 8Can't Lose What You Never Had (Live At Bakersfield Civic Auditorium/1975)06:45
  • 9Don't Want You No More (Live At Bakersfield Civic Auditorium/1975)02:48
  • 10It's Not My Cross To Bear (Live At Bakersfield Civic Auditorium/1975)05:23
  • 11Jessica (Live At The Oakland Coliseum/1975)09:10
  • Total Runtime01:12:01

Info for Wipe The Windows, Check The Oil, Dollar Gas (Live Remastered)

„This live album was released by Capricorn Records largely as a way of raising money in a hurry, but it fares surprisingly well musically. The 1973-1974 Allman Brothers Band featured here is the one that most fans actually saw, since most listeners didn't discover them or get to their concerts until after the deaths of Duane Allman and Berry Oakley. Wipe the Windows isn't a landmark release like the Fillmore tapes -- a collection of rock's greatest guitar albums could be complete without it. But no Allman Brothers Band fan should pass up Wipe the Windows, which is a most solid live album, and, in particular, a better representation of the songs off of Brothers and Sisters and Win, Lose or Draw than the original studio versions. 'Southbound,' 'Ramblin' Man,' 'Jessica,' and, to a lesser degree, 'Wasted Words' come off exceptionally well. This second-generation band, with Dickey Betts as the sole lead guitar and Gregg Allman and Chuck Leavell sharing the keyboards, also performs a preconceived version of 'In Memory of Elizabeth Reed' -- they could never spark more fire than the version from the Fillmore, so they transform it into a moodier piece with more space for the keyboards to open up. Compiled from shows in New Orleans, San Francisco, Bakersfield, Oakland, and Watkins Glen (New York).“ (Bruce Eder, AMG)

Gregg Allman, lead vocals, organ, clavinet, guitar
Richard Betts, lead vocals, lead guitar, slide guitar
Chuck Leavell, piano, electric piano, background vocals
Lamar Williams, bass
Jaimoe, drums, percussion
Butch Trucks, drums, percussion, tympani

Recorded by The Sausalito Record Plant Remote Truck and The New York Record Plant Remote Truck
Engineered by Frank Hubach, Johnny Sandlin, Kurt Kinzel, Ovie Sparks, Tom Flye, Tom Scott
Produced by The Allman Brothers Band

Digitally remastered

Allman Brothers Band They formed in 1969, but the road veterans continue to tour like they have something to prove. And they're already legends, with a secure place in history and a plaque at the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. But THE ALLMAN BROTHERS BAND is also a vital contemporary phenomenon, as much a part of the present and future of music as any band can be.

In early 2003, the group released the critically lauded Hittin' The Note, their first new studio project in nine years (and 24th overall). Released March 18, 2003 on their own Peach label (via a new deal with Sanctuary), these 11 tracks prove the band's ability to adapt its classic sound to the energy and aesthetics of modern rock. The ALLMAN BROTHERS BAND underlined the success of Hittin’ The Note (including two Grammy nominations for the track “Instrumental Illness”) with a live DVD and CD recorded in New York during the group’s annual marathon of shows at the Beacon Theatre (which they have packed over 140 times, including 14 sell-outs in 2006). The group also continues to release music from their personal archives, which they’ve guarded closely over the years.

The Allman Brothers Band at the Beacon Theatre…just hearing the phrase conjures up images and sounds of well executed and passionately played live rock and roll. To capture the event for fans who might not necessarily have been lucky enough to get into the 2894-seat venue, the group recorded the shows, and released the Live At The2 Beacon Theatre DVD in late ’03, and it was quickly certified gold. One Way Out, a live album from the same Beacon stand, came out in March 2004.

2003 also brought further accolades for the ALLMANS. The band was recognized by Rolling Stone for featuring four of the top 100 guitarists of all time: the late Duane Allman was cited as #2, while current guitarists Warren Haynes and Derek Trucks came in at #23 and #81, respectively. Known as one of rock’s best live acts, the ALLMAN BROTHERS BAND were one of only two artists whose live albums ranked in the top 50 of Rolling Stone’s list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time.” The ALLMAN BROTHERS BAND was honored for At Fillmore East (while James Brown was saluted for Live At The Apollo). An expanded version of At Fillmore East and the previously unavailable Atlanta International Pop Festival (the July 1970 concert that they both opened and closed) were released to critical and fan acclaim. The group was selected as the first artist to introduce the “Instant Live” program, whereby fans were able to purchase CD copies of the ALLMAN BROTHERS BAND concert they just saw, immediately after the show.

Not many groups have been around as long as The Allman Brothers Band. Of those that have, most have either lapsed into a nostalgia-act coma or withered on a weary vine. If you're talking about a band that has both legs and heart, whose experience feeds an intensity that's rare even among the greenest music newbies, that narrows the field pretty much down to these psychedelic sons of the South. But passion doesn't come easily, which helps explain why it's taken them so long to record once again. In April 1997, frustrated by tensions within the group that were threatening to slow its creative momentum, Warren Haynes and bassist Allen Woody left to pursue Gov’t Mule (with whom he still tours and releases new music), and the focus of the group shifted exclusively to live performance. Though they still delivered killer shows, something was missing, and eventually it became clear that the only way to get it back was to make a change in the personnel. Visit: www.allmanbrothersband.com

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2022 HIGHRESAUDIO