Satie: Complete Piano Works, Vol. 3 (New Salabert Edition) Nicolas Horvath

Album info



Label: Grand Piano

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Instrumental

Artist: Nicolas Horvath

Composer: Eric Satie (1866-1925)

Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 44.1 $ 12.50
  • Erik Satie (1866-1925)
  • 14 Préludes: No. 3, 1er prélude du Nazaréen - No. 4, 2me prélude du Nazaréen10:23
  • 2Uspud (Version for Piano): Act I09:33
  • 3Uspud (Version for Piano): Act II06:20
  • 4Uspud (Version for Piano): Act III07:53
  • 54 Préludes: No. 2, Eginhard prélude02:04
  • 6Danses gothiques10:34
  • 7Vexations07:01
  • 8Modéré (Version for Piano)01:04
  • 9Prélude de la porte héroïque du ciel04:50
  • 10Gnossienne No. 602:17
  • 11Petite ouverture à danser02:09
  • 12Pièces froides No. 1 "Airs à faire fuir": No. 1, D'une manière très particulière04:30
  • 13Pièces froides No. 1 "Airs à faire fuir": No. 2, Modestement01:09
  • 14Pièces froides No. 1 "Airs à faire fuir": No. 3, S'inviter04:19
  • 15Pièces froides No. 1 "Airs à faire fuir": No. 2, Modestement (Version plus chromatique)00:26
  • 16Pièces froides No. 2 "Danses de travers": No. 1, En y regardant à 2 fois02:02
  • 17Pièces froides No. 2 "Danses de travers": No. 2, Passer01:44
  • 18Pièces froides No. 2 "Danses de travers": No. 3, Encore02:37
  • 19Danse de travers II03:12
  • Total Runtime01:24:07

Info for Satie: Complete Piano Works, Vol. 3 (New Salabert Edition)

This third volume of Erik Satie’s complete solo piano music using Satie scholar Robert Orledge’s new Salabert Edition focusses on music composed between 1892–97, including theatrical scores such as the revolutionary uspud, and the Danses gothiques and famous Vexations written while the composer was hiding from a tempestuous love affair. The period closes with Satie composing in what he called “a more flexible and accessible way with the final Gnossienne and the six Pièces froides.”

Nicolas Horvath, piano

Nicholas Horvath
Considered to be an out-of-the-ordinary artist with an unconventional résumé, Nicolas Horvath began his music studies at the Académie de Musique Prince Rainier III de Monaco. At 16, Lawrence Foster took notice of him in a concert and, securing a three year scholarship for him from the Princess Grace Foundation, was able to invite him to the Aspen Music Festival. After his studies in the École Normale de Musique in Paris, he worked for three years with Bruno-Léonardo Gelber, Gérard Frémy who instilled in him a sensitivity to music of our time as well as Eric Heidsieck, Gabriel Tacchino, Nelson Delle-Vigne, Philippe Entremont and Oxana Yablonskaya. Leslie Howard got to know him and invited him to perform before the Liszt Society in the United Kingdom, dedicating to him his 23rd Etude in Black and White. Thanks to Leslie Howard, Nicolas was able to deepen and supplement his knowledge of the works of Franz Liszt..

A contemporary music enthusiast, he works for Régis Campo, Denis Levaillant, Jaan Rääts, Kazuo Missé, Thérèse Brenet, Frederick Martin... He did world premiere from more than 100 composers and he is the dedicator of more than 50 pieces (concertos, sonatas, etude, toccata, prelude...).

He performs as soloist with the Orchestre Philharmonique de Monte- Carlo, the Palm Beach Symphony Orchestra, The Kiev Soloists orchestra, the Nice Ensemble Instrumental and in festivals such as the Palm Beach Atlantic Piano Festival, Gabala Piano Festival, BSI Monte-Carlo Music Master, Canto XL, Palais de Tokyo 2nd Season. . Winner of almost a dozen of international competitions, he was awarded 4th Prize and Special Franz Liszt Prize at the Yokohama International Competition which takes place in the famous Minato Mirai Hall; 2nd Prize at Fukuoka which enabled him to participate in the Nishin-Nihon Debut Recital Series; First Prize in the American Protégé which opened the doors for him to Carnegie Hall’s Weill Hall...

In 2014, Nicolas Horvath will perform during a single concert, all the 5 Liszt concertos with an original theme -a world premiere- with the Monte-Carlo Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by Leslie Howard. The release of his first cd «Franz Liszt's Christus» (first complete recording at the Hortus Editions) had a great press reception.

He is updating Terry Riley's legendary 'All Night Concerts' with uncompromising avant-garde programs such as the 'Night of Minimal Piano', the 'Complete Philip Glass piano music' or the 'Complete Erik Satie piano music including the Vexations'. He also did a 35 hours solo non-stop version of the Satie's Vexations.

Nicolas is also an electroacoustic composer and enjoy to work with painters and video artists.

Forthcoming projects include the world premiere recording of LaMonte Young cult piece X for Henry Flynt for Sub Rosa, the recording of the complete Philip Glass piano music for Naxos - Grand Piano label, and the complete Erik Satie piano music for Sheva Collection.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO