Liszt: Piano Works Boris Giltburg

Cover Liszt: Piano Works

Album info



Label: Naxos

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Instrumental

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 15.20
  • Franz Liszt (1811 - 1886):
  • 1Paraphrase de concert sur Rigoletto, S. 43407:50
  • Études d'exécution transcendante, S. 139:
  • 2No. 1 in C Major "Preludio"00:59
  • 3No. 2 in A Minor "Fusées"02:48
  • 4No. 3 in F Major "Paysage"04:17
  • 5No. 4 in D Minor "Mazeppa"07:36
  • 6No. 5 in B-Flat Major "Feux follets"04:27
  • 7No. 6 in G Minor "Vision"05:37
  • 8No. 7 in E-Flat Major "Eroica"04:30
  • 9No. 8 in C Minor "Wilde Jagd"05:35
  • 10No. 9 in A-Flat Major "Ricordanza"10:23
  • 11No. 10 in F Minor "Appassionata"04:41
  • 12No. 11 in D-Flat Major "Harmonies du soir"09:33
  • 13No. 12 in B Minor "Chasse-neige"05:08
  • 3 Études de concert, S. 144:
  • 14No. 2 in F Minor "La leggierezza"05:28
  • Total Runtime01:18:52

Info for Liszt: Piano Works

Liszt’s Études d’exécution transcendante enshrine the spirit of High Romanticism, embodying extremes of expressive drama and technical virtuosity. His encyclopedic approach to technique is shown at its most dazzling in this cycle, heard here in the 1852 revision which Liszt himself declared ‘the only authentic one’. Integration of musical and technical elements is absolute, and the music’s narratives are supported by dramatic physicality, an orchestral richness of sonority, and an exceptional colouristic quality.

Boris Giltburg’s recordings for Naxos received numerous praises and awards. Recently he won Best Soloist Recording (20th/21st century) at the inaugural Opus Klassik Awards for his recording of Rachmaninov’s Second Piano Concerto with the Royal Scottish National Orchestra and Carlos Miguel Prieto, coupled with the Études-tableaux (8.573629). In May 2018 Naxos released his recording of the Third Piano Concerto and Corelli Variations with the same forces (8.573630), which has already garnered spectacular reviews including a Gramophone Editor’s Choice award.

"The ultimate challenge of Liszt's hell and heaven gets perhaps the finest performance of all, showing us the structure and effortlessly painting the poignancy and pride of redemption." (BBC Music Magazine)

"This performance genuinely makes you hear the music in a new light, just as his gifts of litheness, tenderness and grandeur open up beautifully fresh perspectives in the Grieg. His command of the Liszt language is equally compelling, its broad passionate sweep embracing brooding intimacy and bravura with a rich range of inflection. All in all, a recital not to be missed." (Telegraph)

"The playing is an unalloyed delight, rich in character, devoid of distracting tricks." (Sinfini Music)

"Finely recorded, this is a record for everyone's delectation and I can scarcely wait to hear Giltburg in other works from his already formidable repertoire." (Gramophone)

Boris Giltburg, piano

Boris Giltburg
Born in 1984 in Moscow, Boris Giltburg began his piano studies with his mother at the age of five. He has lived in Tel Aviv since early childhood, where he studied with Arie Vardi. He has received many awards for international competitions, notably at Santander (top prize and Audience Prize, 2002) and the Rubinstein (2nd prize and Best Classical Concerto, 2011). In 2013 he received First Prize at the Queen Elisabeth Competition in Brussels, as a result of which his already flourishing international career has been catapulted to a new level, with a packed diary of additional concert engagements across the globe. In the same year he was nominated for a Classic Brit (Critics’ Award).

Since his breakthrough appearance with the Philharmonia in 2007, Giltburg has been an annual visitor to the Royal Festival Hall in London, and made his BBC Proms debut in 2010 with the BBC Scottish Symphony. Last season he made his first concerto appearance in the Amsterdam Concertgebouw, with the Netherlands Philharmonic Orchestra, and gave his London Philharmonic debut. He is a popular guest with many UK orchestras and has also appeared with DSO Berlin, Frankfurt Radio Symphony, Orchestre National du Capitole de Toulouse, Royal Flemish Philharmonic, Swedish Radio Symphony, Danish Radio Symphony, Prague Symphony, to name a few. In autumn 2013 he plays for the first time at the Vienna Musikverein and debuts with the St Petersburg Philharmonic.

Giltburg made his debut with the Israel Philharmonic in February 2005, and regularly appears with all the major orchestras and in the leading recital series in Israel, as well as playing chamber music with members of the Israel Philharmonic. Having toured the USA as a teenager with the Israel Chamber, he made his North American orchestra debut in 2007 with the Indianapolis Symphony. In January 2014 he appears with the Seattle Symphony, and in 2015 with the Baltimore Symphony. He made his Tokyo debut in 2005, toured China for the first time in 2007, returning to give a recital at the NCPA in Beijing last season, and he played with the Hong Kong Philharmonic in 2010. He has toured South America several times every season since 2002. He has collaborated with conductors such as Alsop, Brabbins, De Waart, Dohnanyi, Entremont, Fedoseyev, Neeme Jaervi, Karabits, Krivine, Lintu, Luisotti, Petrenko, Saraste, Segerstam, Sokhiev, Soustrot, and Tortelier.

Giltburg has played recitals to audiences across Europe in major venues such as the Amsterdam Concertgebouw, Vienna Konzerthaus, Munich Herkulessaal, Paris Louvre, Zurich Tonhalle, Wigmore Hall, Teatro San Carlo in Naples and Madrid Sony Auditorium. Festival appearances have included the Klavierfest am Ruhr, Schwetzingen, Luzern, Piano aux Jacobins and Cheltenham. Highlights of 2013/14 include recitals at the Leipzig Gewandhaus, Brussels Palais des Beaux-Arts, and a return to London’s Southbank Centre (International Piano Series).

In August 2012 Giltburg released the Prokofiev ‘War’ sonatas on the Orchid label to excellent reviews worldwide, and appearing in Gramophone as ‘Editor’s Choice’: “These performances of Prokofiev’s three ‘War’ Sonatas eclipse all others on record – even those tirelessly and justifiably celebrated performances by Richter and Gilels” (Gramophone, October 2012). For his next CD release (September 2013) he has recorded sonatas by Rachmaninov, Liszt and Grieg.

Booklet for Liszt: Piano Works

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO