Luther Vandross (Remastered) Luther Vandross

Album info



Label: J Records

Genre: R&B

Subgenre: Soul

Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • 1Take You Out (Radio Edit)03:25
  • 2Grown Thangs04:32
  • 3Bring Your Heart To Mine04:21
  • 4Can Heaven Wait05:35
  • 5Say It Now04:32
  • 6Hearts Get Broken All The Time (But The Problem Is, This Time It's Mine)05:19
  • 7I'd Rather (Radio Version)04:51
  • 8How Do I Tell Her04:16
  • 9Any Day Now05:11
  • 10If I Was The One04:19
  • 11Let's Make Tonight The Night04:16
  • 12Like I'm Invisible04:00
  • 13Are You There (With Another Guy)05:54
  • 14Love Forgot05:38
  • Total Runtime01:06:09

Info for Luther Vandross (Remastered)

Luther Vandross is the self-titled twelfth studio album by American R&B recording artist Luther Vandross and his debut album on J Records, released in 2001. The song "Any Day Now" received a nomination for Best Traditional R&B Vocal Performance at the 2003 Grammy Awards. Parts of "Take You Out" were interpolated by Jay-Z on "Excuse Me Miss" off his 2002 album The Blueprint²: The Gift & the Curse.

"Having the vocal skills to be able to sing the phonebook doesn't necessarily mean that one should. Over the course of his last few albums, singer extraordinaire Luther Vandross has been saddled with material not nearly as magnificent as his silken, impeccably romantic voice. Luckily for fans of Luther, and for anyone who hungers for grown-up polished R&B/pop, the king of the love song is back. Though nowhere near his early classics, this eponymous release is definitely his best since 1991's Power of Love. From aching ballads to uptempo finger poppers, Luther lets the magic of his supple voice weave a spell. Even if his chart-topping days are behind him, Vandross's ability to croon is firmly in effect. This is solid and satisfying stuff." (Amy Linden)

"Luther Vandross made a return to form, of sorts, with his 2001 self-titled album, and his first bow for former Arista chief Clive Davis' new label, J Records. Luther Vandross ranks as the singer's best since 1991's critically and commercially lauded Power of Love, and it produced the single "Take You Out," which proved to be the velvet-voiced crooner's first Top 40 pop hit since "Endless Love," his drippy hit duet with Mariah Carey from 1994's covers collection Songs. Luther Vandross employs a bevy of the day's hottest producers and songwriters, in an effort to bring Luther back into the mainstream, and for the most part it works, although it infuriated more than a few old-school purists. Luther effortlessly brings on the funk on stellar up-tempo tracks, such as "Grown Thangs," the neo-disco of "Say It Now" (which recalls his classic "Never Too Much"), and the fabulous "How Do I Tell Her," the latter two utilizing a long standing trademark of Vandross' stellar female background vocals that nearly steal the show. The album also includes the classic ballads -- lush, romantic quiet storm numbers such as "Hearts Get Broken All The Time," the melodic "I'd Rather," "Any Day Now," and "Love Forgot." Additionally, Vandross delivers an inspired cover of the Burt Bacharach/Hal David classic "Are You There (With Another Guy)," The album's second single, "Can Heaven Wait," is a lush ballad that was destined to become a massive hit, but, unfortunately, due to the overly melodramatic nature of the song, which recalls R. Kelly at his schlockiest, the single stiffed. Nonetheless, Luther Vandross is the singer's most engaging, exciting, and compelling album in years, and shows Vandross in step with changing times, all the while still managing to hold on to the essence of what made him so famous in the first place." (Jose F. Promis, AMG)

Produced by Luther Vandross, Nat Adderley, Jr., AllStar Babyface, Eddie Berkeley, Warryn "Smiley" Campbell, Shep Crawford, The Hitmen

Digitally remastered

No biography found.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO