Biography Original Broadway Cast of A Chorus Line

A Chorus Line
first premiered at The Public Theater on April 16, 1975 with a book by Nicholas Dante and James Kirkwood, lyrics by Edward Kleban, and music by Marvin Hamlisch. The musical was conceived and originally directed and choreographed by Michael Bennett and later transferred to Broadway to win the 1976 Tony Award for Best Musical, as well as eight other Tony Awards, including Best Book, Best Score, Best Director, Best Choreography, Best Lighting Design, Donna McKechnie as Best Actress, Kelly Bishop for Best Featured Actress, and Samuel Williams for Best Featured Actor. Additionally it won the Pulitzer Prize in 1976 and the New York Drama Critics Circle Award, as well as a special Tony Award in 1984 for Longest-Running Broadway Musical. The 2006 Broadway revival received a Tony nomination for Best Revival of a Musical. The original production at The Public ran for 101 performances before moving to Broadway, where it ran for a record-breaking 6,137 performances. A Chorus Line has toured nationally and internationally including productions in London, Canada, Puerto Rico, Australia, Germany, Sweden, Japan, Argentina, Brazil, Mexico, Spain, and Austria.

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO