Schubert & Berwald: Chamber Music Anima Eterna Brugge

Album info



Label: Alpha

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Artist: Anima Eterna Brugge

Composer: Franz Schubert (1797-1828), Franz Berwald (1796-1868)

Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 13.40
  • Franz Schubert (1797 - 1828): Octet in F Major, D. 803:
  • 1Octet in F Major, D. 803: I. Adagio - Allegro - Più allegro13:47
  • 2Octet in F Major, D. 803: II. Adagio10:41
  • 3Octet in F Major, D. 803: III. Scherzo (Allegro vivace)06:09
  • 4Octet in F Major, D. 803: IV. Andante - Un poco più mosso - Più lento11:21
  • 5Octet in F Major, D. 803: V. Menuetto (Allegretto)06:19
  • 6Octet in F Major, D. 803: VI. Andante molto - Allegro - Andante molto - Allegro moto09:10
  • Franz Berwald (1796 - 1868): Grand Septet in B-Flat Major:
  • 7Grand Septet in B-Flat Major: I. Adagio - Allegro molto07:21
  • 8Grand Septet in B-Flat Major: II. Poco adagio - Prestissimo - Adagio08:42
  • 9Grand Septet in B-Flat Major: III. Finale (Allegro con spirito)07:43
  • Total Runtime01:21:13

Info for Schubert & Berwald: Chamber Music

Jos van Immerseel: “While since its foundation in 1987 Anima Eterna Brugge has grown organically into a symphonic orchestra, chamber music once again forms an important part of our repertory today. We will continue our journey through orchestral music, but want to broaden our base by including chamber music as well.” This recording is Anima’s very first to be completely devoted to instrumental ensemble music. A group of musicians headed by violinist Jakob Lehmann breathes new life into two 19th-century masterpieces. Schubert's Octet in F is a crown jewel from the repertoire, taking its cue from Beethoven’s celebrated Septet yet at the same time paving the way toward the Grosse Sinfonie. Roughly 20 years after its iconic recording of the complete Schubert symphonies, Anima brings its signature approach to the composer’s chamber music to explore it with the insights and “language skills” developed back then and from thereon. In contrast to Schubert, Franz Berwald has been largely forgotten – undeservedly, as this gifted Swede left behind an oeuvre that is both surprisingly modern and delightfully original. Performed on period instruments, using authoritative sources and contemporary playing techniques, these brilliant pages of large ensemble music are now ready to be rediscovered and enjoyed once again.

Anima Eterna Brugge

Anima Eterna Brugge
Founded in 1987 by Jos van Immerseel as a musical Petri dish to cultivate the results of his research into music of the baroque era, Anima Eterna Brugge evolved from a compact string ensemble to the full-bred symphonic orchestra that it is today, exploring repertoire from Bach, Mozart and Beethoven to Strauss, Debussy and Gershwin. The consequent use of period instruments, the permanent direction by its inspirator van Immerseel, a project-based setup and respect for the composer’s intentions, are at the core of this orchestra’s vision. Soloists either stem from Anima’s own ranks, or are ‘friends of the family’ - Claire Chevallier (piano), Midori Seiler (violin), Sergei Istomin (violoncello), Lisa Shklyaver (clarinet) and Thomas Bauer (baritone), to name but a few. With its partners Opéra de Dijon, Concertgebouw Brugge and Beethovenfest Bonn, AEB continues along the lines of an exceptional trajectory that by now stretches over a quarter of a century. During this time, the orchestra has produced an impressive range of recordings, since 2002 constituting the Zig-Zag Territoires (Outhere) series Collection Anima Eterna. Upcoming release in 2014 is the long-anticipated live-recording of Carl Orff’s Carmina Burana. Anima’s curiosity and the public’s amazement haven’t faded over the years: the orchestra still vouches for innovation without provocation, and keeps on getting its drive from musicological research and analysis, a logical and natural approach, and tons of musical passion and pleasure.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO