American Utopia (Deluxe Edition) David Byrne

Album info



Label: Nonesuch

Genre: Rock

Subgenre: Modern Rock

Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • 1I Dance Like This03:33
  • 2Gasoline and Dirty Sheets03:19
  • 3Every Day Is a Miracle04:46
  • 4Dog's Mind02:29
  • 5This Is That04:31
  • 6It's Not Dark up Here04:10
  • 7Bullet03:09
  • 8Doing the Right Thing03:38
  • 9Everybody's Coming to My House03:29
  • 10Here04:13
  • 11I Zimbra (Live from Kings Theatre, September 2018)03:12
  • 12Every Day Is A Miracle (Live from Kings Theatre, September 2018)04:49
  • 13Everybody's Coming To My House (Live from Kings Theatre, September 2018)03:44
  • 14This Must Be The Place (Naïve Melody) (Live from Kings Theatre, September 2018)04:54
  • 15Dog's Mind (Live from Kings Theatre, September 2018)02:57
  • 16Toe Jam (Live from Kings Theatre, September 2018)03:43
  • Total Runtime01:00:36

Info for American Utopia (Deluxe Edition)

American Utopia fits hand-in-hand with Byrne's vision for his series "Reasons To Be Cheerful," named for the song by the late Ian Dury. Over the last year, Byrne has been collecting stories, news, ideas, and other items that all either embody or identify examples of things that inspire optimism, such as a tech breakthrough, a musical act, a new idea in urban planning or transportation-something seen, heard, or tasted. Just as the album questions the current state of society while offering solace through song, the content of the series recognizes the darkness and complexity of today while showcasing alternatives to the despair that threatens us.

While David Byrne has collaborated on joint releases with Eno, Norman Cook (aka Fatboy Slim), and most recently St. Vincent over the past decade, American Utopia is Byrne's first solo album since, 2004's Grown Backwards, also on Nonesuch. American Utopia morphed during the writing and recording process, beginning with longtime collaborator Eno, and eventually growing to include collaboration with producer Rodaidh McDonald (The xx, King Krule, Sampha, Savages) alongside a diverse cast of creative contributors including Daniel Lopatin (aka Oneohtrix Point Never), Jam City, Thomas Bartlett (St. Vincent producer, aka Doveman), Jack Peñate, and others.

David Byrne, vocals
Happa Isaiah Barr, vocals (on "Everybody's Coming to My House")
Brian Eno, robot rhythm guitar (on "Everybody's Coming to My House")
Daniel Lopatin
Jam City
Jack Peñate
Sampha (on "Everybody's Coming to My House")
Ethan P. Flynn (on "Everybody's Coming to My House")

Recorded 2018 at DB Spare Bedroom (New York City), Reservoir Studios (NYC), Oscilloscope (NYC), XL Studios (NYC), Crowdspacer Studio (NYC), Livingston Studio 1 (London)
Produced by David Byrne, Brian Eno, Rodaidh McDonald

David Byrne
Known as the force behind Talking Heads and later as creator of the highly-regarded record-label Luaka Bop, David Byrne also works as a photographer, film director, author, and solo artist; he has published and exhibited visual art for more than a decade. Recent works include Joan of Arc: Into the Fire, a theatrical exploration of the historical heroine which premiered at The Public Theater in New York (2017); The Institute Presents: NEUROSOCIETY, a series of interactive environments created in conjunction with PACE Arts + Technology that question human perception and bias (2016); Contemporary Color, an event inspired by the American folk tradition of color guard and performed at Brooklyn’s Barclays Center and Toronto’s Air Canada Centre (2015); Here Lies Love, a 22-song theatrical production about the life of Imelda Marcos, authored in collaboration with Fatboy Slim and premiered at The Public Theater in New York (2013), then traveled to London’s National Theater for a sold-out run (2014-2015), and was remounted at the Seattle Repertory Theater (2017); Love This Giant, a studio album and worldwide tour created with St. Vincent (2012); and How Music Works, a book about the history, experience, and social aspects of music (2012).

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO