Baby It's Me (Expanded Edition) Diana Ross

Album info



Label: Motown Records

Genre: R&B

Subgenre: Soul

Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • Original Mix:
  • 1Gettin' Ready For Love02:46
  • 2You Got It03:58
  • 3Baby It's Me03:15
  • 4Too Shy To Say03:16
  • 5Your Love Is So Good For Me04:16
  • 6Top Of The World03:07
  • 7All Night Lover03:34
  • 8Confide In Me03:34
  • 9The Same Love That Made Me Laugh03:58
  • 10Come In From The Rain04:04
  • 11Baby, I Love Your Way04:15
  • 12Brass Band04:42
  • 13Country John03:44
  • 14Room Enough For Two02:49
  • 2014 Mix:
  • 15Gettin' Ready For Love03:29
  • 16You Got It04:00
  • 17Baby It's Me03:22
  • 18Your Love Is So Good For Me05:58
  • 19Top Of The World04:38
  • 20All Night Lover03:56
  • 21The Same Love That Made Me Laugh04:18
  • Total Runtime01:20:59

Info for Baby It's Me (Expanded Edition)

'Baby It's Me' is a 1977 album released by American singer Diana Ross on the Motown label that peaked at #18 on the Billboard Top 200 and #7 on the R&B album chart. The album was produced by producer Richard Perry. The LP yielded one Top 40 hit, 'Gettin' Ready for Love', reaching number 27 on the US Billboard Hot 100. Other charting singles released from the album include 'You Got It' and 'Your Love is so Good for Me,' the latter receiving a Grammy nomination.

Adult Contemporary drove the success of this album, with both 'Gettin' Ready for Love' (#8) and 'You Got It' (#9) being Top 10 hits, while the newly formed Billboard Dance charts ranked 'Your Love is so Good For Me' Top 15.

One of Diana's lesser hits for Motown in the 70s – but a pretty unified album of disco groovers and compressed pop tunes produced by Richard Perry, recording here with Diana in a smooth LA setting! The title track 'Baby It's Me' actually is a pretty funky number – almost in the funky Pointer Sisters mode – with heavy bass popping a break on the intro, and some nice Hotel Sheet work by Jack Ashford! Other titles include 'Too Shy To Say', 'You Got It', 'Getting Ready For Love', 'Top Of The World', 'All Night Lover', and 'The Same Love That Made Me Laugh'.

Diana Ross
While still in high school Ross became the fourth and final member of the Primettes, who recorded for Lu-Pine in 1960, signed to Motown Records in 1961 and then changed their name to the Supremes. She was a backing vocalist on the group's early releases, until Motown boss Berry Gordy insisted that she become their lead singer, a role she retained for the next six years. In recognition of her prominent position in the Supremes, she received individual billing on all their releases from 1967 onwards.

Throughout her final years with the group, Ross was being groomed for a solo career under the close personal supervision of Gordy. In late 1969, he announced that Ross would be leaving the Supremes, and she played her final concert with the group in January 1970. The same year, following the relative failure of "Reach Out And Touch (Somebody's Hand)", Ross began a long series of successful solo releases with the US chart-topping "Ain't No Mountain High Enough". She continued to enjoy success with lightweight love songs in the early 70s, with "I'm Still Waiting" topping the UK charts in 1971, and "Touch Me In The Morning" becoming her second US number 1 in 1973.

In April 1971, she had married businessman Robert Silberstein. Motown's plan to widen Ross' appeal led her to host a television special, Diana!, in 1971. In 1972, she starred in Motown's film biography of Billie Holiday, Lady Sings The Blues, winning an Oscar nomination for her stirring portrayal of the jazz singer's physical decline into drug addiction. However, subsequent starring roles in Mahogany (1975) and The Wiz (1978) drew a mixed critical response. In 1973, she released an album of duets with Marvin Gaye, though allegedly the pair did not meet during the recording of the project. She enjoyed another US number 1 with the theme song from Mahogany, subtitled "Do You Know Where You're Going To", in 1975.

Her fourth US chart-topper, "Love Hangover" (1976), saw her moving into the contemporary disco field, a shift of direction that was consolidated on the 1980 album Diana, produced by Nile Rodgers and Bernard Edwards of Chic. Her choice of hit material continued to be inspired and the 80s started with a major hit, "Upside Down", which rooted itself at the top of the US chart for a month, and reached number 2 in the UK. Similar but lesser success followed with "I'm Coming Out" (US number 5) and "It's My Turn" (US number 9), although she enjoyed another UK Top 5 hit with the jaunty "My Old Piano". The following year a collaboration with Lionel Richie produced the title track to the movie Endless Love.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO