Zwiegespräche Heinz Holliger

Cover Zwiegespräche

Album info



Label: ECM

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Artist: Heinz Holliger

Composer: György Kurtág, Heinz Holliger (1939)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • György Kurtág (b. 1926) & Heinz Holliger (b. 1939):
  • 1… ein Brief aus der Ferne an Ursula02:45
  • 2Berceuse pour M.03:02
  • 3… für Heinz …02:53
  • 4Die Ros‘01:10
  • 5Die Ros‘01:45
  • Philippe Jaccottet (b. 1925) & Heinz Holliger: Airs – Sept poèmes:
  • 61. Une semaison de larmes… (Poème)00:27
  • 71. Une semaison de larmes…02:26
  • 82. L'œil… (Poème)00:23
  • 92. L'œil…01:57
  • 103. Ce qui brûle… (Poème)00:26
  • 113. Ce qui brûle…01:29
  • 124. Dans l'étendue… (Poème)00:19
  • 134. Dans l'étendue…01:49
  • 145. Ô compagne… (Poème)00:31
  • 155. O compagne…01:31
  • 166. Je marche… (Poème)00:14
  • 176. Je marche…02:55
  • 187. Oiseaux (Poème)00:26
  • 197. Oiseaux05:49
  • György Kurtág:
  • 20Schatten00:56
  • 21Rozsnyai Ilona in memoriam02:51
  • 22Einen Augenblick lang (Version for Oboe Solo)00:38
  • 23Versetto (apokrif organum)00:55
  • Heinz Holliger: Hommage à Elliott Carter:
  • 241. Capriccio01:25
  • 252. Arioso01:48
  • György Kurtág:
  • 26Kroó György in memoriam06:22
  • 27Désert01:27
  • 28„Der Glaube“02:46
  • 29… summaia a B.P.01:04
  • 30… ein Sappho-Fragment01:34
  • 31… (Hommage à Tristan)00:42
  • 32Einen Augenblick lang (Version for Contrabass Clarinet Solo)00:38
  • 33In Nomine – all‘ongherese (Damjanich emlékkö)04:58
  • Heinz Holliger: Sonate für Oboe solo:
  • 341. Präludium04:02
  • 352. Capriccio03:29
  • 363. Aria03:58
  • 374. Finale02:26
  • Total Runtime01:14:16

Info for Zwiegespräche

Zwiegespräche is a meeting of spirits. “We compose the same way,” said György Kurtág to Heinz Holliger on hearing this recording, which emphasises works for oboe by these two major composers. Both of them reference the entire history of music in their pieces, both incorporate dedications and messages to friends and colleagues in the fabric of their work, and both draw upon literature as an inspirational source. Both, moreover, love the miniature as an expressive form; short pieces by Kurtág and Holliger are interwoven. Holliger’s sequence Airs (2015/6) is inspired by seven texts by Swiss poet Philippe Jaccottet, whose voice is heard here. The release of Zwiegespräche is timely. Heinz Holliger turns 80 on May 21, his creativity as composer and his resourcefulness as instrumentalist undimmed. The album concludes with Holliger’s Sonate für Oboe solo, composed in 1956, and still played by its author with absolute authority.

Zwiegespräche – “Dialogues” – begins with the intensely moving sound of Heinz Holliger’s oboe calling out into the wild, in a piece written for him by his longstanding friend György Kurtág. Then comes a response composed by him, played on cor anglais by his pupil Marie-Lise Schüpbach. From here the conversation develops, of two composers who, from their solitary positions, strive to make contact with one another – and with us.

The pieces are, as is typical for both composers, short. Six and a half minutes here is an epic, and many of the messages are over in under a minute. Such dimensions invite us to listen closely, to every turning nuance, and our attention is rewarded, by music-making that is at once emphatic and fine-grained.

Holliger himself is the principal artist, joined by Schüpbach and by the clarinettist Ernesto Molinari. The soprano Sarah Wegener gives her pure, strong voice to piercing settings by both composers of a compact poem by the 17th-century writer Angelus Silesius. The rose, Silesius says, knows no “why”; it just blooms, and does not ask if it is seen or not. This music, however, emphatically does demand to be heard.

A central Kurtág sequence has Holliger alternating with, or joining with, Molinari on bass or contrabass clarinet, the two of them speaking the music with equal veracity.

There are other dialogues going on along the way. Holliger offers instrumental responses to poems by the Swiss French poet Philippe Jaccottet, heard reading them in the voice of a 93-year-old. And the programme ends with Holliger looking into the mirror at his teenage self, playing a solo sonata that, from so long ago, is already characteristic of him in its precise definition, expressivity and vim.

Released to mark Holliger’s 80th birthday, this recording is the perfect embodiment of his dual artistry as performer and composer.

Heinz Holliger, oboe, Cor Anglais, piano
Marie-Lise Schüpbach, Cor Anglais, oboe
Sarah Wegener, soprano
Ernesto Molinari, bass clarinet, contrabass clarinet
Philippe Jaccottet, recitation

Heinz Holliger
has long been recognized as the world’s leading oboist, with countless works written for him, by composers including Luciano Berio, Elliott Carter, Olivier Messiaen and Karlheinz Stockhausen, as well as György Kurtág. His legacy of recordings is also prodigious, and includes a number of previous ECM albums, in which he ranges from Bach to music of the present day. ECM has also been at the forefront in presenting his work as a composer, notably with award-winning recordings of his extraordinary opera on Robert Walser’s Schneewittchen and of his Scardanelli-Zyklus, after Hölderlin.

Holliger was born in the small town of Langenthal, in the Swiss canton of Bern. He studied at the conservatory in Bern and also had composition lessons from Sándor Veress and Pierre Boulez. Called upon around the world for his virtuosity as an oboist, he has remained clear in his wider definition of himself, as also a conductor (having, again, some remarkable recordings to his name) and, most importantly, a composer. It is his complete and intense musical personality that has gained him the highest honours, including last year the German order “Pour le mérite”. In celebrating Holliger at a milestone birthday, these “Dialogues” also continue ECM’s extensive series devoted to the work of György Kurtág, widel

Booklet for Zwiegespräche

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO