R. Strauss: Eine Alpensinfonie, Op. 64, TrV 233 Andrés Orozco-Estrada

Cover R. Strauss: Eine Alpensinfonie, Op. 64, TrV 233

Album info



Label: PentaTone

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Orchestral

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 48 $ 15.20
  • Richard Strauss (1864-1949): Eine Alpensinfonie, Op. 64, TrV 233:
  • 1No. 1, Nacht03:36
  • 2No. 2, Sonnenaufgang01:43
  • 3No. 3, Der Anstieg02:20
  • 4No. 4, Eintritt in den Wald05:35
  • 5No. 5, Wanderung neben dem Bache00:48
  • 6No. 6, Am Wasserfall00:14
  • 7No. 7, Erscheinung00:46
  • 8No. 8, Auf blumigen Wiesen01:01
  • 9No. 9, Auf der Alm02:37
  • 10No. 10, Durch Dickicht und Gestrüpp auf Irrwegen01:33
  • 11No. 11, Auf dem Gletscher01:19
  • 12No. 12, Gefahrvolle Augenblicke01:31
  • 13No. 13, Auf dem Gipfel05:46
  • 14No. 14, Vision03:55
  • 15No. 15, Nebel steigen auf00:20
  • 16No. 16, Die Sonne verdüstert sich allmählich00:52
  • 17No. 17, Elegie02:03
  • 18No. 18, Stille vor dem Sturm03:17
  • 19No. 19, Gewitter und Sturm, Abstieg03:58
  • 20No. 20, Sonnenuntergang02:31
  • 21No. 21, Ausklang07:17
  • 22No. 22, Nacht02:19
  • Total Runtime55:21

Info for R. Strauss: Eine Alpensinfonie, Op. 64, TrV 233

With its epic sweep and grandeur and compelling drama, there has rarely been such a spine-tingling and vivid depiction of nature as found in Richard Strauss’s magnificent tone poem, An Alpine Symphony. Calling for gargantuan orchestral forces, this lavishly illustrated journey is Strauss’s crowning orchestral achievement. Using a vast musical canvas packed with vivid and exquisite details, it’s a bold, optimistic and passionate work, unleashing ecstatic blazes of orchestral color alongside moments of awestruck contemplation in a continuous narrative of 22 sections, which Strauss threads together with his usual mastery and aplomb. The work is performed by the Frankfurt Radio Symphony conducted by podium sensation Andres Orozco-Estrada. It marks their fourth release in a critically acclaimed series for PENTATONE. Their performance of Strauss’s Salome earned Gramophone magazine’s Editor’s Choice (January 2018). Gramophone also praised their Ein Heldenleben “...the playing has an easy virtuosity … the love music swells and swoons magnificently”. And for their first recording, the Stravinsky ballets The Firebird and The Rite of Spring, Gramophone lauded their ability to “unearth an astonishing amount of detail at relatively spacious tempi” and “PENTATONE’s awesomely precise recording”.

Frankfurt Radio Symphony
Andres Orozco-Estrada, conductor

No albums found.

No biography found.

Booklet for R. Strauss: Eine Alpensinfonie, Op. 64, TrV 233

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO