Beethoven: Symphony No.6 'Pastoral' / Schubert: Symphony No.5 Wiener Philharmoniker & Karl Böhm

Cover Beethoven: Symphony No.6 'Pastoral' / Schubert: Symphony No.5

Album info



Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • Ludwig Van Beethoven (1770-1827): Symphonie Nr.6 F-dur op.68 Pastorale:
  • 11. Erwachen heiterer Empfindungen bei der Ankunft auf dem Lande: Allegro ma non troppo12:21
  • 22. Szene am Bach: (Andante molto mosso)14:00
  • 33. Lustiges Zusammensein der Landleute (Allegro)05:49
  • 44. Gewitter, Sturm (Allegro)03:42
  • 55. Hirtengesang. Frohe und dankbare Gefühle nach dem Sturm: Allegretto09:57
  • Franz Schubert (1797–1828): Symphonie Nr.5 B-dur D 485:
  • 61. Allegro05:47
  • 72. Andante con moto10:46
  • 83. Menuetto (Allegro molto)05:53
  • 94. Allegro vivace05:54
  • Total Runtime01:14:09

Info for Beethoven: Symphony No.6 'Pastoral' / Schubert: Symphony No.5

„For many music lovers, this is the most purely beautiful performance of Beethoven's most purely beautiful symphony ever recorded. The playing of the Vienna Philharmonic is the last word in gorgeousness--the woodwind chords chime with such purity that they practically glow with an inner light. But it's not a self-indulgent interpretation at all: the storm rages as violently as anyone has a right to expect, and Karl Böhm keeps the music moving along impulsively, always highlighting the symphonic strength of Beethoven's musical argument. What makes the recording even more special is a Schubert Fifth with exactly the same qualities. Someone at DG clearly knows where the treasures are buried. A great disc.“ (David Hurwitz,

“Karl Böhm's Beethoven is a compound of earth and fire. His VPO recording of Beethoven's Sixth of 1971 dominated the LP catalogue for over a decade, and has done pretty well on CD on its various appearances.

His reading is generally glorious and it remains one of the finest accounts of the work ever recorded. It still sounds well and the performance (with the first-movement exposition repeat included) has an unfolding naturalness and a balance between form and lyrical impulse that's totally satisfying. The brook flows untroubled and the finale is quite lovely, with a wonderfully expansive climax.

The Schubert dates from the end of Böhm's recording career. It's a superb version of this lovely symphony, another work that suited Böhm especially well. The reading is weighty but graceful, with a most beautifully phrased Andante (worthy of a Furtwängler), a bold Minuet and a thrilling finale. The recording is splendid. If you admire Böhm this is a worthy way to remember his special gifts.” (Gramophone)

Wiener Philharmoniker
Karl Böhm, conductor

No albums found.

No biography found.

Booklet for Beethoven: Symphony No.6 'Pastoral' / Schubert: Symphony No.5

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO