Oh! Pardon tu dormais… Jane Birkin

Album info



Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • 1Oh! Pardon tu dormais…03:44
  • 2Ces murs épais03:14
  • 3Cigarettes03:25
  • 4Max03:01
  • 5Ghosts03:31
  • 6Les jeux interdits03:12
  • 7F.R.U.I.T00:25
  • 8A marée haute04:26
  • 9Pas d’accord03:44
  • 10Ta sentinelle04:09
  • 11Telle est ma maladie envers toi03:33
  • 12Je voulais être une telle perfection pour toi!02:19
  • 13Catch Me If You Can04:28
  • 14A marée haute (alternate Version)04:33
  • 15Ces murs épais (piano et orchestre)03:15
  • 16Ta sentinelle (alternate version)04:01
  • 17L’autostoppeuse02:23
  • 18Catch Me If You Can (piano et orchestre)04:26
  • 19Oh! Pardon tu dormais... (Winter Mix)02:36
  • Total Runtime01:04:25

Info for Oh! Pardon tu dormais…

Created by bringing together Étienne Daho, Jean-Louis Piérot and Jane Birkin, Oh Pardon tu dormais is her most intimate album so far. “ Étienne helped me release a past pain, which saved me from melancholy and inertia. We gave each other everything, we took everything from each other and I’m still stunned by how the 3 of us worked together. We are this album’s parents… and this moves me” said Jane Birkin, who speaks for the first time about the death of her daughter Kate, the absence, love anxiety, ghosts from the past…

In this first single “Les Jeux Interdits” Jane Birkin brings back a tender memory : when they were children, her daughters were so obsessed with the movie Les Jeux Interdits that they would bury everything with extremely formal rituals and they would have fun redecorating graves in the little cemetery nearby their house in Normandie (France).

Jane Birkin, vocals

Jane Birkin
At twenty years old, after being noticed in “Blow-up” by Michelangelo Antonioni, Jane Birkin arrived in France on the filming of “Slogan”. Pierre Grimblat was looking for an English woman to play opposite Serge Gainsbourg. Thus began their mythical love story in 1969 Paris. They never left each other and created the legend in the “underground” bars where the libertarian post sixty-eight wind blew. They recorded “Je t’aime moi non plus”. Censorship maddened, the record sold a million copies in a few months. Their daughter Charlotte Gainsbourg was born in 1971. In 1973 “Di Doo Dah” was released, Jane’s first solo album. In 1975, the terrific lovers returned with “Je t’aime moi non plus”, the film. The public was seduced by Jane’s acidulous accent, her half high-pitched half whispered voice, and the soft atmosphere she breathed into Serge’s tortured texts. In 1981, Jane left Serge. Gainsbourg suffered from the separation and admitted it, discreetly, by delivering “Baby alone in Babylone”. After the release of “Lost Song” in 1987, Jane took to the stage, at the Bataclan “to amaze Serge”. In 1990, Gainsbourg gave her a declaration album: “Amours des feintes”. It would be the last. He passed away on 2 March 1991. Her fans who urged her to continue “singing Serge”, would have their wishes granted in 1996, the year of “Versions Jane”, where different artists such as Goran Bregovic or the Senegalese percussionist Dudu N’Diaye Rose re-orchestrated 15 works of the young Gainsbourg’s repertoire. In 2002, Jane wanted to do her own interpretation of Elisa, Les Dessous Chics, her favourite song, or Amours des feintes. Accompanied by eastern musicians, she brought the songs by Serge, to “Algerian, Andalusia, Jewish and gypsy” audiences all at once. This new show was named Arabesque. Following the earthquake and the nuclear catastrophe at Fukushima, Jane went to Japan to participate in a fund-raising concert for the victims. It was here that she met Nobuyuki Nakajima who would then arrange Gainsbourg’s songs in a jazzy style for a tour commemorating the 20 years since his death, Serge and Jane “VIA JAPAN”. In 2013, Jane Birkin, Michel Piccoli and Hervé Pierre created a reading inspired by sixty texts chosen from the entirety of Serge Gainsbourg’s work: “Gainsbourg, prominent poet”. On 11 May 2017, at the Opéra Garnier Monte-Carlo, we will welcome her back for a new tribute to Serge Gainsbourg where she will be accompanied by the Monte-Carlo Philharmonic Orchestra.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2022 HIGHRESAUDIO