Beethoven: Piano Sonata No. 21, Op. 53 & Variations and Fugue in E-Flat Major, Op. 35 (Remastered) Emanuel Ax

Album info



Label: RCA Red Seal

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Instrumental

Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827): Piano Sonata No. 21 in C Major, Op. 53 "Waldstein":
  • 1I. Allegro con brio11:03
  • 2II. Introduzione: Adagio molto04:23
  • 3III. Rondo: Allegretto Moderato; Prestissimo10:00
  • Variations and Fugue in E-Flat Major, Op.35 ("Eroica Variations"):
  • 4Introduzione col basso del tema. Allegretto vivace - Tema03:33
  • 5Variation 100:35
  • 6Variation 200:49
  • 7Variation 300:42
  • 8Variation 400:38
  • 9Variation 501:00
  • 10Variation 600:35
  • 11Variation 700:37
  • 12Variation 801:11
  • 13Variation 900:37
  • 14Variation 1000:39
  • 15Variation 1100:49
  • 16Variation 1200:42
  • 17Variation 1300:41
  • 18Variation 1401:25
  • 19Variation 1505:54
  • 20Finale. Alla Fuga: Allegro Con Brio04:36
  • Total Runtime50:29

Info for Beethoven: Piano Sonata No. 21, Op. 53 & Variations and Fugue in E-Flat Major, Op. 35 (Remastered)

Born in Poland in 1949, Emanuel Ax moved with his family to Canada before settling in New York City in 1961. There, beginning in 1966, he studied piano with Mieczyslaw Munz at the Juilliard School of Music. He made a concert tour of South America in 1969; in the year that followed he completed a bachelor's degree in French at Columbia University and became an American citizen.

Ax had his New York recital debut in 1973, at Alice Tully Hall. In 1974, at the age of twenty-five, he took first place in the Arthur Rubinstein International Piano Master Competition in Tel Aviv. A successful American concert tour was the result, along with numerous European appearances. He received the prestigious Young Concert Artists' Michaels Award in 1975, and the coveted Avery Fisher Prize in 1979.

An exclusive Sony Classical recording artist since 1987, Mr. Ax made his debut on this label with a collection of Chopin scherzos and mazurkas. He has won two Grammy Awards, both for recordings of the piano sonatas of Franz Joseph Haydn.

Devoted to chamber music, Mr. Ax regularly performs with artists such as Yo-Yo Ma, Peter Serkin, Young Uck Kim, and Jaime Laredo; the late Isaac Stern was also a frequent partner. These collaborations frequently result in widely acclaimed recordings and additional Grammy Awards.

In recent years Mr. Ax has developed an enthusiasm for twentieth-century music, including the works of Paul Hindemith, Aaron Copland, and others. He has given the premier performances of compositions by John Adams, Christopher Rouse, Bright Sheng, Melinda Wagner, and others. This growing interest in contemporary music has produced numerous commissions for new music and further additions to his acclaimed discography.

Emanuel Ax, piano

Digitally remastered

No biography found.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO