Caprices & Laments: Clarinet Concertos by Nielsen, Copland & MacMillan Maximiliano Martín, Orquesta Sinfónica de Tenerife & Lucas Macías Navarro

Album info



Label: Delphian

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Concertos

Artist: Maximiliano Martín, Orquesta Sinfónica de Tenerife & Lucas Macías Navarro

Composer: James MacMillan, Carl Nielsen, Aaron Copland

Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 44.1 $ 11.30
  • Aaron Copland (1900 - 1990): Clarinet Concerto:
  • 1Copland: Clarinet Concerto: I. Slowly & Expressively05:42
  • 2Copland: Clarinet Concerto: Cadenza. Freely02:29
  • 3Copland: Clarinet Concerto: II. Rather Fast08:13
  • Carl Nielsen (1865 - 1931): Clarinet Concerto, Op. 57, FS 129:
  • 4Nielsen: Clarinet Concerto, Op. 57, FS 129: I. Allegretto un poco08:47
  • 5Nielsen: Clarinet Concerto, Op. 57, FS 129: II. Poco adagio04:54
  • 6Nielsen: Clarinet Concerto, Op. 57, FS 129: III. Allegro non troppo06:45
  • 7Nielsen: Clarinet Concerto, Op. 57, FS 129: IV. Allegro vivace04:16
  • James MacMillan (b. 1959):
  • 8MacMillan: Tuireadh (Version for Clarinet & String Orchestra)21:43
  • Total Runtime01:02:49

Info for Caprices & Laments: Clarinet Concertos by Nielsen, Copland & MacMillan

The benevolent shadow of Mozart meets a strain of emotional turbulence in Carl Nielsen’s unforgettable, at times inscrutable Clarinet Concerto – his last major orchestral work, completed three years before his death in 1931. Dating from two decades later, Aaron Copland’s concerto for the same instrument similarly bridges stylistic and expressive contrasts: composed with the genre-crossing expertise of Benny Goodman in mind, it brings a vein of lyrical sadness together with the verve of mid-century popular idioms from both the USA and Brazil.

James MacMillan’s Tuireadh, meanwhile, is a single-minded outpouring of grief, raising instruments to an almost vocal quality of expression in a lament for the victims of the Piper Alpha oil-rig fire. Clarinettist Maximiliano Martín – an internationally active soloist as well as principal clarinet of the Scottish Chamber Orchestra – is joined here by the symphony orchestra of his native Tenerife in three works which truly cover the gamut of human emotion.

Maximiliano Martin,clarinet
Orquesta Sinfónica de Tenerife
Lucas Macías Navarro, conductor

Maximiliano Martin
Spanish clarinettist, Maximiliano Martin has made his debut as a soloist and chamber musician in many of the world’s most prestigious venues and international festivals including the BBC Proms and Wigmore Hall in London, Library of Congress in Washington, Mondavi Center in San Francisco, Mozart Hall in Seoul, Laeiszhalle Hamburg in Germany, Durban City Hall in South Africa and Palau de la Música in Barcelona.

Principal Clarinet of the Scottish Chamber Orchestra, Maxi is also in constant demand as a soloist, chamber musician and teacher. As a concerto soloist he has performed with orchestras such as the Scottish Chamber Orchestra, Real Filarmonía de Galicia, European Union Chamber Orchestra, Orquesta Sinfónica de Tenerife and Orquesta Filarmónica de Gran Canaria under conductors like Brüggen, Ticciati, Schuldt, Manze and Antonini. In May 2017 Maxi premiered a new Clarinet Concerto “Llanto” specially written for him and SCO by New Zealand composer Lyell Creswell to great critical acclaim. In July 2018 he will give the premiere of a new commissioned clarinet Concerto, Travesía, by Spanish composer Gustavo Trujillo.

As a chamber musician, Maxi is a member of the London Conchord Ensemble and has collaborated with Cuarteto Casals, Christian Zacharias, Julian Milford, François Leleux, Jack Liebeck and Kris Bezuidenhout among others.

Often invited as a guest principal clarinettist, Maxi has frequently appeared with Chamber Orchestra of Europe, Orquesta de Cadaqués, Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra and City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra and worked with conductors such as Abbado, Haitink, Colin Davis, Mackerras, Marriner, Ticciati, Krivine and Litton.

His extensive discography includes Mozart and Weber Clarinet Concertos with SCO (LINN), two recital discs, Fantasia and Vibraciones del Alma (LINN), Divertimento SCO Wind Soloists (LINN), Messiaen’s Quartet for the end of the Time with Hebrides Ensemble (LINN), Brahms Clarinet Sonatas with Julian Milford (CHR), Mozart and Brahms Clarinet Quintets with the Badke Quartet (CHR) and two discs with London Conchord Ensemble, From Vienna (CHR) and St Petersburg (Orchid Classics). Future recordings include R. Strauss Duet Concertino with Peter Whelan and Robin Ticciati (LINN) and a Stephen Dodgson’s chamber music disc (NAXOS).

Maxi is also active in the education field giving masterclasses all over the world, recent places include Royal College of Music, Royal Northern School of Music, Conservatorio Superior de Canarias, Malmo Academy of Music (Sweden) and University of Kangnam (Seoul, South Korea). He is one of the Artistic Directors of the Chamber Music Festival of La Villa de La Orotava, held every year in his home town.

Born in La Orotava (Tenerife), he studied at the Conservatorio Superior de Musica in Tenerife, Barcelona School of Music and at the Royal College of Music in London where he held the prestigious Wilkins-Mackerras Scholarship, graduated with distinction and received the Frederick Thurston prize. His teachers have included Joan Enric Lluna, Richard Hosford and Robert Hill. Martin was a prizewinner in the Howarth Clarinet Competition of London and at the Bristol Chamber Music International Competition.

Maximiliano Martin is a Buffet Crampon Artist and plays with Buffet Tosca Clarinets.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2021 HIGHRESAUDIO