The Colour In Anything James Blake

Album info



Label: Polydor

Genre: Electronic

Subgenre: Electronica

Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • 1Radio Silence04:01
  • 2Points03:31
  • 3Love Me In Whatever Way05:03
  • 4Timeless04:22
  • 5f.o.r.e.v.e.r.02:41
  • 6Put That Away And Talk To Me03:58
  • 7I Hope My Life05:40
  • 8Waves Know Shores02:56
  • 9My Willing Heart04:03
  • 10Choose Me05:38
  • 11I Need A Forest Fire04:17
  • 12Noise Above Our Heads05:04
  • 13The Colour In Anything03:34
  • 14Two Men Down06:02
  • 15Modern Soul05:33
  • 16Always05:05
  • 17Meet You In The Maze04:55
  • Total Runtime01:16:23

Info for The Colour In Anything

GRAMMY® Award-nominated artist JAMES BLAKE releases his anxiously awaited third full-length album, „The Colour In Anything“. Among its 17 tracks, the record features the recently revealed songs “Modern Soul” and “Timeless”— both initially featured on his BBC Radio 1 Residency show. In addition, it includes “I Need a Forest Fire” [feat. Bon Iver] and “Radio Silence”, both of which premiered yesterday on BBC Radio 1’s Annie Mac show. In addition to the Bon Iver feature, Frank Ocean and Rick Rubin also contributed to The Colour In Anything as co-writer and co-producer, respectively.

BLAKE’s touch can be felt throughout the modern music landscape. He lent his inimitable voice and production to “Forward” on Beyoncé’s chart-dominating #1 blockbuster Lemonade. In addition, he co-wrote the opener “Pray You Catch Me.” Following the release of 2013’s Overgrown, BLAKE garnered a “Best New Artist” nomination at the 2014 GRAMMY® Awards, and he received a nod for “British Male Solo Artist” at the 2014 BRIT Awards.

The strains in his voice and soothing hums are what shine through al tracks. It can be difficult to decipher what exactly Blake means in some of his vivid imagery, but listen to the songs enough and you’ll start to relate to his heartbreak.

As with James Blake’s past two full-lengths, The Colour In Anything is an album for those dark, cold nights when you can’t help but think of that someone. It’s an album for when you just want to get home and fall into bed. Colour shows how soulful and gripping electronic music can be and how Blake is becoming a real soul singer instead of just another post-dubstep producer. Let him bare his soul to you as he guides you through the night.

Recorded 2014–2016 at Shangri La Studios, Malibu, CA; London, UK
Produced by James Blake, Rick Rubin

James Blake
Influenced by the likes of D'Angelo and Stevie Wonder along with Burial and Mount Kimbie, London-based producer, singer, and songwriter James Blake first gave the world a taste of his quirky, R&B-sampling strain of dubstep in 2009 when his Air & Lack Thereof 12" appeared on the Hemlock label. Blake received quite the endorsement when the heralded Soul Jazz label picked the track up for their Steppas' Delight 2 compilation that same year. Blake raised his profile every few months during 2010 -- something of a breakout year for him -- with a succession of warmly received 12" releases: The Bells Sketch (Hessle Audio, March), CMYK (R&S, June), Klavierwerke (R&S, October), and the single-sided "Limit to Your Love" (Atlas, November). The last of the series -- a cover of a song by Feist, in which Blake's heartfelt vocal was placed front and center -- served as a precursor to his first full-length, issued the following February. Titled James Blake, it left a major impression, and was eventually nominated for a Mercury Prize but lost to PJ Harvey's Let England Shake. Blake returned to Hemlock for the Order 12", then reverted to Atlas for Enough Thunder, a six-track EP with a Bon Iver collaboration and a cover of Joni Mitchell's "A Case of You." Yet another 12", Love Happened Here, was out by the end of 2011. Blake spent much of 2012 working on his second album, releasing new work under the name Harmonimix, and performing less often as the new songs percolated. In April 2013, second album Overgrown appeared, featuring collaborations with Brian Eno and RZA. It won that year's Mercury Prize, and Blake's songwriting was acknowledged when "Retrograde," one of the album's highlights, won an Ivor Novello Award in the category of Best Contemporary Song. Little, apart from an Airhead collaboration and an EP on his 1-800 Dinosaur label, was heard from Blake for three years. He resurfaced in April 2016 with contributions to Beyoncé's Lemonade. A couple weeks later, The Colour in Anything, his third album, arrived with only a few hours of advance notice. Recorded in England and at Rick Rubin's studio in Malibu, California, it included input from Bon Iver and Frank Ocean. (David Jeffries & Andy Kellman, AMG)

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO