Joseph-Nicolas-Pancrace Royer: Premiere Livre de Pieces de Clavecin Mie Hayashi

Album info



Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 12.80
  • Joseph-Nicolas-Pancrace Royer (1703 - 1755):
  • 1La Majestueuse05:59
  • 2La Zaïde06:09
  • 3Les Matelots02:49
  • 4Tambourins I & II02:00
  • 5L'Incertaine04:23
  • 6L'Aimable06:58
  • 7La Bagatelle01:48
  • 8Suitte de la Bagatelle02:09
  • 9La Remouleuse03:00
  • 10Les tendres Sentiments05:37
  • 11Le Vertigo06:24
  • 12Allemande06:15
  • 13La Sensible04:18
  • 14La Marche des Scythes07:15
  • Total Runtime01:05:04

Info for Joseph-Nicolas-Pancrace Royer: Premiere Livre de Pieces de Clavecin

The gifted Japanese-born harpsichordist, Mie Hayashi makes her Resonus Classics debut with this recording of the complete Premiere Livre de Pièces de Clavecin by the French Baroque composer Joseph-Nicholas-Pancrace Royer. Representing the majority of what remains of Royer’s solo keyboard works, this compelling collection of mostly character pieces demonstrates a unique and distinctive voice from Paris in the first half of the eighteenth century. Hayashi offers vivid performances on a stunning copy of a 1749 double-manual Jean-Claude Goujon instrument by Andrew Garlick.

Mie Hayashi, harpsichord

Mie Hayashi
was born in Kyoto, Japan. In London she studied at the Royal Academy of Music with Laurence Cummings and the late John Toll, and then at the Royal College of Music with Robert Woolley. She was awarded the Lincoln Scholarship (RAM) and Century Fund (RCM). During her studies she also won the Croft Sherry Ensemble Prize with the chamber ensemble Abendmusik, as well as the Ruth Dyson Keyboard Prize and Amadeus Fortepiano Prize.

With the ensemble La Sfera Musicale, she won top prize at the Japan Early Music Competition (Yamanashi) 2005 and honourable mention at the Bruges International Early Music Competition 2006. She has performed throughout the UK and overseas, including concerts for the Countess of Munster Recital scheme, and recitals for the Cheltenham International Music Festival, the Barcelona Early Music Festival, the National Trust recital series at Fenton House and the Lake District Summer Festival. With La Sfera Musicale she has performed recitals across Europe and in Japan.

As an orchestral musician, Mie has received invitations to perform with the Royal Northern Sinfonia and the London Handel Orchestra. In Japan, she was for several years principal harpsichordist with the Kyoto Philharmonic Chamber Orchestra with whom she appeared frequently as a concerto soloist. As a duo recitalist and orchestral musician, Mie has shared the concert platform with many renowned musicians, including the harpsichordists Laurence Cummings and Masaaki Suzuki, the cellist Anner Bylsma and the flautists Rachel Brown and Masahiro Arita, giving acclaimed performances and radio broadcasts both in the UK, in continental Europe and the Far East.

In 2016 she released her solo disc Ascents of the Soul, a programme of Laments, Tombeaux and Suites by Froberger, Louis Couperin, D'Anglebert and Fischer.

She is a founding member of both The Herschel Trio and Duo Boucon.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO