Rachmaninov: 24 Preludes Nikolai Lugansky

Cover Rachmaninov: 24 Preludes

Album info



Label: Harmonia Mundi

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Instrumental

Artist: Nikolai Lugansky

Composer: Sergej Rachmaninoff (1873-1943)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 14.00
  • Sergei Rachmaninov (1873 - 1943): Morceaux de fantaisie, Op. 3:
  • 1No. 2. Prelude in C-Sharp Minor04:47
  • 10 Preludes, Op. 23:
  • 2No. 1. Largo in F-Sharp Minor03:40
  • 3No. 2. Maestoso in B-Flat Major03:37
  • 4No. 3. Tempo di minuetto in D Minor03:53
  • 5No. 4. Andante cantabile in D Major04:58
  • 6No. 5. Alla marcia in G Minor04:05
  • 7No. 6. Andante in E-Flat Major03:03
  • 8No. 7. Allegro in C Minor02:29
  • 9No. 8. Allegro vivace in A-Flat Major03:28
  • 10No. 9. Presto in E-Flat Minor01:58
  • 11No. 10. Largo in G-Flat Major04:05
  • 13 Preludes, Op. 32:
  • 12No. 1. Allegro vivace in C Major01:14
  • 13No. 2. Allegretto in B-Flat Minor03:05
  • 14No. 3. Allegro vivace in E Major02:24
  • 15No. 4. Allegro con brio in E Minor05:56
  • 16No. 5. Moderato in G Major03:21
  • 17No. 6. Allegro appassionato in F Minor01:21
  • 18No. 7. Moderato in F Major02:25
  • 19No. 8. Vivo in A Minor01:48
  • 20No. 9. Allegro in A Major03:02
  • 21No. 10. Lento in B Minor06:07
  • 22No. 11. Allegretto in B Major02:33
  • 23No. 12. Allegro in G-Sharp Minor02:35
  • 24No. 13. Grave in D-Flat Major05:59
  • Total Runtime01:21:53

Info for Rachmaninov: 24 Preludes

Rachmaninoff took the genre of the prelude to its highest degree of perfection with his boundless musical invention and fearsome technical demands. In his first recording for harmonia mundi, Nikolai Lugansky brilliantly meets the challenge, offering a programme of the finest gems in his repertory of choice. A summit of pianistic wizardry!

Nikolai Lugansky regularly works with top level conductors such as Osmo Vänskä, Yuri Temirkanov, Mikhail Pletnev, Charles Dutoit, Gianandrea Noseda and Vladimir Jurowski. Concerto highlights for the 2017/18 season include engagements with the London and Baltimore symphony orchestras, Orchestra dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia, Hong Kong Philharmonic, Junge Deutsche Philharmonie and theYomiuri Nippon Symphony Orchestra. He will also take part in European tours with the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra (Sakari Oramo), and the Russian National Orchestra.

A regular recitalist the world over, upcoming performances include London’s Wigmore Hall, Paris’ Théâtre des Champs-Élysées, New York’s 92nd Street Y, Aix-en-Provence, Lisbon, Tokyo, Rio de Janiero andthe Great Hall of the Moscow Conservatoire. Lugansky regularly appears at some of the world's most distinguished festivals, including La Roque d’Anthéron, and the Verbier, Tanglewood and Ravinia festivals. His chamber music collaborators include Vadim Repin, Alexander Kniazev, Mischa Maisky and Leonidas Kavakos.

Nicolai Lugansky, piano

Nikolai Lugansky
Concerto highlights in Nikolai Lugansky’s 2013/14 season include his debut with the London Symphony Orchestra (Gianandrea Noseda), and returns to the Czech Philharmonic Orchestra (Jiří Bělohlávek), the Philharmonia Orchestra (Pablo Heras-Casado), St Petersburg Philharmonic Orchestra (Yuri Temirkanov) and the Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra.

In recital and chamber performances, Lugansky makes his debut at the Berlin Konzerthaus, and performs at the Great Hall of the Moscow Conservatoire and the Great Hall of the St Petersburg Philharmonia, Chicago’s Symphony Center, Paris’ Théâtre des Champs-Elysées and in the International Piano Series at the Queen Elizabeth Hall; his chamber music collaborations include performances with Vadim Repin, Mischa Maisky and Alexander Kniazev.

An acclaimed recording artist, Nikolai Lugansky records exclusively for the Naïve-Ambroisie label. His recording of Prokofiev’s Piano Concerto No.3 and Grieg’s Piano Concerto with the Deutsches-Symphonie Orchester Berlin and Kent Nagano is released in autumn 2013. This release follows on from his first two acclaimed solo recordings - of Liszt and Rachmaninov - for the label; the latter being awarded the “Solo Recording of the Year (20th/21st Century Music)” plaudit at the 2013 Echo Klassik Awards.

Booklet for Rachmaninov: 24 Preludes

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO