Cover Influences

Album info



Label: PentaTone

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Instrumental

Artist: Tamara Stefanovich

Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach (1685–1750), Bela Bartók (1881–1945), Charles Ives (1874-1954), Olivier Messiaen (1930)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 14.00
  • Charles Ives (1874 - 1954): Piano Sonata No. 1:
  • 1Piano Sonata No. 1: I. Adagio con moto09:33
  • 2Piano Sonata No. 1: IIa. Allegro moderato01:40
  • 3Piano Sonata No. 1: IIb. Allegro "In the Inn"04:19
  • 4Piano Sonata No. 1: III. Largo - Allegro - Largo, come pima07:27
  • 5Piano Sonata No. 1: IVa. —01:26
  • 6Piano Sonata No. 1: IVb. Allegro - Presto03:45
  • 7Piano Sonata No. 1: V. Andante maestoso13:21
  • Béla Bartók (1881 - 1945): Improvisations on Hungarian Peasant Songs, Op. 20, Sz. 74:
  • 8Improvisations on Hungarian Peasant Songs, Op. 20, Sz. 74: No. 1, Molto moderato01:04
  • 9Improvisations on Hungarian Peasant Songs, Op. 20, Sz. 74: No. 2, Molto capriccioso00:53
  • 10Improvisations on Hungarian Peasant Songs, Op. 20, Sz. 74: No. 3, Lento, rubato02:09
  • 11Improvisations on Hungarian Peasant Songs, Op. 20, Sz. 74: No. 4, Allegretto scherzando00:48
  • 12Improvisations on Hungarian Peasant Songs, Op. 20, Sz. 74: No. 5, Allegro molto00:56
  • 13Improvisations on Hungarian Peasant Songs, Op. 20, Sz. 74: No. 6, Allegro moderato, molto capriccioso01:32
  • 14Improvisations on Hungarian Peasant Songs, Op. 20, Sz. 74: No. 7, Sostenuto, rubato02:00
  • 15Improvisations on Hungarian Peasant Songs, Op. 20, Sz. 74: No. 8, Allegro01:58
  • Olivier Messiaen (1908 - 1992): Cantéyodjayâ:
  • 16Cantéyodjayâ12:02
  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685 - 1750): Aria variata in A Minor, BWV 989:
  • 17Aria variata in A Minor, BWV 989: Aria02:42
  • 18Aria variata in A Minor, BWV 989: Var. 1. Largo01:16
  • 19Aria variata in A Minor, BWV 989: Var. 2, —01:07
  • 20Aria variata in A Minor, BWV 989: Var. 3. —00:56
  • 21Aria variata in A Minor, BWV 989: Var. 4. Allegro01:00
  • 22Aria variata in A Minor, BWV 989: Var. 5. Un poco allegro01:00
  • 23Aria variata in A Minor, BWV 989: Var. 6. Andante01:38
  • 24Aria variata in A Minor, BWV 989: Var. 7. Un poco allegro00:53
  • 25Aria variata in A Minor, BWV 989: Var. 8. Allegro00:48
  • 26Aria variata in A Minor, BWV 989: Var. 9, —00:39
  • 27Aria variata in A Minor, BWV 989: Var. 10, —02:32
  • Total Runtime01:19:24

Info for Influences

On her first PENTATONE album, pianist Tamara Stefanovich presents a highly personal selection of solo works by Bach, Bartók, Ives and Messiaen. Influences shows how these extraordinarily original and idiosyncratic composers let themselves be inspired by the exterior world, thereby demonstrating how authenticity comes from looking outside as well as inside. The repertoire spans from Bach’s embrace of Italian musical elements in his Aria variata alla maniera italiana, Bartók’s incorporation of folk elements in his Improvisations on Hungarian Peasant Songs, and Messiaen’s use of Hindu rhythms in Cantéyodjayâ to the collage of marching bands, sounds of trains and machinery, church hymns, ragtime and blues in Ives’ first piano sonata. In all cases, the exterior influences lead to deeply original and personal sonic galaxies. In that respect, the pieces presented here underline how identity results from a constant dialogue with our surroundings, ever changing and enriching our perceptions of ourselves and the world.

Tamara Stefanovich, piano

Tamara Stefanovich
Known for captivating interpretations of a wide repertoire, Tamara Stefanovich performs at the world’s major concert venues including Carnegie Hall New York, Berlin Philharmonie, Suntory Hall Tokyo and London’s Royal Albert and Wigmore Halls. She features in international festivals such as La Roque d’Antheron, Ravenna, Salzburger Festspiele, Styriarte Graz and Beethovenfest Bonn. Stefanovich has appeared with orchestras including The Cleveland and Chicago Symphonies, London Symphony and London Philharmonic orchestras, Bamberger Symphoniker, Britten Sinfonia, Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen and Swedish Chamber Orchestra.

The 2017/18 season will see her debut with the Orquestra Sinfonica do Estado de Sao Paulo where she will feature as ‘artist in focus’. She will be on tour throughout Europe with the Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester and Vladimir Jurowski as well as the National Youth Orchestra of Great Britain under George Benjamin, performing at Royal Albert Hall (BBC Proms), in Aldeburgh and Birmingham. Together with London Sinfonietta, she celebrates the orchestra’s 50th Birthday, performing Abrahamsen’s Concerto for Left Hand. She returns home to Belgrade Philharmonic Orchestra to play Brahms’ Piano Concerto No.1 and is the soloist in Gershwin’s Piano Concerto with Saarländisches Staatsorchester Saarbrücken. Recitals will take her to Amsterdam’s Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ, Monte Carlo, Southbank Centre, Klavierfestival Ruhr, Edinburgh International Festival, Snape Maltings and Lucerne Festival.

Recent engagements have included performances with the Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, MDR Sinfonieorchester Leipzig, WDR Sinfoniesorchester Köln, Chamber Orchestra of Europe and Iceland Symphony Orchestra. She also made an extensive US recital tour marking the 90th birthday of Pierre Boulez garnering exultant reviews.

Tamara Stefanovich has collaborated with conductors such as Vladimir Ashkenazy, Osmo Vänskä and Susanna Mälkki, as well as leading composers including Pierre Boulez, Peter Eötvös and György Kurtág. She regularly leads educational projects at London’s Barbican Centre, Kölner Philharmonie and at Klavier-Festival Ruhr such as the innovative online project of interactive pedagogical analyses Boulez’ Notations: Tamara is cofounder and curator of a newly created festival “The Clearing” at Portland International Piano Series.

Her discography includes the Grammy-nominated recording of Bartók’s Concerto for Two Pianos, Percussion and Orchestra with Pierre-Laurent Aimard, Pierre Boulez and the London Symphony Orchestra for Deutsche Grammophon. Stefanovich has also recorded for the AVI and harmonia mundi labels new piano solo works by Thomas Larcher. Her latest recording of Hans Abrahamsen’s Concerto for Piano and Orchestra, and 10 studies for piano with WDR Symphonieorchester Köln released by Winter & Winter. She has recorded Quasi una fantasia and the Double concerto with Asko|Schönberg Ensemble and Reinbert de Leeuw/Jean-Guihen Queyras for ECM’s complete recording of Kurtág’s works for ensemble. The recording has just been released and has received a 5* review in The Guardian.

Booklet for Influences

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO