Cover The Beatles for Orchestra

Album info



Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 44.1 $ 12.80
  • 1She Loves You (arr. M. Townend)02:22
  • 2Here Comes The Sun - Something (arr. C. Egan)04:27
  • 3And I Love Her (arr. C. Egan)02:53
  • 4Can't Buy Me Love (arr. M. Townend)02:15
  • 5Eleanor Rigby (arr. R. Moore)02:24
  • 6Hey Jude (arr. C. Egan)05:02
  • 7The Long and Winding Road (arr. C. Egan)03:36
  • 8Twist and Shout (arr. M. Townend)02:38
  • 9Yellow Submarine (arr. C. Egan)02:50
  • 10All You Need is Love (arr. C. Egan and R. Sidwell)03:39
  • 11Yesterday (arr. C. Egan)03:21
  • 12Let It Be (arr. C. Egan)04:04
  • 13Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da (arr. C. Egan)03:18
  • 14Strawberry Fields Forever - Penny Lane (arr. R. Sidwell)04:23
  • 15Blackbird (arr. C. Egan)02:33
  • 16Norwegian Wood (arr. R. Sidwell)02:38
  • 17A Hard Day's Night - Help (arr. M. Townend)03:31
  • 18The Fool on the Hill (arr. R. Sidwell)02:54
  • 19Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band - With a Little Help from my Friends (arr. R. Moore)04:24
  • 20A Day in the Life (arr. C. Egan and A. Vinter)05:35
  • Total Runtime01:08:47

Info for The Beatles for Orchestra

This album of The Beatles for Orchestra consists mainly of brand new orchestral arrangements of some of the most memorable Beatle compositions.

The Rhythm section was put down at Abbey Road using some of the finest session musicians in their field and with the Abbey Road Engineers. The Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra was then recorded in Liverpool again using the Abbey Road mobile unit and engineers. Finally the album was mixed at the Penthouse Suite at Abbey Road, to provide this unique recording of The Beatles for Orchestra. There will be an extensive marketing campaign using national press and local press with interviews.

„A chance remark sparked off this CD. My old friend, Sandra Parr, Concerts Manager and backbone of the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra said in passing, You know we are always being asked to play Beatles, but we dont have anything. I replied, Ill give you something to play. Indeed, the original recordings are still with us and I feel for a long time yet. But the melodies are very strong in themselves and if arranged sensitively would be a very pleasurable CD and fulfil a need. It would demonstrate the range of their talent from the early rock and roll influences to the quirky, with my own special preference for Paul McCartneys soulful ballads.“ (Carl Davis)

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra
Carl Davis, conductor

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra
The award-winning Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra is the oldest continuing professional symphony orchestra in Britain, dating from 1840. Vasily Petrenko was appointed principal conductor of the orchestra in September 2006 and in September 2009 became chief conductor. The orchestra gives over sixty concerts each season in Liverpool Philharmonic Hall and tours widely throughout the United Kingdom and internationally, touring to China, Japan, Switzerland, France, Spain, Germany, Romania and the Czech Republic. World première performances have included major works by Sir Peter Maxwell Davies, Sir John Tavener, Sir James MacMillan, Karl Jenkins, Stewart Copeland, Michael Nyman, Michael Torke, Nico Muhly and James Horner, alongside works by Liverpool-born and North West-based composers. Recent additions with Vasily Petrenko to the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra’s extensive and critically acclaimed recording catalogue include Tchaikovsky’s Manfred Symphony [Naxos 8.570568] (2009 Gramophone Awards Orchestral Recording of the Year), the world première performance of Sir John Tavener’s Requiem, a complete Shostakovich symphony cycle (the recording of Symphony No. 10 [Naxos 8.572461] was the 2011 Gramophone Awards Orchestral Recording of the Year), Rachmaninov’s Symphonic Dances, Symphonies Nos. 2 and 3 and Piano Concertos Nos. 1–4 and Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini (with Simon Trpčeski), Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concertos Nos. 1 and 2 (also with Trpčeski), Elgar’s Symphony No. 1 and Cockaigne Overture; and Tchaikovsky’s Symphonies Nos. 1, 2 and 5.

Booklet for The Beatles for Orchestra

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO