Solstice (Remastered) Ralph Towner

Cover Solstice (Remastered)

Album info



Label: ECM

Genre: Jazz

Subgenre: Contemporary Jazz

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • 1Oceanus11:06
  • 2Visitation02:36
  • 3Drifting Petals06:58
  • 4Nimbus06:30
  • 5Winter Solstice04:02
  • 6Piscean Dance04:15
  • 7Red and Black01:18
  • 8Sand04:18
  • Total Runtime41:03

Info for Solstice (Remastered)

Down Beat: “Solstice inspires through its expressive openness... revealing depth of texture, nuance and meaning.” Perfect Sound Forever: “The LP is not only one of the moodiest ever published by ECM, but by anyone.” Solstice, recorded 1974, belongs to the great early production projects of ECM, with a new band formed in the studio. It’s the first of Towner’s recorded encounters with the European players, and this US-Norwegian- German quartet has a character all its own. Ralph’s synthesis of classical guitar technique and jazz improvisational skills inspires all participants on now-famous tunes including “Nimbus” and “Oceanus”. (Many future associations grew out of this meeting, including the Garbarek/Towner collaboration on Dis, and the integration of Eberhard Weber into the Jan Garbarek Group, and of Jon Christensen into Weber’s Colours band.)

Ralph Towner, twelve-string guitar, classical guitar, piano
Jan Garbarek, tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone, flute
Eberhard Weber, double bass, cello
Jon Christensen, drums

Recorded December 1974 at Arne Bendiksen Studio, Oslo
Engineered by Jan Erik Kongshaug
Produced by Manfred Eicher

Digitally remastered

No biography found.

Booklet for Solstice (Remastered)

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO