God Damn Evil Stryper

Album info



Label: Frontiers Music s.r.l

Genre: Rock

Subgenre: Hard Rock

Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 44.1 $ 10.60
  • 1Take It to the Cross04:55
  • 2Sorry03:55
  • 3Lost03:43
  • 4God Damn Evil04:05
  • 5You Don't Even Know Me04:10
  • 6The Valley04:14
  • 7Sea of Thieves03:40
  • 8Beautiful04:01
  • 9Can't Live Without Your Love04:44
  • 10Own Up03:43
  • 11The Devil Doesn't Live Here03:25
  • Total Runtime44:35

Info for God Damn Evil

Continuing a trend started with their 2013 release, No More Hell To Pay, Stryper s 10th studio album, God Damn Evil sees the band offering up their heaviest release yet! Opening track, Take It To The Cross features a guest appearance from Matt Bachand (Shadows Fall, Act Of Defiance) on death growls, yes, death growls, and immediately shows you that Michael Sweet and company have zero intentions of mellowing with age. The next two tracks, Sorry and Lost, are classic Stryper anthems, but with a modern heaviness and edge that carries the band s sound into the 21st century and beyond.

The title track, as with all previous Stryper releases, proves to be an instant classic and surely will be a setlist staple on the upcoming tour cycle. You Don t Even Know Me and The Valley are excellent follow-ups to the glorious title track, with the latter being a true example of how heavy doesn't have to equate to fast. Later, Can't Live Without Your Love showcases that Sweet can still write ballad lyrics, but doesn't need the saccharine music popularize in 80s heavy metal to accompany it and can take it tasteful new directions. While only time well tell, pound for pound, this very well and truly might be Stryper s best album yet. As Frontiers said to Michael after he turned in the record, How are you going to top this?

Fans of the previous two releases, No More Hell To Pay and Fallen and of the band s classic early material will find much to love here as the band continues to push the envelope of their musical abilities.

Michael Sweet, vocals, guitar
Oz Fox, lead guitar, backing vocals
Perry Richardson, bass, backing vocals
Robert Sweet, drums

Established in southern California in 1983, multi-platinum crossover Christian metal band, Stryper, continues to share their positive message and energetic stage presence with a passionate following throughout the world. Since the band’s inception over 30 years ago, the founding members have stayed true to their deepest convictions, turning from “the ways of the world” and following their hearts instead.

“In the past 34 years, we’ve evolved into what we are now,” says vocalist and guitarist Michael Sweet. “This is what we always really wanted to be. I love the progression. The story of Stryper is that of an underdog. We seem to go against the grain with everything we do, and our fans tend to be the same – They’re good hardworking people who believe in love, respect, and not conforming to the ways of the world.” The members of Stryper have proven themselves as metal stalwarts, leaving an indelible mark on the genre with each new release. With such hits as “Calling On You,” “Free,” “Honestly,” and “Always There For You,” Stryper’s album sales now exceed over 10 million worldwide. Add to that one of the most successful Christian rock albums ever, 1986’s multi-platinum To Hell With The Devil, and the unique distinction of being the first band in history to notch two songs in MTV’s Top 10 with “Free” and “Honestly.”

The band has managed to leave an enduring impression on pop culture, as well. Singer Michael Sweet spent months trending online when he was identified as the doppelganger of 2016 presidential candidate Ted Cruz, who went on to discuss the comparison on an episode of Jimmy Kimmel Live! Several movies have paid homage to Stryper’s cultural significance, too, including Drew Barrymore’s “Whip It” and “Pain & Gain,” starring Mark Wahlberg and Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson.

Since returning from a 12-year hiatus in 2003, Stryper has managed to release new music annually. Their most recent full-length album, Fallen [Frontiers Music SRL], reached #44 on the Billboard Top 200 and #2 on the Top Hard Music Albums chart. The group is now recording their next original album, which is due in April of 2018 and promises to be their most groundbreaking yet.

This year will also bring Stryper back on the road, where they’ll have a chance to connect with fans, new and old. The line-up still features three of the original members, including singer songwriter Michael Sweet, his brother and drummer Robert Sweet, and guitarist Oz Fox. Recently, the group welcomed iconic bassist Perry Richardson (formerly of Firehouse), who will be joining them on tour.

“We’re excited about the next season of Stryper,” says Sweet. “ We have the best fans in the world and the band is at the top of its game musically and spiritually. We look forward to seeing everyone on the road.”

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO