Robert Schumann: Cellokonzert op.129 Sol Gabetta

Album info



Label: Sony Classical

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • Robert Schumann (1810 - 1856): 5 Stücke im Volkston, Op. 102:
  • 15 Stücke im Volkston, Op. 102: I. Mit Humor03:16
  • 25 Stücke im Volkston, Op. 102: II. Langsam03:21
  • 35 Stücke im Volkston, Op. 102: III. Nicht schnell, mit viel Ton zu spielen03:55
  • 45 Stücke im Volkston, Op. 102: IV. Nicht zu rasch01:49
  • 55 Stücke im Volkston, Op. 102: V. Stark und markiert03:08
  • Adagio und Allegro, Op. 70:
  • 6Adagio und Allegro, Op. 70: I. Adagio03:55
  • 7Adagio und Allegro, Op. 70: II. Allegro04:55
  • Fantasiestücke, Op. 73:
  • 8Fantasiestücke, Op. 73: I. Zart und mit Ausdruck03:09
  • 9Fantasiestücke, Op. 73: II. Lebhaft leicht03:20
  • 10Fantasiestücke, Op. 73: III. Rasch und mit Feuer04:14
  • Cello Concerto in A Minor, Op. 129:
  • 11Cello Concerto in A Minor, Op. 129: I. Nicht zu schnell11:04
  • 12Cello Concerto in A Minor, Op. 129: II. Langsam04:18
  • 13Cello Concerto in A Minor, Op. 129: III. Sehr lebhaft07:47
  • Total Runtime58:11

Info for Robert Schumann: Cellokonzert op.129

Schumann is the new album from the critically acclaimed, Grammy nominated cellist Sol Gabetta. This recording features a recording of Schumann’s cello concerto with the renowned Kammerorchester Basel under the direction of Giovanni Antonini. Sol Gabetta also teams up with the wonderful French pianist, Bertrand Chamayou to record Fantasy Pieces op. 73, the Adagio and Allegro op. 70 and the Five Pieces in Folk Style op. 102.  Sol Gabetta has performed at many prestigious venues across the globe including Wigmore Hall in London, Lucerne, Verbier, Schwetzingen and Rheingau festivals, Schubertiade Schwarzenberg and Beethovenfest Bonn. Gabetta has received many awards including the Herbert von Karajan prize awarded at the Salzburg Easter Festival and the Gramophone Young Artist of the Year Award in 2010.

Sol Gabetta, cello
Bertrand Chamayou, piano
Kammerorchester Basel
Giovanni Antonini, conductor

Sol Gabetta
The cellist Sol Gabetta was born in Cordoba, Argentina, in 1981 as the daughter of French and Russian parents. She was only ten when she won her first competition in Argentina, and has received many more awards since then: she won the Moscow Tchaikovsky Competition and the ARD Competition in Munich, and has been awarded the Natalia Gutman Prize. In 2004 she created an international sensation when, as winner of the Crédit Suisse Young Artist Award, she gave her début with the Vienna Philharmonic under Valery Gergiev at the Lucerne Festival.

From 1992–94 Sol Gabetta studied with a scholarship at the Escuela Superior de Musica Reina Sofia in Madrid, after which she moved to Switzerland to pursue further studies with Ivan Monighetti at the Basel Academy of Music. After further years of study with David Geringas, she took her concert exam in 2006 at the Hanns Eisler Musikhochschule in Berlin.

In the last few years, Sol Gabetta has made guest appearances with the Munich Philharmonic, the Vienna Symphony Orchestra, SWR Stuttgart, the National Symphony Orchestra of Washington, the Calgary and Seoul Philharmonics, the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, the Philadelphia Orchestra, the Detroit Symphony Orchestra, the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra and Het Residentie Orkest, the Trondheim Soloists and the orchestras of Euskadi, Teneriffa and Sevilla. She regularly gives concerts together with the Basel Chamber Orchestra.

Ms. Gabetta regularly appears at major festivals such as the Rheingau Music Festival, in Verbier, at the Menuhin Festival in Gstaad, the Schwetzingen Festival, the Bonn Beethoven Festival, the Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival, the Schwarzenberg Schubertiade and the Saratoga Festival. She has also founded her own chamber music festival in Switzerland with the name "Solsberg", where she performs together with her chamber music partners, who include Henri Sigfridsson, Mihaela Ursuleasa, Baiba and Lauma Skride and Patricia Kopatchinkskaya.

Sol Gabetta records exclusively on the RCA label (Sony Music). Her début CD featuring works by Tchaikovsky, Saint-Saëns and Ginastera, recorded with the Munich Radio Symphony Orchestra under Ari Rasilainen, shot straight to the top of the German classical charts, and brought the coveted Echo Klassik Prize for 2007 as instrumentalist of the year. Her second CD. with Vivaldi concertos recorded together with the Italian ensemble Sonatori de la Gioiosa Marca, was released in September 2007, and stayed in Germany's classical charts for over six months. 2008 saw the release of not one, but two CD's by Sol Gabetta. One featured a Shostakovich programme: the Cello concerto no.2 with the Munich Philharmonic Orchestra under Marc Albrecht, and the Sonata for cello & piano (with the pianist Mihaela Ursuleasa). The second CD is entitled "Cantabile" and contains opera arias and songs by Offenbach, Bizet, Tchaikovsky and others; on this album, Ms. Gabetta is accompanied by the Prague Philharmonic conducted by Charles Olivieri-Munroe. After it was released, the Shostakovich CD was awarded the coveted French music award Diapason d’Or by the clafssical music magazine Diapason and received the German Echo Klassik award 2009 as concerto recording of the year. In 2011 she received her third Echo Klassik award for her recording of the Elgar cello concerto.

A generous private grant from Hans K. Rahn enables Sol Gabetta to play one of the rare and valuable cellos built by G. B. Guadagnini; the instrument dates from 1759. She has held a teaching post at the Basel Academy of Music since October 2005.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO