Dreams Laid Down: New Music for Classical Guitar Alan Rinehart

Album info



Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 44.1 $ 15.00
  • Michael Karmon: Dreams Laid Down:
  • 1Dreams Laid Down: I. Swirl of Finches02:29
  • 2Dreams Laid Down: II. Change03:23
  • 3Dreams Laid Down: III. Wind Musician02:10
  • 4Dreams Laid Down: IV. Gateway02:50
  • 5Dreams Laid Down: V. If Nothing Else02:06
  • 6Dreams Laid Down: VI. Dreams Laid Down02:53
  • Richard Gibson:
  • 7Variations Sobre una Tema de Juan Lennon, Op. 8904:17
  • John Oliver: Ancient Heroes Suite:
  • 8Ancient Heroes Suite: I. Couperin's Ghost02:56
  • 9Ancient Heroes Suite: II. Pavanas of Milan02:59
  • 10Ancient Heroes Suite: III. Downland's Spanish Galliard03:08
  • 11Ancient Heroes Suite: IV. Sarabandas of Rumi05:01
  • 12Ancient Heroes Suite: V. Canarios de Gaspar04:45
  • 13Ancient Heroes Suite: VI. Passacaille04:33
  • William Beauvais: Beginning of the Day:
  • 14Beginning of the Day: I. —09:30
  • 15Beginning of the Day: II. —02:48
  • David Gordon Duke: Soliloquies and Dreams:
  • 16Soliloquies and Dreams: I. —01:20
  • 17Soliloquies and Dreams: II. —00:50
  • 18Soliloquies and Dreams: III. —00:52
  • 19Soliloquies and Dreams: IV. —00:39
  • 20Soliloquies and Dreams: V. —00:27
  • 21Soliloquies and Dreams: VI. —01:08
  • 22Soliloquies and Dreams: VII. —01:15
  • Total Runtime01:02:19

Info for Dreams Laid Down: New Music for Classical Guitar

Dreams Laid Down brings to life the works of several acclaimed composers, evoking a tender, reflective atmosphere. Inspired by sources from the Beatles to the poetry of Rinehart’s wife, the album creates an intimate aural experience that is as personal to the listener as it is to the artist himself.

The title track, composed by Michael Karmon, is named after a book of poems by Rinehart’s wife Janice Notland. Karmon animated six of her poems with thoughtful, evocative compositions. Contrast this with composer John Oliver’s Ancient Heroes Suite. Oliver, inspired by ancient music conventions, worked with dance-oriented rhythms in experimental time signatures that recall melodies resonating through ancient halls, while filtering them through a modern context.

Variaciones Sobre un Tema de Juan Lennon, written by New Brunswick composer Richard Gibson as a wedding gift for his daughter Julia, reimagines parts of a song originally written by John Lennon. Exploring shifts in key signatures, major and minor modes, and alternate harmonization, Gibson takes the pop song and breathes his unique perspective into it. The album is rounded out with works by two more well-established Canadian composers. Guitarist-composer William Beauvais contributes his improvisatory and rhythmic Beginning of the Day and Vancouver's David Gordon Duke explores the full range of guitaristic colors in his Soliloquies and Dreams.

Dreams Laid Down tenderly beckons for the listener’s attention with the lilting strains of classical guitar. Showcasing Rinehart’s inspired musical gifts, the gentle performance warmly invites audiences into a serene listening experience.

Alan Rinehart, classical guitar

Alan Rinehart
has over 45 years experience as a professional classical guitarist and has made many contributions to the guitar world as a performer, teacher, and music editor. Completing studies at Western Michigan University and a Professional Music Training Diploma from Vancouver Community College, he studied lute repertoire and technique in London, England at the Early Music Centre with some of the U.K.’s best known early musicians. From 1983 to 2003 he was a faculty member of the music schools at the University of British Columbia and Vancouver Community College. He is a co-founder of The Vancouver Guitar Quartet. They became a regular part of the Vancouver and Western Canadian music scene from the late 1980s to 2003, with many concert and radio appearances.

After a long time residency in Vancouver, B.C., he moved to Nelson, B.C. in 2004 where he hosted “the Art and Times of the Guitar”, a weekly one hour radio show devoted to classical guitar, for 11 seasons (176 shows) and was the coordinator of the 19th Northwest Guitar Festival, a 3 day event held in Nelson April 16-18, 2009. He currently lives in Kelowna, where he recently had the honour of performing for their Royal Highnesses the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge during their 2016 Royal Tour visit to BC.

He has released six solo albums and one release with the Vancouver Guitar Quartet that have received international critical praise. In 2017 he was nominated by Western Canada Music Awards for the Best Classical Artist award. His latest solo album, Verdi’s Guitar was recently picked by US based Classical Guitar Magazine as one of the top 10 recordings of the year.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO