Album info



Label: Challenge Records

Genre: Jazz

Subgenre: Modern Jazz

Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 48 $ 13.50
  • 1Bruin Bay07:38
  • 2Falling05:43
  • 3Interstellar02:21
  • 4Substellar04:19
  • 5Green02:33
  • 6Vagabond06:42
  • 7Chill05:53
  • 8Shadows07:01
  • 9The Times They Are A-Changin'07:16
  • Total Runtime49:26

Info for Red

Lithium is the brand-new result of a collaboration of four talented musicians and composers, combining resolve, energy and years of experience. Lithium’s music lives from different genres, all of which are rendered by its members into a strong, unique sound.

With many tours both as leader and with trumpet player and ECM artist Tomasz Stanko, pianist and composer Alexi Tuomarila has become a fixture in many European jazz projects. His fellow countryman, drummer Jonne Taavitsainen, is one of the jazz scene’s emerging talents. Joonas Tuuri plays double bass and electric bass. In his career as a bassist, he has played in many different formations. In his youth, Joonas studied music at the Central Karelia Music Institute in eastern Finland and today studies at the Sibelius Academy’s Jazz Department. The line-up is completed by the youngest band member, the Portuguese guitarist Andre Fernandes, who already has worked with a number of top artists such as Lee Konitz, Mário Laginha, Chris Cheek, Maria Joao, Tomasz Stanko, Bill McHenry, Perico Sambeat, Jeff Ballard, Julian Arguelles, David Binney, Avishai Cohen and Eli Degib.

Red confirms not one, but many things – that jazz is still very much alive and being played at the highest level, that this universal language unifies us, and that it is possible to renew and maintain tradition in 2018. (Chico Pinheiro)

Alexi Tuomarila, piano
André Fernandes, guitar
Jonne Taavitsainen, drums
Joonas Tuuri, double bass

Alexi Tuomarila
Finnish-born Alexi Tuomarila (b. 1974) is a well-known name in the European jazz scene both as a pianist and as a composer. With extensive touring behind him as a leader as well as a sideman, Tuomarila has become a regular in many European jazz projects.

Tuomarila started studying classical piano at an early age at the Espoo Music Academy, Finland, then later jazz and classical piano at the Royal Conservatory in Brussels from where he graduated with a Masters degree. Tuomarila has made a considerable impact in Europe winning numerous prizes and awards, including Monaco, Granada, Avignon and Brussels.

As a band leader Tuomarila's focus goes to the Alexi Tuomarila Trio and Drifter. The Alexi Tuomarila Trio he forms together with his long term associates and friends, bassist Mats Eilertsen and drummer Olavi Louhivuori. This Scandinavian trio's latest album, the critically acclaimed Seven Hills (Edition Records, UK), reignited the flare and drive that was evident on Tuomarila's earlier releases and pushed him firmly into the international jazz scene as one of the most exciting pianists of his generation. Drifter, a quartet formerly known as the Alexi Tuomarila Quartet, first came to international attention with the release of Voices of Pohjola in 1999 on the Belgian label Igloo/AMG. The success of the record resulted in Warner France signing the quartet for the release of their next album, O2.

Alexi Tuomarila is currently signed with Edition Records, UK. Tuomarila has released seven albums as a leader, all receiving worldwide attention and critical acclaim from the international press, fans and colleagues. Outside of his own projects, he has shared the stage with the likes of Tomasz Stanko, Kenny Wheeler, Rick Margitza, Joey Baron, Jim Black, Gerald Cleaver, Reuben Rogers, Eric Revis, Bill Evans, Peter Erskine, Anders Jormin, Perico Sambeat, Thomas Morgan, Reggie Washington, Trygve Seim, Andre Fernandes, Tore Brunborg, Nelson Veras and UMO Jazz Orchestra just to name a few.

Tuomarila is a member of several active projects, such as Tomasz Stanko Quintet, Andre Fernandes Dream Keeper, Mats Eilertsen SkyDive, Eero Koivistoinen Quartet, Manuel Dunkel Quartet, Lionel Beuvens Quartet and Skinny Jenny. He also performs as a solo pianist and has given solo concerts around Europe.

Jonne Taavitsainen
Young drummer Taavitsainen already has both of his active bands, Jonne Taavitsainen Threedom and Lithium signed on international record labels, the Dutch Challenge Records and German Ozella Music. Largely due to the success of the Lithium quartet with Alexi Tuomarila, André Fernandes and Joonas Tuuri, Taavitsainen's rhythmic creativity has bounced to international attention. He definitely is a name to watch!

Joonas Tuuri
is an up-and-coming young composer and bass-player. He plays both, upright and electric bass, and studies at the moment at Sibelius Academy. His currently active groups include Laura Annika Quartet Bowman Trio, Jonne Taavitsainen Threedom and Lithium. In the latter he plays alongside pianist Alexi Tuomarila.

André Fernandes
was born in Lisbon, Portugal. He is a very active guitar player having played/recorded with musicians like Lee Konitz, Mário Laginha, Chris Cheek, Maria João, Cyro Baptista, Ohad Talmor, Tomasz Stanko, Bernardo Sassetti, Dan Weiss, Pete Rende, Bill McHenry, Jochen Rueckert, Perico ​

Sambeat, Jeff Ballard, Julian Arguelles, David Binney, AviShai Cohen, Eli Degibri, Jorge Rossy, Carlos Barreto, Akiko Pavolka, Jarmo Savolainen, Phil Markowitz and João Paulo Esteves da Silva, amongst many others. ​

He is a regular member of the Orquestra Jazz de Matosinhos (OJM) with whom he has worked with Maria Schneider, Mark Turner, Joshua Redman, Maria João, John Hollenbeck and Maria Rita, to name a few.

He has played extensively in Europe, the USA, South America and Africa.

He was a member and did a number of tours with the Lee Konitz New Nonet, as well as with singer Maria João´s group, and alto Perico Sambeat´s group.

He has several released albums s a leader, and has played on more than 40 records to date.

His latest record, for british label Edition Records, is called “Dream Keeper” and features Perico Sambeat, Alexi Tuomarila, Demian Cabaud and Iago Fernandez.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO