Album info



Label: PentaTone

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Vocal

Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 15.00
DSD 64 $ 17.50
  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750):
  • 1Ich ruf' zu dir, Herr Jesu Christ, BWV 639 (Arr. H. Alfeyev for Orchestra)02:54
  • Ich habe genug, BWV 82:
  • 2Ich habe genug, BWV 82: I. Ich habe genug08:31
  • 3Ich habe genug, BWV 82: II. Ich habe genug! Mein Trost ist nur allein01:23
  • 4Ich habe genug, BWV 82: III. Schlummert ein, ihr matten Augen08:36
  • 5Ich habe genug, BWV 82: IV. Mein Gott! Wann kommt das schöne00:57
  • 6Ich habe genug, BWV 82: V. Ich freue mich auf meinen Tod03:45
  • Orchestral Suite No. 2 in B Minor, BWV 1067:
  • 7Orchestral Suite No. 2 in B Minor, BWV 1067: I. Ouverture07:52
  • 8Orchestral Suite No. 2 in B Minor, BWV 1067: II. Rondeau01:55
  • 9Orchestral Suite No. 2 in B Minor, BWV 1067: III. Sarabande03:11
  • 10Orchestral Suite No. 2 in B Minor, BWV 1067: IV. Bourrées I & II02:06
  • 11Orchestral Suite No. 2 in B Minor, BWV 1067: V. Polonaise & Double03:00
  • 12Orchestral Suite No. 2 in B Minor, BWV 1067: VI. Menuet01:12
  • 13Orchestral Suite No. 2 in B Minor, BWV 1067: VII. Badinerie01:21
  • Passacaglia & Fugue in C Minor, BWV 582:
  • 14Passacaglia & Fugue in C Minor, BWV 582 (Arr. H. Alfeyev for Orchestra)18:33
  • Total Runtime01:05:16

Info for Ich ruf' zu dir, Herr Jesu Christ

Russia’s foremost composer Metropolitan Hilarion Alfeyev’s compositions are noted for their deep spirituality and commitment. With this new release, he brings the same sense of awe and wonder to the music of Bach in a series of riveting performances, including the achingly beautiful solo cantata Ich habe genug and the ever-popular Orchestral Suite No. 2. The programme also contains Alfeyev’s breath-taking arrangements of Bach’s organ masterpieces Ich ruf’ zu Dir, Herr Jesu Christ and the colossal Passacaglia and Fugue in C minor.

Bach’s deceptively simple choral prelude, the plaintive Ich ruf’ zu Dir, Herr Jesu Christ, BWV 639 is a masterpiece of humility and restraint. In Alfeyev’s masterly arrangement, the voice of the supplicant is moved between different sections of the orchestra, underscoring the universality of the prayer. Bach’s most famous solo cantata, the haunting Ich habe genug, BWV 82, radiates a profound sense of resignation with its gentle swaying rhythms and exquisite writing for solo oboe; its central aria, Schlummert ein, ihr matten Augen, is an oasis of calm and transcendence with its warmly uplifting bass solo. In a somewhat lighter vein, Bach revels in his mastery of the French style in his Orchestral Suite No. 2 in B minor, BWV 1067, an irresistible collection of dances – both aristocratic and popular – which closes with a mischievous Badinerie. Resplendent with orchestral colour and powerful, full-throated brass, Alfeyev’s arrangement for full orchestra of the mighty Passacaglia and Fugue in C minor BWV 582 for organ is an enthralling conclusion to a compelling programme.

“Bach’s music is not a museum piece. Living in modern times, we have full rights to use the full scale of modern means of expression in order to translate to the listener the outstanding grandeur and timeless beauty of his music.” (Metropolitan Hilarion Alfeyev).

Stephan Genz, baritone
Alya Vodovozova, flute
Russian National Orchestra
Metropolitan Hilarion Alfeyev, conductor

Metropolitan Hilarion Alfeyev
is one of the most widely performed of all living Russian composers. Each of his new compositions constitutes a milestone in contemporary musical history. His ability to imbue his music with profound religious content, to unite diverse cultures and styles, to invent new ways of musical expression while remaining faithful to the centuries-old classical tradition, and to utter most profound themes using a simple and comprehensible musical language, singles him out among present-day composers.

Hilarion Alfeyev was born on 24 July 1966. After graduating from Moscow’s Gnessins School of Music where he studied violin and composition, he enrolled at the Moscow State Conservatory. In 1987 he was ordained as a priest, and since 2002 he has been a bishop of the Russian Orthodox Church. He has chaired the Department for External Church Relations of the Moscow Patriarchate since 2009, when he was elevated to the rank of Archbishop, and in 2010 he became a Metropolitan. He is the author of more than a thousand publications on theology, history and musicology, including thirty books which have been translated into more than twenty languages. His musical compositions include pieces for a cappella chorus, chamber works and monumental oratorios for soloists, choir and symphony orchestra. His most widely performed work, the St Matthew Passion (2006), has received worldwide recognition. Following its premiere in the Grand Hall of the Moscow Conservatory in March 2007, it has been performed more than seventy times in different countries by the most distinguished soloists, choirs and orchestras. Invariably it receives standing ovations from audiences at each concert. Equally well–received have been Metropolitan Hilarion’s subsequent works: a Christmas Oratorio for two choirs and symphony orchestra (2007), the symphony Song of Ascent and the more recently completed Stabat Mater.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2018 HIGHRESAUDIO