Beethoven: Symphony No. 3 - Méhul: Les Amazones: Overture Les Siècles & François-Xavier Roth

Cover Beethoven: Symphony No. 3 - Méhul: Les Amazones: Overture

Album info



Label: Harmonia Mundi

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Artist: Les Siècles & François-Xavier Roth

Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827), Etienne-Nicolas Mehul (1763-1817)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 44.1 $ 13.70
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 - 1827): Symphony No. 3 in E-Flat Major, Op. 55 "Eroica":
  • 1Symphony No. 3 in E-Flat Major, Op. 55 "Eroica": I. Allegro con brio15:58
  • 2Symphony No. 3 in E-Flat Major, Op. 55 "Eroica": II. Marcia funebre. Adagio assai14:28
  • 3Symphony No. 3 in E-Flat Major, Op. 55 "Eroica": III. Scherzo. Allegro vivace - Alla breve - Tempo primo05:29
  • 4Symphony No. 3 in E-Flat Major, Op. 55 "Eroica": IV. Finale. Allegro molto - Poco andante - Presto10:58
  • Etienne Nicolas Méhul (1763 - 1817):
  • 5Les Amazones ou La Fondation de Thèbes: Overture. Adagio - Allegro agitato07:19
  • Total Runtime54:12

Info for Beethoven: Symphony No. 3 - Méhul: Les Amazones: Overture

Continuing their exploration of Beethoven's symphonies, François-Xavier Roth and Les Siècles give us an opportunity to rediscover the Eroica in all its modernity and power. Thanks to the magic of period timbres, Beethoven’s intended instrumental balances and effects are restored in revelatory fashion. The overture to Méhul’s opera Les Amazones, written eight years later, will be a discovery for many listeners. This time it was a French composer who established a further milestone in the new aesthetic of Romanticism.

Les Siècles
François-Xavier Roth, conductor

Les Siecles & Francois-Xavier Roth
Formed in the summer of 2003 by François-Xavier Roth, Les Siècles comprises outstanding young players pooled from the very finest French ensembles. Roth’s founding ambition was for his orchestra to offer a new approach, not only to repertoire but also to the nature of the concert form.

With a vast period-instrument collection at its disposal, spanning the baroque, classical, romantic and modern eras, the orchestra’s repertoire is notably wide in range. Les Siècles is one of a small number of ensembles to employ period and modern instruments, playing each repertoire on appropriate instruments. Its flexible and historically informed work delivers a unique strand of creative programming. François-Xavier Roth and the musicians of Les Siècles have made a distinctive mark at home and abroad, presenting an orchestra for the 21st century. They have given well over 600 performances in France alone, including regular performances in Paris Philharmonie and appearances at leading festivals throughout France. In addition to its work in France, Les Siècles is increasingly visible on the international scene. Its global profile has been magnified in recent seasons with concerts in Belgium, the Netherlands, Luxembourg, London, Germany, Portugal, Italy, China and Japan.

Les Siècles are associated artist in Paris Philharmonie.

Les Siècles are also in residency in the Aisne department, associated artist at La Cité de la Musique de Soissons and give regularly concerts in Sénart, Nîmes, Amiens, Caen, Royaumont, La Côte-Saint-André, Aix-en-Provence and in other places as London (BBC Proms, Royal Festival Hall), Amsterdam (Concertgebouw), Berlin (Konzerthaus), Bremen, Bruxelles (Klara Festival), Montecarlo, Wiesbaden, Köln, Luxembourg, Tokyo, Essen… Their recordings of the three Stravinsky’s ballets (L’Oiseau de Feu, Petrouchka et le Sacre du Printemps) received the Jahrespreis 2015 der Deutschen Schallplatten Kritik and won the Edison Klassiek award in Holland. Their Debussy disc was elected Sunday Times Disc of the year and Editor’s choice in the BBC Music Magazine and Gramophone. In march 2017, Les Siècles started to work with Harmonia Mundi label for their last release : Ravel’s Daphnis & Chloé. The disc received many awards : Gramophone Editor’s choice june 2017, Rondo Magazin CD des Monats may 2017, Music web international recording of the month, 5 stars of Diapason, FFFF of Télérama, Le choix de France Musique, la Clé du mois de Resmusica, The Arts Desk Cd of the week, Supersonic Pizzicato, Top Mezzo, Limelight magazine’s five stars.

The musicians of Les Siècles propose regularly several educational actions in schools, hospitals, retirement homes and prisons. The orchestra is partner of Jeune Symphonie de l’Aisne, Jeune Orchestre Européen Hector Berlioz and Demos (musical and social educational project) in Hauts-de-France and Île-de-France. The orchestra is one of the initiator of “Music in the hospital” project proposed in the pediatric haematology-oncology Trousseau Hospital’s service in Paris. He also created an educational residency in La Petite Bibliothèque Ronde de Clamart. Les Siècles are also the creator and the main feature of the TV show « Presto » which has been broadcast regularly on France 2 since 2007. Mécénat Musical Société Générale is the main sponsor of Les Siècles.

The orchestra is also financed by the French Ministère de la Culture et de la Communication and DRAC Hauts-de-France. Since 2011, the orchestra is supported by the Département de l’Aisne to reinforce its artistic and educational presence on this territory, especially in the Cité de la Musique de Soissons. The orchestra regularly performs in Hauts-de-Seine with the support of the city of Nanterre. Les Siècles is resident orchestra in Théâtre-Sénart of Lieusaint, and associated artist in Théâtre de Nîmes, Théâtre du Beauvaisis, Les Musicales de Normandie festival and the Berlioz Festival of La Côte-Saint-André.

The orchestra is sponsored by the Palazzetto Bru Zane-Centre de musique romantique française, the Echanges and Bibliothèques association and occasionally by the SPEDIDAM, ADAMI, Bureau Export, Institut Français, SPPF and FCM.

Les Siècles is administrator member of the FEVIS and the Association Française des Orchestres, then associated member of SPPF.

Booklet for Beethoven: Symphony No. 3 - Méhul: Les Amazones: Overture

© 2010-2021 HIGHRESAUDIO