Mozart: Die Zauberflöte (The Magic Flute) (Remastered) Otto Klemperer

Cover Mozart: Die Zauberflöte (The Magic Flute) (Remastered)

Album info



Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756 - 1791): Die Zauberflöte, K. 620:
  • 1Overture07:17
  • Act 1:
  • 2Zu Hilfe! Zu Hilfe! (Tamino, Ladies)06:54
  • 3Der Vogelfànger bin ich ja (Papageno)02:42
  • 4Dies Bildnis ist bezaubernd schön (Tamino)04:11
  • 5O zittre nicht, mein lieber Sohn! (Queen of the Night)05:12
  • 6Hm! hm! hm! hm! (Papageno, Tamino, Ladies)06:46
  • 7Du feines Täubchen, nur herein! (Monostatos, Pamina, Papageno)01:56
  • 8Bei Männern, welche Liebe fühlen (Pamina, Papageno)03:32
  • 9Zum Ziele führt dich diese Bhan (Boys, Tamino, Voice, Speaker, Chorus)10:06
  • 10Wie stark ist nicht dein Zauberton! (Tamino)02:55
  • 11Schnelle Füsse, rascher Mut (Pamina, Papageno, Monostatos, Slaves)02:35
  • 12Könnte jeder brave Mann (Pamina, Papageno, Chorus)00:40
  • 13Es lebe Sarastro (Chorus, Pamina, Sarastro)05:05
  • 14Nun, stolzer Jüngling, nur hierher! (Monostatos, Pamina, Tamino, Chorus, Sarastro)03:36
  • Act 2:
  • 15March of the Priests04:08
  • 16O Isis und Osiris (Sarastro, Chorus)03:16
  • 17Bewahret euch vor Weibertücken (Two Priests)01:07
  • 18Wie? wie? wie? (Ladies, Papageno, Tamino, Chorus)03:22
  • 19Alles fühlt der Liebe Freuden (Monostatos)01:23
  • 20Der Hölle Rache kocht in meinem Herzen (Queen of the Night)03:10
  • 21ln diesen heil'gen Hallen (Sarastro)04:49
  • 22Seid uns zum zweiten mal willkommen (Boys)01:53
  • 23Ach, ich fühl's... (Pamina)04:09
  • 24O Isis und Osiris! (Chorus)03:12
  • 25Soll ich dich, Teurer! (Pamina, Sarastro, Tamino)03:16
  • 26Ein Mädchen oder Weibchen (Papageno)04:16
  • 27Bald prangt, den Morgen zu verkünden (Boys, Pamina)06:21
  • 28Der, welcher wandelt diese Strasse voll Beschwerden (Two armed men, Tamino, Pamina)05:14
  • 29Tamino mein! O welch ein Glück! (Pamina, Tamino, Two armed men, Chorus)07:00
  • 30Papagena! (Papageno, Boys)05:36
  • 31Pa-pa-gena! Pa-pa-geno! (Papageno, Papagena)02:49
  • 32Nur stille.... (Chorus, Monostatos, Queen of the Night, Ladies)02:11
  • 33Die Strahlen der Sonne... (Sarastro, Chorus)03:03
  • Total Runtime02:13:42

Info for Mozart: Die Zauberflöte (The Magic Flute) (Remastered)

Otto Klemperer brings his customary nobility of conception to Die Zauberflöte, with its symbolic drama, and is joined by an exceptional cast. Gundula Janowitz sings Pamina with sublime beauty and the young Lucia Popp is brilliant as the Queen of the Night, the role that first made her reputation.

„Not the least extraordinary thing about this wonderful blend of the sublime and the humane is that it draws from all musicians the best of which they are capable...This issue is specially commended to those who are after the mystery and elevation of The Magic Flute“ (Gramophone)

Nicolai Gedda, tenor (Tamino)
Gundula Janowitz, soprano (Pamina)
Lucia Popp, soprano (Queen of the Night)
Gottlob Frick, bass (Sarastro)
Walter Berry, bass (Papageno)
Philharmonia Orchestra und Chorus
Otto Klemperer, conductor

Digitally remastered

Otto Klemperer
The German conductor Otto Klemperer (1885-1973) was born in Breslau (now Wroclaw, Poland). He studied at the Frankfurt Conservatory, then at Berlin's Klindworth-Scharwenka Conservatory, where he took lessons in composition and conducting from Pfitzner, making his debut in Berlin in 1906 with Offenbach's Orphée aux enfers. On Mahler's recommendation he became chorus master then conductor at Prague's German Theatre (1907-10); between 1910 and 1917 he worked at the opera houses of Hamburg, Bremen and Strasbourg; he was musical director at Cologne (1917-24), Wiesbaden (1924-27) and Berlin's Kroll Opera (1927–31), but left Nazi Germany in 1933, eventually settling in the USA, where he became conductor of the Los Angeles Philharmonic (1933-39).

After a brain tumour operation in 1939 his career faltered until he became director of the Hungarian State Opera (1947-50). In the 1950s and 60s he achieved great success, largely through his association with the Philharmonia Orchestra in London and his recordings for EMI. In 1959 he was appointed the Philharmonia's 'conductor for life'. His last concert was in September 1971. Many of Klemperer's fine EMI recordings are available in the Great Recordings of the Century series.

Booklet for Mozart: Die Zauberflöte (The Magic Flute) (Remastered)

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO