The Unknown Galaxy: A Century of Classical Mormon Music Scott Holden

Cover The Unknown Galaxy: A Century of Classical Mormon Music

Album info



Label: Tantara Records

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Instrumental

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 13.50
  • Arthur Shepherd (1880 - 1958):
  • 1From a Mountain Lake05:18
  • Leroy Robertson (1896 - 1971):
  • 2Étude in G Minor02:27
  • James McConkie (1921 - 1953):
  • 3Sonatina: I. Allegro moderato04:28
  • Merrill Bradshaw (1929 - 2000):
  • 4Toccata05:40
  • Laurence Lowe (b.1956):
  • 5Musings...and a Waltz08:36
  • David H. Sargent (b.1941):
  • 6Musings on Chopin08:03
  • Jeff Manookian (b.1953):
  • 7Concert Paraphrase on Bach's "Jesus bleibet meine Freude"08:49
  • Douglas Pew (b.1980):
  • 8A la Orilla Azul del Silencio: I. Llueve05:36
  • 9A la Orilla Azul del Silencio: IV. ¿Ahí Está el Mar?04:39
  • Leilei Tian (b. 1971):
  • 10Silence compris08:34
  • Francisco Estévez Díaz (b.1945):
  • 1119+1 Nanopreludes (Excerpts): No. 1, Respeto00:45
  • 1219+1 Nanopreludes (Excerpts): No. 2, Libertad00:25
  • 1319+1 Nanopreludes (Excerpts): No. 3, Generosidad00:38
  • 1419+1 Nanopreludes (Excerpts): No. 4, Gratitud01:04
  • 1519+1 Nanopreludes (Excerpts): No. 5, Dignidad00:37
  • 1619+1 Nanopreludes (Excerpts): No. 20, Amor01:46
  • Ethan Wickman (b.1973):
  • 17Occidental Psalmody07:40
  • Lisa Despain (b.1965):
  • 18Toccata for Jazz Piano03:40
  • Total Runtime01:18:45

Info for The Unknown Galaxy: A Century of Classical Mormon Music

This album reflects the musical trends of the last one hundred years by highlighting the diversity of the composers that have sprung from the large demographic of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (often referred to as the Mormon or LDS Church). In addition, it focuses on music that showcases the expressive and virtuosic potential of the piano. There is a small but relatively unknown galaxy of repertoire deserving attention in this specific genre, and pianist Scott Holden was thrilled for the opportunity to turn attention to it. Holden writes, "None of the music presented here has any overt connections with the usual musical traditions or doctrine of the LDS faith. However, one must admit that the spiritual beliefs and experiences of the composers have deeply infused their creative processes. Does this define these pieces as LDS music or simply music by LDS composers? I agree with author Madeleine L'Engle, who stated in Walking on Water, 'There is nothing so secular that it cannot be sacred, and that is one of the deepest messages of the Incarnation.' To create is to touch upon the divine. The result is powerful, mystical, visceral, ecstatic, imaginative, and deeply moving, but it certainly is not your grandmother's typical recital of 'LDS Music.'"

Scott Holden, piano

Scott Holden
“Scott Holden plays with obvious commitment…and limpid lyricism…he tackles the keyboard acrobatics fearlessly,” writes Fanfare Magazine. Commitment, lyricism, and fearless acrobatics characterize Holden’s career. A solo pianist, champion collaborator, devoted teacher and adjudicator, Scott Holden’s dedication to the art and study of pianism is prevalent across the scope of his work.

Holden debuted in Carnegie Hall after winning first prize in the 1996 Leschetizky New York Debut Piano Competition. He has performed in over forty states (including at The Kennedy Center and Alice Tully Hall), Canada, Mexico, England, Russia (Svetlanov Hall), throughout Europe, and in multiple Asian countries including China, Singapore, and Vietnam. He has been broadcast on NPR, NBC, CBC, as well as numerous local networks. His enthusiastic support of contemporary music has led to a variety of premieres, including William Wallace’s Second Piano Concerto with Keith Lockhart and the Utah Symphony of which The Salt Lake Tribune wrote, “Mr. Holden secured the stage in a virtuosic performance…We were torn between examining every new note passing by our ears, and Holden’s pianistic acrobatics. It was a wonderful dilemma.” Holden will return to Carnegie Hall to play a solo recital in June 2018, featuring multiple world premieres. Holden has recorded for Parma, Bridge, Tantara and NAXOS Records. His most recent CD, Beyond Vernon Duke, was given the highest five-star rating and received praise, “Holden exhibits profoundly musical readings with obvious commitment and great attention to detail.”

A sought-after pedagogue, Holden’s students have been prizewinners in numerous competitions, including top prizes at MTNA and Gina Bachauer. His students are regularly accepted to the leading graduate programs in the nation. He travels extensively to adjudicate and give master classes at festivals and pedagogy workshops around the world and has contributed to various publications, including both volumes of “The Pianist’s Craft” which has been published domestically and, more recently, in China.

Holden holds degrees from the University of Michigan (BM), The Juilliard School (MM), and The Manhattan School of Music (DMA). He studied at The Liszt Academy in Budapest as a Fulbright Scholar. Major teachers have included Arkady Aronov, Martin Canin, Charles Fisher, Arthur Greene, András Kemenes, Nina Lelchuk, and Ferenc Rados. He currently chairs the Keyboard Studies department at Brigham Young University and is a faculty member at Summer Performing Arts with Juilliard in Geneva, Switzerland.

Holden lives in the mountains of Utah with his wife and four children. When not at the piano, he can be found cycling, building things with wood, and adventuring among the red rocks of the Southwest.

Booklet for The Unknown Galaxy: A Century of Classical Mormon Music

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO