Bach: Cantates pour la Pentecôte Montreal Baroque Orchestra & Eric Milnes

Cover Bach: Cantates pour la Pentecôte

Album info



Label: ATMA Classique

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Vocal

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 44.1 $ 13.50
  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750): Also hat Gott die Welt geliebt, BWV 68:
  • 1I. Also hat Gott die Welt geliebt04:14
  • 2II. Mein gläubiges Herze03:41
  • 3III. Ich bin mit Petro nicht vermessen00:41
  • 4IV. Du bist geboren mir zugute03:19
  • 5V. Wer an ihn gläubet, der wird nicht gerichtet02:13
  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750): Erhöhtes Fleisch und Blut, BWV 173:
  • 6I. Erhöhtes Fleisch und Blut00:35
  • 7II. Ein geheiligtes Gemüte03:21
  • 8III. Gott will, o ihr Menschenkinder01:54
  • 9IV. So hat Gott die Welt geliebt03:52
  • 10V. Unendlichster, den man doch Vater nennt01:02
  • 11VI. Rühre, Höchster, unsern Geist02:12
  • Ich Liebe Den Höchsten von ganzem Gemüte, BWV 174:
  • 12I. Sinfonia05:34
  • 13II. Ich liebe den Höchsten von ganzem Gemüte09:08
  • 14III. O Liebe, welcher keine gleich01:05
  • 15IV. Greifet zu, faßt das Heil03:56
  • 16V. Herzlich lieb hab ich dich, o Herr01:29
  • Erwünschtes Freudenlicht, BWV 184:
  • 17I. Erwünschtes Freudenlicht03:05
  • 18II. Gesegnete Christen, glückselige Herde06:36
  • 19III. So freuet euch, ihr auserwählten Seelen01:43
  • 20IV. Glück und Segen sind bereit03:54
  • 21V. Herr, ich hoff je, du werdest die00:59
  • 22VI. Guter Hirte, Trost der Deinen02:22
  • Total Runtime01:06:55

Info for Bach: Cantates pour la Pentecôte

Seven Sundays after Easter Sunday, the religious holiday of Pentecost begins. Pentecost focuses on the idea that Jesus was not sent to judge the world, rather, he was sent to save it. Bach’s cantatas BWV 68, 173, 174, and 184 were all written for this holiday, and all are featured on this new release. This release is the sixth album in ATMA’s venture to record the sacred cantatas of Bach alongside the Montreal Baroque Festival. Using the latest scholarship on the original performances of Bach’s works, this cycle has been performed with historical techniques in mind. For example, the choral sections are performed by the four soloists with one singer per part.

Montréal Baroque
Eric Milnes, direction
Monika Mauch, soprano
Pascal Bertin, countertenor
Charles Daniels, tenor
Jean-Claude Sarragosse, bass
Susie Napper, co-direction
Mathias Maute, co-direction

Montreal Baroque Orchestra
Founded in 1989, the Montreal Baroque Orchestra, which is specialized in the performance of repertoires dating from the seventeenth century to the beginning of the nineteenth, offers a panorama of orchestral and vocal music from the Baroque, Classical and pre-Romantic periods through thematic concerts.

Conducted from the keyboard (harpsichord, organ or fortepiano) by Joël Thiffault and able to expand up to fifty musicians depending on the works performed, the Montreal Baroque Orchestra plays on period instruments in order to assemble all the elements necessary to render baroque music in all its grandeur and magnificence.

The careful preparation of concerts based on the most recent musicological studies and the musicians' conviction combined with their conductor's ardour, contribute to deliver the works in all their splendour, and assures the listener of an unforgettable musical experience.

The Montreal Baroque Orchestra was extremely well received during their tours of France in 1989 and 1990, participated in the International Festival of Lanaudière (Québec) in 1992 and performed for the Montreal Urban Community in 1993. As well, the MBO has played on Radio-Canada FM.

Since its inception, the Montreal Baroque Orchestra has played for over eighty thousand people and has given about three hundred performances in Montreal, throughout Quebec, Belgium, France, Mexico and Turkey.

Booklet for Bach: Cantates pour la Pentecôte

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO