Bach: Pour l'éternité – Cantatas, BWV 4, 106, 9 & 181 The Montreal Baroque & Eric Milnes

Cover Bach: Pour l'éternité – Cantatas, BWV 4, 106, 9 & 181

Album info



Label: ATMA Classique

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Vocal

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 13.50
  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750): Christ lag in Todes Banden, BWV 4:
  • 1Sinfonia01:17
  • 2Versus 1: Christ lag in Todes Banden (Chorus)03:48
  • 3Versus 2: Duet: Den Tod niemand zwingen kunnt (Soprano, Alto)04:11
  • 4Versus 3: Air: Jesus Christus, Gottes Sohn (Tenor)02:02
  • 5Versus 4: Es war ein wunderlicher Krieg (Chorus)02:24
  • 6Versus 5: Air: Hier ist das rechte Osterlamm (Bass, Chorus)03:14
  • 7Versus 6: Duet: So feieren wir das hohe Fest (Soprano, Tenor, Chorus)01:30
  • 8Versus 7: Chorale: Wir essen und wir leben wohl (Chorus)00:54
  • Gottes Zeit ist die allerbeste Zeit, BWV 106 "Actus tragicus":
  • 9Sonatina02:33
  • 10Arioso - Aria: Gottes Zeit ist die allerbeste Zeit - Arioso: Ach Herr, lehre uns bedenken (Tenor) - Bestelle dein Haus (Bass) - Es ist der alte Bund (Bass, Soprano)08:40
  • 11Aria: In deinen hande befehle ich meinen Geist (Alto) - Aria: Heute wirst du mit mir im Paradies sein (Bass, Alto)06:32
  • Glorie, Lob, Ehr und Herrlichkeit:
  • 12Glorie, Lob, Ehr und Herrlichkeit (Chorus)02:39
  • Es ist das Heil uns kommen her, BWV 9:
  • 13Es ist das Heil uns kommen her (Chorus)04:58
  • 14Recitative: Gott gab uns ein Gesetz (Bass)01:10
  • 15Aria: Wir waren schon zu tief gesunken (Tenor)06:08
  • 16Recitative: Doch musste das Gesetz erfullet werden (Bass)01:07
  • 17Duet: Herr, du siehst statt guter Werke (Soprano, Alto)07:03
  • 18Recitative: Wenn wir die Sund aus dem Gesetz erkennen (Bass)01:16
  • 19Chorale: Ob sich's anliess, als wollt er nicht (Chorus)00:51
  • Leichtgesinnte Flattergeister, BWV 181:
  • 20Aria: Leichtgesinnte Flattergeister (Bass)03:04
  • 21Recitative: O ungluckselger Stand verkehrter Seelen (Alto)01:29
  • 22Aria: Der schadlichen Dornen unendliche Zahl (Tenor)02:38
  • 23Recitative: Von diesen wird die Kraft erstickt (Soprano)00:38
  • 24Lass, Hochster, uns zu allen Zeiten (Chorus)04:37
  • Total Runtime01:14:43

Info for Bach: Pour l'éternité – Cantatas, BWV 4, 106, 9 & 181

Pour l’éternité is volume 7 of ATMA cycle of J.S. Bach’s sacred cantatas and as the title suggests, these works evoke the quest for the great beyond. Cantata BWV 4 (Christ lay in the bonds of death) was written for Easter Sunday. Composed for the sixth Sunday after Trinity, cantata BWV 9 (Salvation now has come for all) is a choral cantata. Unlike the cantatas composed for Sunday liturgy, Cantata BWV 106 (God’s time is the very best time, posthumously named Actus tragicus), is a setting of Biblical and other texts selected to serve as a meditation on the death of Christ. Written for the Sexagesima Sunday (the second Sunday before Ash Wednesday), the short cantata BWV 181 (Light-minded frivolous spirits) promises the salvation of the believer.

Montréal Baroque:
Eric Milnes, conductor
Susie Napper, artistic director
Odéi Bilodeau, soprano
Elaine Lachica, soprano
Philippe Gagné, tenor
Drew Santini, baritone

Eric Milnes
is Director of New York Baroque, Artistic Director and Conductor of The Trinity Consort, Portland, Oregon, harpsichordist with The New York Collegium, Ensemble Rebel and Les Boréades, and Director of Music at St. John's of Lattingtown Episcopal Church in New York. He has performed at the Boston Early Music Festival, the Berkeley Bach Festival, the Utrecht (Holland) Festival, and the New England Bach Festival, and in every major North American and European city. His performances have been broadcast on WNCN, New York, WQXR, New York, WBGN, Boston, National Public Radio, the CBC, and Norwegian, Swedish and German state radio stations. Mr. Milnes has recorded for a number of labels, including ATMA.

The Montreal Baroque
ensemble brings together some of Montreal's finest early music performers. The ensemble was created especially for the Montreal Baroque Festival, which has taken place annualy in scenic Old Montreal. An initiative of Montreal gambist and cellist Susie Napper, the Montreal Baroque Festival is held over four days at the end of June ever since 2003. Thanks to her exceptional charisma and mild extravagance, Susie Napper, fittingly nominated “Personality of the Year 2002” by the Conseil Québécois de la Musique, has succeeded in developing a truly exciting and popular cultural event.

Booklet for Bach: Pour l'éternité – Cantatas, BWV 4, 106, 9 & 181

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO