Cover Long Time Ago

Album info



Label: Alpha

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Vocal

Artist: Adèle Charvet & Susan Manoff

Composer: Madeleine Dring (1923-1977), Roger Quilter (1877-1953), Aaron Copland (1900-1990), Ralph Vaughan Williams (1872-1958), Benjamin Britten (1913-1976), Samuel Barber (1910-1981), Glen Roven (1958-2018)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 11.30
  • Aaron Copland (1900 - 1990):
  • 1Old American Songs II: II. Zion's Walls02:02
  • 2Old American Songs I: III. Long Time Ago02:22
  • Ralph Vaughan Williams (1872 - 1958):
  • 3The House of Life: II. Silent Noon03:42
  • Benjamin Britten (1913 - 1976):
  • 4Fish in the Unruffled Lakes: II. Night Covers up the Rigid Land02:32
  • 5Four Cabaret Songs: III. Johnny04:00
  • Samuel Barber (1910 - 1981):
  • 6Despite and Still, Op.41: IV. Solitary Hotel02:42
  • Glen Roven (1958 - 2018):
  • 7The Santa Fe Songs: II. Listening to Jazz01:53
  • Jake Heggie (b. 1961):
  • 8Songs to the Moon I: V. The Moon's the North Wind's Cooky01:46
  • William Bolcom (b. 1938):
  • 9Cabaret Songs Vol.1: VI. Amor03:11
  • 10Cabaret Songs Vol.1: IV. Waitin01:45
  • Benjamin Britten:
  • 11Four Cabaret Songs: II. Funeral Blues02:16
  • Aaron Copland:
  • 12Twelve Poems of Emily Dickinson: V. Heart, We will Forget Him!02:04
  • Samuel Barber:
  • 13Hermit Songs, Op.29: X. The Desire for Hermitage03:24
  • Charles Ives (1874 - 1954):
  • 14114 Songs: XII. Remembrance00:57
  • Samuel Barber:
  • 15Four Songs, Op.13: IV. Nocturne03:10
  • Gerald Finzi (1901 - 1956):
  • 16I Said to Love, Op.19b: III. Two Lips01:05
  • Samuel Barber:
  • 17Four Songs, Op.13: III. Sure on This Shining Night02:23
  • 18Four Songs, Op.13: II. The Secrets of the Old01:11
  • Madeleine Dring (1923 - 1977):
  • 19Song of a Nightclub Proprietress02:45
  • Jake Heggie:
  • 20Natural Selection: II. Animal Passion03:18
  • Charles Ives:
  • 21114 Songs: 108. Songs My Mother Taught Me02:38
  • Roger Quilter (1877 - 1953):
  • 227 Elizabethan Lyrics, Op.12: I. Weep You No More02:12
  • Samuel Barber:
  • 23Old American Songs II: IV. At the River02:48
  • Total Runtime56:06

Info for Long Time Ago

The young mezzo-soprano Adèle Charvet joins Alpha for several projects. In 2017 she received the Prize of the Verbier Festival Academy. While she has already attracted attention in the opera house, Adèle Charvet is also passionately interested in the song repertory. For her first album, she has devised a very personal programme, deriving in part from her musical partnership and friendship with the pianist Susan Manoff. Both of them have drawn on their New York childhoods: ‘Long Time Ago weaves together the threads of our lives’, says Susan. Adèle continues: ‘The musical journey is immense, from the central repertory of American music – Barber, Copland, Ives – to cabaret songs (Heggie, Bolcom), with a detour by way of England: Britten, Vaughan Williams... For example, Jake Heggie’s Amor describes the journey across the city of a faux-naïf sex maniac. The police, the ice cream vendor, the gospel choir all shout “AMOR!” when they see him. Samuel Barber’s Solitary Hotel is like an Edward Hopper painting in music; Aaron Copland’s At the River invites pilgrims to the church meeting: “Yes, we’ll gather at the river”...The programme unfolds like a wheel, a cycle that traverses the cardinal points of a life.’

Adele Charvet, mezzo-soprano
Susan Manoff, piano

No albums found.

No biography found.

Booklet for Long Time Ago

© 2010-2021 HIGHRESAUDIO