Rachmaninov, Shostakovich & Denisov Victor Julien-Laferrière & Jonas Vitaud

Album info



Label: Alpha

Genre: Classical

Artist: Victor Julien-Laferrière & Jonas Vitaud

Composer: Sergej Rachmaninov (1873–1943), Dmitri Shostakovich (1906–1975), Edison Denisov

Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 192 $ 13.20
  • Dmitri Shostakovich (1906 - 1975): Cello Sonata in D Minor, Op. 40:
  • 1Cello Sonata in D Minor, Op. 40: I. Allegro non troppo11:52
  • 2Cello Sonata in D Minor, Op. 40: II. Allegro03:14
  • 3Cello Sonata in D Minor, Op. 40: III. Largo08:04
  • 4Cello Sonata in D Minor, Op. 40: IV. Allegro04:05
  • Edison Denisov (1929 - 1996):
  • 5Variations on a Theme by Schubert13:37
  • Sergei Rachmaninov (1873 - 1943):Cello Sonata in G Minor, Op. 19:
  • 6Cello Sonata in G Minor, Op. 19: I. Lento. Allegro moderato13:52
  • 7Cello Sonata in G Minor, Op. 19: II. Allegro scherzando06:28
  • 8Cello Sonata in G Minor, Op. 19: III. Andante05:41
  • 9Cello Sonata in G Minor, Op. 19: IV. Allegro mosso10:34
  • Total Runtime01:17:27

Info for Rachmaninov, Shostakovich & Denisov

The winner of the very first Queen Elisabeth Competition for cellists in Brussels in 2017, Victor Julien-Laferrière also received the Victoire de la Musique Classique in 2018 in the category ‘Soloist of the Year’. His chamber recordings with the pianist Adam Laloum have won numerous awards, including a Diapason d’Or of the Year in 2016. Victor Julien-Laferrière now joins Alpha Classics for several recordings. The French cellist, who studied successively with Roland Pidoux, Heinrich Schiff and Clemens Hagen, has decided to record two peaks of his instrument’s repertory, the sonatas of Rachmaninoff and Shostakovich, alongside the pianist Jonas Vitaud, with whom he enjoys a close rapport. They have given this programme in concert together on many occasions. A rare piece by Russian composer Edison Denisov completes the album: the Variations on a Theme by Schubert, composed in 1986.

Victor Julien-Laferriere, cello
Jonas Vitaud, piano

No albums found.

No biography found.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO