Erlebach: Complete Trio Sonatas L'Achéron & François Joubert-Caillet

Cover Erlebach: Complete Trio Sonatas

Album info



Label: Ricercar

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Artist: L'Achéron & François Joubert-Caillet

Composer: Philipp Heinrich Erlebach (1657-1714)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 13.20
  • Philipp Heinrich Erlebach (1657 - 1714): Sonata quarta in C Major:
  • 1Sonata quarta in C Major: I. Sonata (Grave - Vivace - Adagio)03:14
  • 2Sonata quarta in C Major: II. Allemande (Grave)02:05
  • 3Sonata quarta in C Major: III. Courante01:35
  • 4Sonata quarta in C Major: IV. Sarabande & variatio02:43
  • 5Sonata quarta in C Major: V. Gique (Prestò)01:25
  • Sonata sesta in F Major:
  • 6Sonata sesta in F Major: I. Sonata (Affetuoso - Allegro - Grave)04:01
  • 7Sonata sesta in F Major: II. Allemande02:13
  • 8Sonata sesta in F Major: III. Courante01:04
  • 9Sonata sesta in F Major: IV. Sarabande & variatio01:20
  • 10Sonata sesta in F Major: V. Gique (Vivace & prestò)01:45
  • Sonata quinta in B-Flat Major:
  • 11Sonata quinta in B-Flat Major: I. Sonata ([Grave] - Allegro - Adagio)01:45
  • 12Sonata quinta in B-Flat Major: II. Allemande02:45
  • 13Sonata quinta in B-Flat Major: III. Courante01:07
  • 14Sonata quinta in B-Flat Major: IV. Sarabande & variatio03:12
  • 15Sonata quinta in B-Flat Major: V. Gique01:13
  • Sonata prima in D Major:
  • 16Sonata prima in D Major: I. Sonata (Adagio - Allegro - Affettuoso)04:43
  • 17Sonata prima in D Major: II. Allemande02:08
  • 18Sonata prima in D Major: III. Courante01:14
  • 19Sonata prima in D Major: IV. Sarabande & variatio03:00
  • 20Sonata prima in D Major: V. Gique01:19
  • Sonata seconda in E Minor:
  • 21Sonata seconda in E Minor: I. Sonata (Adagio - Allegro - Adagio)04:07
  • 22Sonata seconda in E Minor: II. Allemande01:41
  • 23Sonata seconda in E Minor: III. Courante01:09
  • 24Sonata seconda in E Minor: IV. Sarabande02:45
  • 25Sonata seconda in E Minor: V. Gique (Prestò)01:32
  • Sonata III in A Major:
  • 26Sonata III in A Major: I. Sonata (Adagio - Allegro - Lento)02:11
  • 27Sonata III in A Major: II. Allemande02:58
  • 28Sonata III in A Major: III. Courante01:33
  • 29Sonata III in A Major: IV. Sarabande01:46
  • 30Sonata III in A Major: V. Ciaconna - Final (Lento - Tremolo adagissimo)05:25
  • Total Runtime01:08:58

Info for Erlebach: Complete Trio Sonatas

In 1694 Philipp Heinrich Erlebach, kapellmeister at the court of Count Schwarzburg-Rudolstadt, published a collection of trio sonatas for a typical German ensemble of the period: violin, viola da gamba, and bass continuo. Pairing the violin with the viola da gamba seems to exemplify the fusion of Italian and French musical traditions, and this same fusion is found in the forms of these compositions, with an Italianate sonata followed by a suite of French dances a model that Johann Sebastian Bach would later recall. These sonata-suites are endowed with undeniable charm and an infectious liveliness, and François Joubert-Caillet, with his ensemble L Achéron, give us a particularly seductive interpretation of them.

Francois Joubert-Caillet, viola da gamba, direction

François Joubert-Caillet
After studying the recorder, piano and double bass, François Joubert-Caillet studied the viola da gamba with Paolo Pandolfo at the Schola Cantorum Basiliensis, where he equally studied baroque improvisation with Rudolf Lutz. He was awarded First Prize as well as the Public's Award at the Bruges International Chamber Music competition.

François Joubert-Caillet has played with numerous formations with whom he has recorded for the labels Ricercar, Harmonia Mundi, Ambronay, K617, ZigZag Territoires, Arcana, Winter&Winter, Aparté, Glossa, Sony, Naïve, etc.

François Joubert-Caillet leads L'Acheron with which he performs in several formations, in particular the viol consort. His CDs Le Nymphe di Rheno (Johannes Schenck) in duo with Wieland Kuijken, The Fruit of Love (Anthony Holborne), the Ludi Musici (Samuel Scheidt), Fancies for the viols (Orlando Gibbons) and the Ouvertures of Johann Bernhard Bach are released by Ricercar - Outhere.

Since the autumn of 2014, François Joubert-Caillet has begun recording the complete works of Marin Marais Pièces de Viole for Ricercar : this huge project (five books, over 600 pieces, about 20 CD's), saw the light in 2016 with a CD of Pièces Favorites and the 1st Book was released in the spring 2017 (Diapason d'Or & Choc de Classica)!

In Greek mythology Acheron is the river that Orpheus crossed to rescue Eurydice from the underworld. As itsname implies, L’Achéron wants to open a path between two apparently opposed worlds: that of the living and that of the dead, the past and the present, idealism and reality.

Created in 2009 by François Joubert-Caillet, L’Achéron is made up of a young generation of musicians from veryvaried backgrounds, all of them having studied in some of the best known schools for ancient music (Schola Cantorum Basiliensis, the Paris and Lyon National Conservatories, the Royal Music Conservatories of Brussels and The Hague, etc.). Some of these musicians have other artistic talents : acting, theatre direction, contemporary as well as renaissance and baroque dancing, writing, drawing, improvisation, pupeteering, instrument making and sound mixing, make up the range of passions present in the group.

L’Achéron seeks to strengthen ties between the musicians and the public by making ancient music more accessible, without denaturing it but to the contrary, by exploring the variety of musical instruments and genres of the renaissance and baroque periods. By trying to render the many nuances of this rich and vibrant music, L’Achéron proposes a journey through time and the senses where the flavours of the past are brought to life.

Initially L’Achéron was a viola da gamba consort and has worked since 2013 in collaboration with the instrument maker Arnaud Giral on the construction of a typically English consort. Until now, five instruments have been brought to life, giving the consort a unique cohesion and harmonic depth. A virginals and an positive organ will join them soon…

L’Achéron regularly works with artists from other spheres : in L’Orgue du Sultan, it collaborated with the ensemble Sultan Veled in a meeting between elizabethan and ottoman musics, the Lachrimæ Lyræ with the master of greek lyra Sokratis Sinopoulos ; it will also take part in an album of electronic music with DJ Marc Romboy and Tamar Halperin.

L’Achéron is regularly invited to perform in various festivals and musical seasons in Europe such as Saintes, Sablé and Royaumont Festivals, Auditorium du Louvre, Tage Alter Musik Regensburg, Festival Bach de Lausanne, Bruges’ Concertgebouw, Oude Muziek Utrecht, Warsaw Philharmonie, etc.

L’Achéron records for Ricercar – Outhere and has released so far The Fruit of Love devoted to Anthony Holborne, the Ludi Musici by Samuel Scheidt (winner of the Diapason d’Or), Johann Caspar Kerll’s Requiem with the ensemble Vox Luminis, Ouvertures by Johann Bernhard Bach (Echo Klassik), Pièces Favorites by Marin Marais from whom François Joubert-Caillet started to record the integrality of the Pièces de Viole (the 1st Book has been awarded by a Diapason d’Or and a Choc de Classica). Last release in october 2017 : Fancies for the viols by Orlando Gibbons, used by Robert Carsen in his Tempest by William Shakespeare at the Comédie Française.

Booklet for Erlebach: Complete Trio Sonatas

© 2010-2021 HIGHRESAUDIO