Album info



Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 88.2 $ 12.00
  • 1Jaamm Rek05:00
  • 2Cães à Solta06:28
  • 3Sweetie05:32
  • 4Singla05:38
  • 5Improviso I01:28
  • 6Triple Ripple05:47
  • 7Improviso II02:20
  • 8Juróom04:33
  • 9The 3 J's07:03
  • 10Improviso III01:40
  • 11La Graziela04:34
  • 12Silêncio04:14
  • Total Runtime54:17

Info for Atlântico

Atlântico is the second album from the European jazz super-trio of Julian Argüelles, Mário Laginha and Helge Andreas Norbakken. Effortless, flowing and lyrical, the trio melds together worlds of folk song, powerful African groove with the American tradition and a sophisticated European jazz sensibility.

Full of musical empathy and enthusiasm, these musicians are true masters: European legends in the making. Having worked with the luminaries of the past (John Taylor, Kenny Wheeler, Dudu Pukwana, Carla Bley, Jon Hassell), all three are reinforcing this legacy, and continuing the vibrant European Jazz tradition.

For each of the three musicians the jazz life has been thrown upside down since they all started out on their musician journey in the 90’s. For each of them this music represents not only a moment in time – as composers and performers – but defines and deepens their sense of purpose. As Julian explains:

‘This trio is so much more than a project band. We have all known each other for many, many years and it’s that respect, friendship and companionship that informs the music. We all share similar influences, history and interests in Art and culture. As a result the music flows with little effort.’

Mário Laginha, piano
Julian Argüellesm, soprano and tenor saxophone
Helge Andreas Norbakken, percussion

L.A.N. Trio
produces an effortless blend of contemporary jazz and classical music, with Portuguese Fado, Spanish folk and Norwegian space. The group’s syncopated rhythms and skilful improvisation has led to them being hailed as a key European jazz group.

The L.A.N. Trio features superstar Portuguese pianist, Mário Laginha, British saxophonist legend Julian Argüelles and phenomenal Norwegian percussionist Helge Norbakken.

Mário Laginha is one of Portugal’s most respected, creative contemporary jazz musicians. Known firstly for his collaborations with fellow Portuguese jazz singer Maria João, with whom he recorded over a dozen discs and toured worldwide. Other famed (selected) collaboration work includes a duo with classical pianist Pedro Burmester which was extended to trio with the late pianist and film composer Bernardo Sassetti . Mário continues to explore new paths for jazz and Portuguese music.

Award-winning saxophonist and composer Julian Argüelles plays a unique mix of exciting British contemporary jazz infused with Spanish rhythms, South African grooves, brass band and classical influences. An exceptionally gifted musician, he has been compared to sax legends Wayne Shorter and Charles Lloyd (Jazzwise), while his on-stage chemistry with the Julian Argüelles Quartet has been likened to Keith Jarett’s renowned 1970s line-up (UK Vibe).

Helge Andreas Norbakken is one of Scandinavia’s most renowned percussionists. He started playing internationally with the Mari Boine Band and went on to work with Maria Joao, Jon Balke, Kari Brenmes, Ayub Ogada and an impressive list of Norwegian and international musicians. He has developed his unique, distinctive percussion style through sound research, hand-made instruments and merging of timbres.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2021 HIGHRESAUDIO