K.A. Hermann: Complete Piano Music Nicolas Horvath

Cover K.A. Hermann: Complete Piano Music

Album info



Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 88.2 $ 13.50
  • Karl August Hermann (1851-1909):
  • 1Summer Evening at Twilight02:20
  • 2Emotional Dream02:31
  • 3The Combat of Life02:16
  • 4Winter and Spring01:22
  • 5National Waltz of the Estonians01:28
  • 6Out of Breath!03:09
  • 7Varied and Modulated Estonian Tune04:10
  • 8The Solution to the Puzzle02:03
  • 9Estonian Folksong02:36
  • 10Song of Summer01:35
  • 11Funny Hans' Wedding01:33
  • 12Estonian Waltz01:01
  • 13Humming, Horn and Bagpipe Song01:39
  • 14Thoughts of Life02:44
  • 15Musical Thought02:36
  • 16Festival March03:08
  • 17Waltz Mood01:38
  • 18Andantino in A Major03:58
  • 19Album Leaf02:20
  • 20Allegretto in F Major01:42
  • 21Lost Glove00:45
  • 22Concert-Étude in C Major02:42
  • 23Sad and Happy01:41
  • 243 Characteristic Pieces: No. 1, Per aspera ad astra01:52
  • 253 Characteristic Pieces: No. 2, In hilaritate04:02
  • 263 Characteristic Pieces: No. 3, Polca futura02:46
  • Total Runtime59:37

Info for K.A. Hermann: Complete Piano Music

2018 sees the centenary of Estonian independence. One of the main figures in the 'national awakening' in the half-century that preceded independence was Karl August Hermann (1851-1909). Hermann was indefatigable: he was a linguist, journalist, choir-leader, song-writer, historian, literary philologist, encyclopaedist and more. As a composer he is known only for his choral songs, but French pianist Nicolas Horvath has discovered the scores of his 26 surviving piano pieces. This first recording reveals them to be charming salon miniatures, blending echoes of Chopin and Grieg with the essence of Estonian folksong.

Nicolas Horvath, piano

Nicholas Horvath
Considered to be an out-of-the-ordinary artist with an unconventional résumé, Nicolas Horvath began his music studies at the Académie de Musique Prince Rainier III de Monaco. At 16, Lawrence Foster took notice of him in a concert and, securing a three year scholarship for him from the Princess Grace Foundation, was able to invite him to the Aspen Music Festival. After his studies in the École Normale de Musique in Paris, he worked for three years with Bruno-Léonardo Gelber, Gérard Frémy who instilled in him a sensitivity to music of our time as well as Eric Heidsieck, Gabriel Tacchino, Nelson Delle-Vigne, Philippe Entremont and Oxana Yablonskaya. Leslie Howard got to know him and invited him to perform before the Liszt Society in the United Kingdom, dedicating to him his 23rd Etude in Black and White. Thanks to Leslie Howard, Nicolas was able to deepen and supplement his knowledge of the works of Franz Liszt..

A contemporary music enthusiast, he works for Régis Campo, Denis Levaillant, Jaan Rääts, Kazuo Missé, Thérèse Brenet, Frederick Martin... He did world premiere from more than 100 composers and he is the dedicator of more than 50 pieces (concertos, sonatas, etude, toccata, prelude...).

He performs as soloist with the Orchestre Philharmonique de Monte- Carlo, the Palm Beach Symphony Orchestra, The Kiev Soloists orchestra, the Nice Ensemble Instrumental and in festivals such as the Palm Beach Atlantic Piano Festival, Gabala Piano Festival, BSI Monte-Carlo Music Master, Canto XL, Palais de Tokyo 2nd Season. . Winner of almost a dozen of international competitions, he was awarded 4th Prize and Special Franz Liszt Prize at the Yokohama International Competition which takes place in the famous Minato Mirai Hall; 2nd Prize at Fukuoka which enabled him to participate in the Nishin-Nihon Debut Recital Series; First Prize in the American Protégé which opened the doors for him to Carnegie Hall’s Weill Hall...

In 2014, Nicolas Horvath will perform during a single concert, all the 5 Liszt concertos with an original theme -a world premiere- with the Monte-Carlo Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by Leslie Howard. The release of his first cd «Franz Liszt's Christus» (first complete recording at the Hortus Editions) had a great press reception.

He is updating Terry Riley's legendary 'All Night Concerts' with uncompromising avant-garde programs such as the 'Night of Minimal Piano', the 'Complete Philip Glass piano music' or the 'Complete Erik Satie piano music including the Vexations'. He also did a 35 hours solo non-stop version of the Satie's Vexations.

Nicolas is also an electroacoustic composer and enjoy to work with painters and video artists.

Forthcoming projects include the world premiere recording of LaMonte Young cult piece X for Henry Flynt for Sub Rosa, the recording of the complete Philip Glass piano music for Naxos - Grand Piano label, and the complete Erik Satie piano music for Sheva Collection.

Booklet for K.A. Hermann: Complete Piano Music

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO