Gershwin at the Keyboard Ivar Anton Waagaard

Album info



Label: Lawo Classics

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Instrumental

Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 48 $ 13.50
  • George Gershwin (1898 - 1937):
  • 1Swanee00:51
  • 2Nobody but You00:55
  • 3I`ll Build a Stairway to Paradise00:37
  • 4Do it Again01:27
  • 5Fascinating Rhythm00:57
  • 6Oh, Lady be Good01:06
  • 7Somebody Loves Me01:03
  • 8Sweet and Low Down01:06
  • 9That Certain Feeling01:15
  • 10The Man I Love02:05
  • 11Clap yo' Hands00:55
  • 12Do Do Do01:01
  • 13My one and only00:53
  • 14S Wonderful01:02
  • 15Strike up the Band01:01
  • 16Liza02:40
  • 17I Got Rhythm01:18
  • 18Who Cares01:21
  • 19Rhapsody in Blue15:30
  • 20Rialto Ripples02:10
  • 21Impromptu in Two Keys01:22
  • 22Prelude No. 101:28
  • 23Prelude No. 2 Blue Lullaby02:45
  • 24Prelude No. 3 Spanish Prelude01:08
  • 25Prelude Melody No. 1701:55
  • 26Prelude Rubato01:02
  • 27Prelude Novelette in Fourths02:50
  • 28Jazzbo brown02:59
  • 29Merry Andrew01:30
  • 30Three-Quarter Blues00:45
  • 31Promenade02:56
  • 32Two Waltzes in C04:22
  • Total Runtime01:04:15

Info for Gershwin at the Keyboard

This collection includes pieces from “Gershwin at the Keyboard” (Originally called George Gershwin’s Songbook), as well as some of his piano preludes. Containing some of the composer’s most popular songs from shows and musicals, we have favourites such as Fascinating Rhythm, The Man I Love and ‘S Wonderful. Waagaard is an Associate Professor at the Norwegian Academy of Music.

Ivar Anton Waagaard, piano

Ivar Anton Waagaard
is Associate Professor of Accompaniment at the Norwegian Academy of Music. He has toured throughout Norway, in a number of European countries, and in the USA, with, among others, singers Solveig Kringlebotn and Anne Lise Berntsen, and classical harmonica player Sigmund Groven. He has performed a number of times at the Bergen International Festival and appeared at the Northern Lights Festival in Tromsø, the Oslo Chamber Music Festival, the Vestfold International Festival, the Røros Winter Chamber Music Festival, the Festival of St. Olav in Trondheim, the Trondheim International Chamber Music Competition, the Arts Festival of North Norway (Harstad), and the Nordland Music Festival.

Waagaard has recorded two CDs on the Euridice label with singer Svein Bjørkøy: Songs of Øystein Sommerfeldt and David Monrad Johansen: The Complete Songs. In 2009 Over the Piano: American Cabaret Songs with Tora Augestad was released on the Grappa label, and a CD release of Norwegian music for two pianos with pianist Jorunn Marie Bratlie is planned for 2011.

From 1995-2007 Waagaard was the regular accompanist for the Queen Sonja International Music Competition, and he has served as répétiteur at the Oslo National Academy of the Arts and the Norwegian National Opera and Ballet.

Among those with whom Waagaard has performed in concert are Ole Edvard Antonsen, Arve Tellefsen, Truls Mørk, Aage Kvalbein, Randi Stene, Elizabeth Norberg-Schulz, Per Vollestad, and Isa Gericke. He has participated in hundreds of radio and television broadcasts, contributed to several dozen CD recordings, and played music for films and radio and television theatre. He has also served as orchestra pianist for the Norwegian Radio Orchestra on numerous occasions.Waagaard's experience as pianist spans a variety of genres from musical and cabaret to revues and other forms of musical theatre. Musical artists with whom he has given concerts include Mari Maurstad, Hildegun Riise, Kari Bremnes, Lars Klevstrand, Geirr Lystrup, Olle Adolphson, Maj Britt Andersen, Inger Lise Rypdal, and Jannike Kruse.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO