Grażyna Bacewicz: Complete Violin Sonatas Annabelle Berthomé-Reynolds & Ivan Donchev

Cover Grażyna Bacewicz: Complete Violin Sonatas

Album info



Label: MUSO

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Artist: Annabelle Berthomé-Reynolds & Ivan Donchev

Composer: Grazyna Bacewicz (1909-1969)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 13.20
  • Grazyna Bacewicz (1909 - 1969): Sonata for violin and piano No. 5:
  • 1Sonata for violin and piano No. 5: I. Moderato05:18
  • 2Sonata for violin and piano No. 5: II. Nokturn. Andante dolcissimo02:26
  • 3Sonata for violin and piano No. 5: III. Finale. Allegro inquietamente05:43
  • Sonata for violin and piano No. 3:
  • 4Sonata for violin and piano No. 3: I. Allegro moderato04:48
  • 5Sonata for violin and piano No. 3: II. Adagio03:48
  • 6Sonata for violin and piano No. 3: III. Scherzo. Vivo03:47
  • 7Sonata for violin and piano No. 3: IV. Finale. Andante04:49
  • Sonata for violin and piano No. 1 "Sonata da Camera":
  • 8Sonata for violin and piano No. 1 "Sonata da Camera": I. Largo03:00
  • 9Sonata for violin and piano No. 1 "Sonata da Camera": II. Allegro02:24
  • 10Sonata for violin and piano No. 1 "Sonata da Camera": III. Tempo di minuetto02:21
  • 11Sonata for violin and piano No. 1 "Sonata da Camera": IV. Andante sostenuto02:30
  • 12Sonata for violin and piano No. 1 "Sonata da Camera": V. Gigue. Molto allegro02:07
  • Sonata for solo violin No. 2:
  • 13Sonata for solo violin No. 2: Adagio - Allegro06:02
  • 14Sonata for solo violin No. 2: Adagio02:40
  • 15Sonata for solo violin No. 2: Presto02:12
  • Partita for violin and piano:
  • 16Partita for violin and piano: I. Preludium. Grave04:27
  • 17Partita for violin and piano: II. Toccata. Vivace03:20
  • 18Partita for violin and piano: III. Intermezzo02:39
  • 19Partita for violin and piano: IV. Rondo. Presto03:25
  • Sonata for violin and piano No. 2:
  • 20Sonata for violin and piano No. 2: I. Allegro04:11
  • 21Sonata for violin and piano No. 2: II. Andante04:14
  • 22Sonata for violin and piano No. 2: III. Scherzo. Vivace03:24
  • 23Sonata for violin and piano No. 2: IV. Finale. Allegro molto03:25
  • Sonata for solo violin No. 1:
  • 24Sonata for solo violin No. 1: I. Allegro05:31
  • 25Sonata for solo violin No. 1: II. Adagio04:39
  • 26Sonata for solo violin No. 1: III. [...]04:43
  • 27Sonata for solo violin No. 1: IV. Variazioni07:47
  • Sonata for violin and piano No. 4:
  • 28Sonata for violin and piano No. 4: I. Moderato05:37
  • 29Sonata for violin and piano No. 4: II. Andante ma non troppo04:13
  • 30Sonata for violin and piano No. 4: III. Scherzo. Molto vivace03:41
  • 31Sonata for violin and piano No. 4: IV. Finale. Con passione05:49
  • Total Runtime02:05:00

Info for Grażyna Bacewicz: Complete Violin Sonatas

To celebrate the 50th anniversary of Grażyna Bacewicz’s death, Annabelle Berthomé-Reynolds and Ivan Donchev have recorded her complete Sonatas and Partitas for violin. This is vivacious, sensitive, mischievous music that recalls the gentleness of the interwar period and is a wonderful reflection of the genius of one of the greatest Polish composers of the mid-20th century.

Annabelle Berthomé-Reynolds, violin
Ivan Donchev, piano

Annabelle Berthomé-Reynolds
After her studies in the UK – music performance at the Royal Academy of Music in London, then pedagogy at the University of Cambridge, French violinist Annabelle Berthomé-Reynolds has performed in numerous festivals, both in France and abroad: Folle Journée, Nuit Musicale de Seneffe, St John’s Smith Square… Her playing is characterised by a delicate sensitivity, which is somewhat reminiscent of her first mentor’s, Lydia Mordkovitch, and a solid technique, perhaps one of the most beautiful legacies of her professor Hu Kun, Yehudi Menuhin’s longtime student.

From her debuts, Annabelle Berthomé-Reynolds was singled out to study with many of the best musicians, namely Sir Colin Davis, Yan-Pascal Tortelier, Louis Langrée, Ami Flammer, George Pehlivanian, Philippe Herreweghe, Jaap van Zweden, Thomas Brandis, Régis Pasquier, Charles Frey, Kenneth Kiesler, Trevor Pinnock, Josep Pons or even Günter Pichler.

Annabelle Berthomé-Reynolds likes to bring to light forgotten works, namely the ones of exceptional women like Ethel Barns, Grazyna Bacewicz and Mary Howe, for whom she has ensured some works are re-printed. A keen chamber music player, she can be heard in a contemporary repertoire within the Longbow Ensemble led by Peter Sheppard-Skaerved under the labels Naxos, Toccata Classics or even Metier Records.

In parallel to her concerts, Annabelle Berthomé-Reynolds is also a outstanding violin professor (Licentiate of the Royal Academy of Music, 2004 and Laureate of the French National Teaching Competition, 2013). She is a pedagogy consultant for the Belgian Council for Education (CECP) and gives regular training courses for music teachers and directors throughout Belgium. A self-regulated learning specialist, she is also a learning profile test practitioner for all publics including non-musicians and analyses cognitive neuro-dominance – the use and behaviour of the brain’s hemispheres – for students and business professionals. In 2016, she was appointed as Professor of Violin and Chamber Music at the Departmental Conservatoire of Music in Roubaix, France.

In 2016, she launched her first personal album, Con Slugarocko, thus paying a special tribute to Charles Ives and his amazing 4 Sonatas for Violin and Piano (White label, February 2016). Critically acclaimed worldwide, the music is regularly broadcast on the radio in France, the Netherlands, the USA (New York: WKCR 89,9 FM), Brazil and Australia.

Forthcoming engagements include the recording of the Complete Sonatas for Violin & Piano by Polish woman composer Grazyna Bacewicz, with pianist Ivan Donchev, in a double album for Muso label. In the next season, she plans in particular to record Philip Glass’ 2nd Violin Concerto. Her collaborations with contemporary composers are considerable : Nicolas Bacri, David Chaillou, Nimrod Borenstein, Karl Fiorini, John Hopkins to name but a few. Numerous are those who are writing for Annabelle Berthomé-Reynolds given how her capacity to immerse herself in the musical universe of all fascinates and inspires (solos, sonatas, concertos…).

Annabelle Berthomé-Reynolds currently lives in Brussels where she enjoys a busy cultural life, long-distance running, 5 Rythms dance and her young family.

Grazyna Bacewicz
Born in Lódz (Poland) Grazyna Bacewicz is the most eminent inheritor of the 19th century violinist-composers in the lineage of her compatriot and predecessor Henryk Wieniawski. She was one of the most important composers of the mid-20th century, a remarkable concert artiste who left a catalogue of over 200 works, including five Sonatas and a Partita for violin and piano as well as two solo violin sonatas that feature in this boxset commemorating the 50th anniversary of her death. Her style is close to the French neoclassicism of the interwar period, though she increases its vitality and clarity while infusing it with a blend of delicacy and highly individual rigor. All her works reveal rhythmic sophistication and a characteristic approach to metre, a juxtaposition of exuberance and lyricism. In short, music that is vivacious, sensitive and mischievous; the composer excelled in her treatment of a stringed instrument while in parallel drawing out the lines of a piano part bristling with life. The French violinist Annabelle Berthomé-Reynolds loves rare, powerful scores. She has imbued herself with this music and with her partner the Bulgarian pianist Ivan Donchev, they both fill this music with vitality and poetry to make this boxset a real discovery and already a classic interpretation.

Booklet for Grażyna Bacewicz: Complete Violin Sonatas

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO