The People's Purcell Michael Slattery & La Nef

Cover The People's Purcell

Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Label: ATMA Classique

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Vocal

Das Album enthält Albumcover Booklet (PDF)


Formate & Preise

FormatPreisIm WarenkorbKaufen
FLAC 96 $ 14,90
  • Henry Purcell (1659-1695):
  • 1Now That the Sun Hath Veiled His Light, Z. 193 "An Evening Hymn on a Ground" (Arr. M. Slattery)04:53
  • 2She Loves and She Confesses Too, Z. 413 (Arr. G. Jeay)04:31
  • 3More Love or More Disdain I Crave, Z. 397 (Arr. M. Slattery)03:07
  • 4Oedipus, King of Thebes, Z. 583: Music for a While (Arr. G. Jeay)05:11
  • 5The Fairy Queen, Z. 629: Prelude (Arr. S. Dagher & A. Keesmaat for Chamber Ensemble)03:07
  • 6The Fairy Queen, Z. 629: Come All Ye Songsters of the Sky (Arr. G. Jeay)02:31
  • 7The Fairy Queen, Z. 629: Hornpipe (Arr. S. Dagher & A. Keesmaat for Chamber Ensemble)02:49
  • 8Let Each Gallant Heart, Z. 390 (Arr. M. Slattery)03:43
  • 9Ah! How Pleasant 'Tis to Love, Z. 353 (Arr. S. Dagher)02:29
  • 10Abdelazer, Z. 570: IX. Jig (Arr. G. Jeay for Chamber Ensemble)03:16
  • 11King Arthur, Z. 628 "The British Worthy": Fairest Isle (Arr. M. Slattery)04:52
  • 12King Arthur Suite (Arr. A. Keesmaat for Chamber Ensemble)04:42
  • 13The Fairy Queen, Z. 629: When I Have Often Heard (Arr. M. Slattery)02:35
  • 14The Indian Queen, Z. 630: I Attempt from Love's Sickness (Arr. M. Slattery)03:15
  • 15The Fairy Queen, Z. 629: If Love's a Sweet Passion (Arr. G. Jeay)04:11
  • 16Dido & Aeneas, Z. 626: When I Am Laid in Earth (Arr. M. Slattery)05:07
  • Total Runtime01:00:19

Info zu The People's Purcell

The People's Purcell vereinigt den Tenor Michael Slattery und die Gruppe La Nef, um einige der schönsten Werke von Henry Purcell (1659-1695) aufzuführen.

Purcells umfangreiches Werk ist ein fruchtbarer Boden für musikalische Entdeckungen, auch wenn es auf der barocken Tradition basiert. The People's Purcell lädt die Zuhörer ein, diese Musik auf eine neue Art und Weise zu hören. Die Barocklieder von Purcell mit Shruti-Box (Surpeti), Erzlaute, Cister, Flöte, Schlüsselgeige, Barockvioline, Viola, Cello und Viola da Gamba nehmen in diesen neuen Arrangements von Michael Slattery, Grégoire Jeay, Sean Dagher und Amanda Keesmaat einen unkonventionellen Charakter an. Wie schon bei ihrem vorherigen Album nehmen sich La Nef und Michael Slattery kreative Freiheiten bei der Musik Henry Purcells. 'Im Laufe der Zeit habe ich gelernt, die Tiefe der Feinheiten und die Vielfalt von Purcells musikalischer Sprache zu hören, jedes Mal mit neuem Vergnügen. Mit diesem Album laden wir die Zuhörer ein, Purcell in einem Licht zu entdecken, das er unserer Meinung nach sehr geschätzt hätte ', sagt Sylvain Bergeron, Artistic Director von La Nef.

La Nef wurde 1991 in Montreal gegründet und produziert und vertreibt Konzerte, multidisziplinäre und multimediale Shows, physische und digitale Alben, Musikgeschichten und CD-Bücher. Sein breites Repertoire umfasst alte und frühe Musik, die Musik der mündlichen Überlieferungen, Weltmusik und experimentelle und zeitgenössische Ansätze des musikalischen Schaffens.

Michael Slattery, tenor, shruti-box
La Nef
Sylvain Bergeron, archlute
Seán Dagher, cittern
Grégoire Jeay, flute
Amanda Keesmat, baroque cello
Alex Kehler, nyckelharpa, baroque violin
Ellie Nimeroski, viola, baroque alto
Elin Soderstrom, viola da gamba

Michael Slattery
made his New York Philharmonic debut singing the Serenade for Tenor, Horn, and Strings on Benjamin Britten’s 100th birthday. He rejoined the Philharmonic the following season as the tenor soloist in Handel’s Messiah. His critically acclaimed English translation of J.S. Bach’s St. John Passion was performed this season at Carnegie Hall to celebrate the 75th anniversary of Robert Shaw’s Collegiate Chorale, now MasterVoices. Career highlights include the title role in Bernstein’s Candide at Royal Festival Hall in London; J.S. Bach’s B-minor Mass with Iván Fischer and the National Symphony Orchestra; Peter Sellars’ Tristan Project with Esa-Pekka Salonen, and Philip Glass’s Akhnaten with John Adams- both with the Los Angeles Philharmonic; the title role in Monteverdi’s L’Orfeo at the Théâtre du Châtelet in Paris; and the Monteverdi Vespers of 1610 at the Berlin Staatsoper. He has recorded an impressive number of Handel’s works: Saul with Rene Jacobs for Harmonia Mundi; and Acis and Galatea, Atalanta, Samson, and Solomon with Nicholas McGegan. Recent projects include Robert Carsen’s production of Britten’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream for the Festival d’Aix-en-Provence and Olivier Py’s production of Britten’s Curlew River with Opéra de Lyon.

La Nef
Founded in Montréal in 1991, La Nef creates, produces, and distributes concerts, multimedia and multidisciplinary shows, physical and digital albums, musical tales, and CD-books. Its activities are aimed at audiences of all ages. Its wide-ranging repertoire includes early music, the music of oral traditions, world music, and experimental and contemporary approaches to musical creation. According to the approach chosen, its performances integrate theater, movement and dance, visual arts, video, and now, with advances in technology, digital arts. All these elements contribute to the high artistic quality, stylistic diversity, and distinctive character that are the company’s unique signature. Over the course of years, La Nef has presented its shows in North and South America, Europe, and Asia. Often nominated or listed as a finalist for its concerts, shows, discs, and CD-books, La Nef counts Opus, ADISQ, and CFMA prizes among its many awards and distinctions.

Booklet für The People's Purcell

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO