Pennario Plays Piano Music by Dvorak, Tchaikovsky, Rachmaninoff, Debussy, Gershwin and More (Remastered) Leonard Pennario

Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Label: RCA Red Seal

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Instrumental

Das Album enthält Albumcover

Entschuldigen Sie bitte!

Sehr geehrter HIGHRESAUDIO Besucher,

leider kann das Album zurzeit aufgrund von Länder- und Lizenzbeschränkungen nicht gekauft werden oder uns liegt der offizielle Veröffentlichungstermin für Ihr Land noch nicht vor. Wir aktualisieren unsere Veröffentlichungstermine ein- bis zweimal die Woche. Bitte schauen Sie ab und zu mal wieder rein.

Wir empfehlen Ihnen das Album auf Ihre Merkliste zu setzen.

Wir bedanken uns für Ihr Verständnis und Ihre Geduld.


  • Antonín Dvorák (1841 - 1904):
  • 18 Humoresques, Op. 101, No. 7 in G-Flat Major (Remastered)03:06
  • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840 - 1893):
  • 22 Pieces, Op. 10, No. 2: Humoresque (Remastered)02:23
  • Sergei Rachmaninoff (1873 - 1943):
  • 37 Morceaux de salon, Op. 10, No. 5: Humoresque in G Major (Remastered)03:39
  • 4Morceaux de fantaisie, Op. 3, No. 4: Polichinelle in F-Sharp Minor (Remastered)03:39
  • Claude Debussy (1862 - 1918):
  • 5Children' Corner, L. 113, No. 6: Golliwog's Cake-walk (Remastered)02:50
  • George Gershwin (1898 - 1937):
  • 63 Preludes, IGG 25: I. Allegro ben ritmato e deciso (Remastered)01:22
  • 73 Preludes, IGG 25: II. Andante con moto e poco rubato (Remastered)03:16
  • 83 Preludes, IGG 25: III. Allegro ben ritmato e deciso (Remastered)01:14
  • Franz Schubert (1797 - 1828):
  • 9Moments musicaux, D. 780: No. 3 in F Minor (Remastered)01:57
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 - 1927):
  • 10Für Elise, WoO 59 (Remastered)02:35
  • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky:
  • 11The Seasons, Op. 37a, No. 11: On the Troika in E Major (Remastered)02:31
  • Edvard Grieg (1843 - 1907):
  • 12Lyric Pieces, Op. 43, No. 6 "To Spring" (Remastered)02:41
  • 13Lyric Pieces, Op. 43, No. 1 "Butterfly" (Remastered)01:52
  • Manuel de Falla (1876 - 1946):
  • 14Piezas Españolas, IMF 10, No. 4: Andaluza (Remastered)03:10
  • Arthur Rubinstein (1887 - 1982):
  • 156 Soirées à Saint-Petersbourg, Op. 44, No. 1: Romance in E-Flat Major (Remastered)02:50
  • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky:
  • 166 Pieces, Op. 19, No. 2: Scherzo humoristique in D Major (Remastered)03:33
  • Total Runtime42:38

Info zu Pennario Plays Piano Music by Dvorak, Tchaikovsky, Rachmaninoff, Debussy, Gershwin and More (Remastered)

“Nobody plays the piano better than Leonard Pennario,” wrote the eminent critic Andrew Porter in London’s New Statesman in 1952, when the competition would have included none less than Horowitz in his prime. That year, Pennario began recording for Capitol Records in Los Angeles, and a decade later he moved to RCA Victor, for which label he made a series of distinguished albums. To mark the tenth anniversary of Pennario’s death, Sony Classical reissues various of the pianist’s RCA recordings together for the first time on HighResAudio.

Born in 1924 in Buffalo, New York, Pennario gave his first public performance there at the age of seven, later moving with his family to Los Angeles, where his teachers included the legendary Isabella Vengerova. His breakthrough came in 1936, when he made his orchestral debut deputizing for an indisposed soloist with the Dallas Symphony. On that memorable occasion, the twelve-year-old performed the Grieg Piano Concerto, a work he had never heard, let alone played, until a few days earlier.

Dazzling concertos would, of course, feature prominently in Pennario’s discography, and his first RCA Victor releases in 1964 included Rachmaninoff’s Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini and the Franck Symphonic Variations with Arthur Fiedler and the Boston Pops (High Fidelity: “immense dexterity and bravura”) and the two Liszt concertos with René Leibowitz conducting the London Symphony (Gramophone: “magisterial accounts of both works … it is a constant delight to listen to his effortless brilliance and power … vivid ‘hi-fi’ recording”).

Among the acclaimed solo recital albums in this set are a collection of popular short pieces by Beethoven, Schubert, Dvořák, Tchaikovsky, Rubinstein, Grieg, Falla, Debussy, Gershwin and Rachmaninoff which Pennario plays “with admirable care and impeccable taste” (High Fidelity) as well as both books of Debussy Préludes: “This is a most beautifully played set” (Gramophone).

Leonard Pennario, piano

Digitally remastered

Keine Biografie vorhanden.

Dieses Album enthält kein Booklet

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO